You are here

Faculty

Our faculty are dedicated to instilling in students the skills necessary to study humans and further develop our knowledge of humanity.

Our department has seventeen full-time faculty members. All of our faculty members conduct anthropology-centered interdisciplinary research. Together, their work encompasses subjects in all four fields of anthropology: archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistic anthropology, and sociocultural anthropology.

Faculty

Name Contact
William Beeman
Department Chair
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
wbeeman@umn.edu
Ellery Frahm
Temporary Assistant Professor
frah0010@umn.edu
Katherine Hayes
Associate Professor
386 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
612-626-7482
kathayes@umn.edu
Karen Ho
Associate Professor
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
karenho@umn.edu
Steve Kosiba
Assistant Professor
370 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
612-625-3890
skosiba@umn.edu
Jean Langford
Professor
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
612-625-4092
langf001@umn.edu
David Lipset
Professor
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
612-626-8657
lipse001@umn.edu
Stuart McLean
Associate Professor
375 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
612-624-8944
mclea070@umn.edu
Kieran McNulty
Director of Undergraduate Studies
Professor
383 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
612-625-0058
kmcnulty@umn.edu
Gilliane Monnier
Associate Professor
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
612-626-4846
monni003@umn.edu
Gloria Goodwin Raheja
Professor
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
612-625-8547
raheja@umn.edu
Hoon Song
Associate Professor
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
612-624-8980
songx080@umn.edu
Martha Tappen
Associate Professor
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
612-625-3087
tappe004@umn.edu
Karen-Sue Taussig
Associate Professor
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
taussig@umn.edu
Gilbert Tostevin
Associate Professor
379 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
612-625-5542
toste003@umn.edu
David Valentine
Director of Graduate Studies
Associate Professor
364 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
612-626-8692
valen076@umn.edu
Peter Wells
Professor
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
612-624-6845
wells001@umn.edu
Michael Wilson
Associate Professor
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
612-625-1376
wilso198@umn.edu

Faculty Emeriti

Name Contact
Timothy Dunnigan
Professor Emeritus
dunni001@umn.edu
Luther Gerlach
Professor Emeritus
gerla001@umn.edu
Guy Gibbon
Professor Emeritus
gibbo001@umn.edu
Stephen Gudeman
Professor Emeritus
gudeman@umn.edu
John Ingham
Professor Emeritus
ingha001@umn.edu
Frank Miller
Professor Emeritus
mille005@umn.edu
Mischa Penn
Professor Emeritus
pennx001@umn.edu

Affiliated Researchers

Name Contact
Amelie Allard
Visiting Scholar
allar030@umn.edu
Yasmeen Arif
Political Science
arifx003@umn.edu
Melissa Brown
Minnesota Population Center; Harvard University
melbrown@fas.harvard.edu
M. Bianet Castellanos
American Studies
mbc@umn.edu
Ursula Dalinghaus
Visiting Scholar
dali0012@umn.edu
Ellen W. Demerath
Epidemology
ewd@umn.edu
Joanne B. Eicher
Design/Housing/Apparel
jeicher@umn.edu
Katherine Erdman
Visiting Scholar
erdma084@umn.edu
Joshua M. Feinberg
Earth Sciences & Adjunct Asst. Professor in Anthropology
feinberg@umn.edu
G. Friedmann-Sanchez
Humphrey Institute
frie0013@umn.edu
David Karjanen
American Studies
karjanen@umn.edu
Keith Manthie
Adjunct Researcher
manth059@umn.edu
John D. Nichols
American Indian Studies
jdn@umn.edu
Maureen O'Dougherty
Food Science & Nutrition
modoughe@umn.edu
Mark Pedelty
Journalism & Mass Communications
pedeltmh@umn.edu
Riv-Ellen Prell
American Studies
prell001@umn.edu
Joel D. Rudney
Dentistry
jrudney@umn.edu
Harvey B. Sarles
Cultural Studies
sarle001@umn.edu
Anna Schultz
Music
schul778@umn.edu
Chery Smith
Food Science & Nutrition
csmith@umn.edu
Elaine E. Tarone
Continuing Education; Sociolinguistics
etarone@umn.edu
Margaret Werry
Theatre Arts & Dance; Performance Studies
werry001@umn.edu
Joe Westermeyer
Psychiatry; Cross-Cultural Psychiatry
weste010@umn.edu

Instructional Staff

Name Contact
Aaron Armstrong
Lecturer
375 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
612-625-9862
armst147@umn.edu
Charlie Iverson
Teaching Specialist
318 Blegen
612-625-4300
civerson@umn.edu
Niki Garrett
Graduate Instructor
369 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
garre125@umn.edu
Steve Kensinger
Graduate Instructor
369 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
kensi008@umn.edu
Ju-Young Lee
Graduate Instructor
369 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
leex3464@umn.edu
Amir Shiva
Graduate Instructor
375 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
shiva011@umn.edu
Lore Phillips
Graduate Instructor
375 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
phil0483@umn.edu
Kirsten Holt Jenkins
Graduate Instructor
368 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
holt0452@umn.edu
Meryl Lodge
Graduate Instructor
369 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
lodg0022@umn.edu