You are here

Affiliated Faculty

The University of Minnesota faculty, one of the nation's most distinguished, is a unique resource for the Center for Austrian Studies. Many of our affiliated faculty members teach classes on the intersection between their disciplines and Austria and Central Europe, conduct research related to this area, have participated in the center's symposia, seminars, and other programs, and have served on the center's advisory board.

Name Contact
Gordon Anderson
Librarian for European Studies
ganderson@umn.edu
Alejandro Baer
Associate Professor
Sociology
Director
Center for Holocaust and Genocide Studies
abaer@umn.edu
Frederick Beier
Professor
Carlson School of Management
fbeier@umn.edu
Donald Browne
Professor Emeritus
Communication Studies
brown003@umn.edu
Giancarlo Casale
Associate Professor
Department of History
casale@umn.edu
Michael Cherlin
Professor
School of Music
cherl001@umn.edu
Gary Cohen
Professor & Chair
Department of History
gcohen@umn.edu
Shawn Curley
Professor
Carlson School of Management
curley@umn.edu
Evelyn Davidheiser
Director
Institute for Global Studies
edavidh@umn.edu
John Freeman
Professor
Department of Political Science
freeman@umn.edu
David F. Good
Professor Emeritus
Department of History
goodx001@umn.edu
Patricia Hampl
Regents' Professor
Department of English
hampl@umn.edu
Michael Houston
Co-director
Vienna Executive MBA Program
Associate Dean of Global Initiatives
Ecolab-Pierson M. Grieve Chair in International Marketing
Carlson School of Management
mhouston@umn.edu
Lyndel King
Director
Frederick R. Weisman Art Museum
kingx001@umn.edu
Morris Kleiner
Professor
AFL-CIO Chair of Labor Policy
Hubert H. Humphrey Institute for Public Affairs
klein002@umn.edu
Robert Kudrle
Professor
Hubert H. Humphrey Institute for Public Affairs
kudrle@umn.edu
Sonja Kuftinec
Professor
Department of Theatre Arts and Dance
kufti001@umn.edu
Deborah Levison
Professor
Hubert H. Humphrey Institute for Public Affairs
Principal Investigator
IPUMS-International Project
Minnesota Population Center
dlevision@umn.edu
Howard Louthan
Professor
Department of History
Director
Center for Austrian Studies
hlouthan@umn.edu
Alice Lovejoy
Assistant Professor
Cultural Studies and Comparative Literature
alovejoy@umn.edu
Elaine Tyler May
Regents' Professor
Department of American Studies
mayxx002@umn.edu
Mary Jo Maynes
Professor
Department of History
mayne001@umn.edu
Richard McCormick
Professor
Department of German, Scandinavian, and Dutch
mccor001@umn.edu
Patrick McNamara
Associate Professor
Department of History
pjm@umn.edu
Leslie Morris
Associate Professor
Department of German, Scandinavian, and Dutch
Director
Center for Jewish Studies
morri074@umn.edu
Christopher Nachtsheim
Professor
Frank A. Donaldson Chair in Operations Management
Carlson School of Management
nacht001@umn.edu
Timothy Nantell
Professor
Carlson School of Management
tnantell@umn.edu
Jenneke Oosterhoff
Lecturer
Department of German, Scandinavian, and Dutch
ooster003@umn.edu
Karen Painter
Associate Professor
School of Music
kpainter@umn.edu
Glenn Pederson
Professor
Department of Applied Economics
pederson@umn.edu
Naomi Scheman
Professor
Department of Philosophy
Department of Gender, Women, and Sexuality Studies
nschema@umn.edu
JB Shank
Associate Professor
Department of History
jbshank@umn.edu
David A. Walsh
Director
University Opera Theatre
Associate Professor
School of Music
walsh057@umn.edu
Gerhard Weiss
Professor Emeritus
Department of German, Scandinavian, and Dutch
weiss003@umn.edu
Jan Werner
Professor
Department of Economics
jwerner@umn.edu
William E. Wright
Professor Emeritus
Department of History
wrigh001@umn.edu
Sri Zaheer
Dean
Carlson School of Management
szaheer@umn.edu
Jack Zipes
Professor Emeritus
Department of German, Scandinavian, and Dutch
zipes001@umn.edu