You are here

Faculty

Our award-winning faculty are leaders in research and scholarly publishing, recognized by the Guggenheim Foundation, the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA), the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH), the Getty Research Institute, the Social Sciences Research Council, the McKnight Foundation, and the Doris Duke Foundation, among other national and international institutions. They specialize in an array of historical periods, geographic regions, methodologies, and research questions.

We are expert teachers committed to helping students meet the world.

Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Catherine Asher
Professor
370 Heller Hall
612-626-8339
asher001@umn.edu
Islamic and South Asian art and architecture
Jane Blocker
Chair
Professor
338 Heller Hall
612-625-1549
block023@umn.edu
Contemporary art and theory
Matthew Canepa
Director of Graduate Studies
Professor
421 Heller Hall
612-625-8336
mpcanepa@umn.edu
Art and archaeology of ancient Iran, Hellenistic Asia, and the Late Roman Empire
Sinem Casale
Assistant Professor
423 Heller Hall
612-301-1563
sinem@umn.edu
Islamic art
Michael Gaudio
Professor
364 Heller Hall
612-624-0847
gaudio@umn.edu
Visual arts in the early modern Atlantic world
Jennifer Marshall
Director of Undergraduate Studies
Associate Professor
372 Heller Hall
612-625-7120
marsh590@umn.edu
Arts and visual/material culture of the United States
Steven Ostrow
Professor
405 Heller Hall
612-626-2878
ostro133@umn.edu
Baroque art
Robert Silberman
Associate Professor
310 Heller Hall
612-624-1672
silbe001@umn.edu
Film studies and history of photography
Gabriel Weisberg
Professor
348 Heller Hall
612-624-0323
weisb001@umn.edu
19th century art, decorative and graphic arts

Affliate Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Lyndel King
Departmental Director
Weisman Art Museum
200 Weisman Art Museum
612-625-9494
kingx001@umn.edu
Visual arts and society, 19th century England
Diane Mullin
Curator
Weisman Art Museum
dmullin@umn.edu
612-625-9650
Modern and contemporary art
Katherine Solomonson
Associate Professor
School of Architecture
145F Rapson Hall
612-624-5565
solom003@umn.edu
College of Architecture and Landscape, modern architecture

Emeriti Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Frederick Asher
Professor Emeritus
306 Heller Hall
612-624-3569
asher@umn.edu
South Asian art and architecture
Karal Ann Marling
Professor Emerita
marli001@umn.edu American art and culture
Robert Poor
Professor Emeritus
358 Heller Hall
612-624-4396
poorx001@umn.edu
East Asian art, Bronze Age archaeology
John Steyaert
Professor Emeritus
358 Heller Hall
612-624-0520
steya001@umn.edu
Late Gothic/Northern Renaissance art
Michael Stoughton
Professor Emeritus
stoug001@umn.edu Italian Baroque art

Visiting Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Ivana Horacek
Visiting Assistant Professor
350 Heller Hall
612-626-5283
ihoracek@umn.edu
Medieval and Renaissance art
Georgiana Podulke
Visiting Assistant Professor
352 Heller Hall
612-624-5595
podu0001@umn.edu
East Asian art
Sugata Ray
Visiting Assistant Professor
417 Heller Hall
612-625-6384
sugata@umn.edu
South Asian art