You are here

Faculty

Regular Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Patricia Ahearne-Kroll
Assistant Professor
245 Nicholson Hall
612-301-1300
pahearne@umn.edu
Judaism in Egypt during Ptolemaic and early Roman periods, Jewish-Greek literature, religious practice in Ptolemaic Egypt
Stephen Ahearne-Kroll
Associate Professor
Sundet Family Chair in New Testament and Christian Studies
245 Nicholson Hall
612-301-1480
sahearne@umn.edu
Historical and critical study of the New Testament in relation to the religious culture of the ancient Mediterranean world                                                                            
Spencer Cole
Associate Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies
245 Nicholson Hall
612-625-5540
secole@umn.edu
Latin prose and Roman culture
Andrew Gallia
Associate Professor
1041 Heller Hall
abgallia@umn.edu
Roman history, Latin literature, Greek history, Roman archaeology and topography
Nita Krevans
Associate Professor
Department Chair
245 Nicholson Hall
612-625-3422
nkrevans@umn.edu
Greek and Latin poetry, Hellenistic Greek literature
Bernard M. Levinson
Professor
Berman Family Chair in Jewish Studies and Hebrew Bible
245 Nicholson Hall
612-625-4323
levinson@umn.edu
Hebrew Bible and ancient Near Eastern studies; Biblical law
Hanne Loeland Levinson
Assistant Professor
150E Nicholson Hall
612-624-8341
loela001@umn.edu
Hebrew Bible, gender studies, metaphor theory, and biblical narratives
Christopher Nappa
Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Studies
245 Nicholson Hall
cnappa@umn.edu
Latin literature, gender and sexuality in Antiquity
S. Douglas Olson
Professor
245 Nicholson Hall
612-625-0513
sdolson@umn.edu
Greek poetry of the archaic and classical periods
Melissa Harl Sellew
Associate Professor
245 Nicholson Hall
612-625-2026
sellew@umn.edu
Early Christian studies, gospel literature, Coptic
George A. Sheets
Associate Professor
245 Nicholson Hall
612-625-3326
gasheets@umn.edu
Historical linguistics, Latin literature, legal history
Eva von Dassow
Associate Professor
245 Nicholson Hall
612-626-4787
vonda001@umn.edu
Ancient Near Eastern Studies, Akkadian and Ugaritic

Affiliate Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Matthew Canepa
Associate Professor
Art History
421 Heller Hall
612-625-8336
mpcanepa@umn.edu
Art and archaeology of the ancient Mediterranean, Persia and the Iranian world
Richard Graff
Associate Professor
Writing Studies
221 Nolte Center
612-624-4985
graff013@umn.edu
Classical rhetoric, contemporary rhetorical theory
Sandra L. Peterson
Professor
Philosophy
719 Heller Hall
612-625-6058
peter009@umn.edu
Ancient philosophy
Theofanis Stavrou
Professor
History
1224 Heller Hall
612-624-5734
stavr001@umn.edu
Modern Greek studies
Peter S. Wells
Professor
Anthropology
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
612-624-6845
wells001@umn.edu
European prehistoric and Roman period archaeology

Lecturers

Name Contact Specialty
Stephen C. Smith
Latin and Greek Language Coordinator
Senior Lecturer
245 Nicholson Hall
612-625-0751
smith504@umn.edu
Augustan Latin literature, Latin and Greek pedagogy
Renana S. Schneller
Hebrew Language Coordinator 
Senior Lecturer
245 Nicholson Hall
612-625-5353
schne068@umn.edu
Modern Hebrew language and literature, Biblical Hebrew, Arabic

Emeriti Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Elizabeth S. Belfiore
Professor Emerita
esb@umn.edu Ancient philosophy, Greek tragedy, Greek literature
Thomas S. Clayton
Regents' Professor Emeritus
English
360 Nicholson Hall
612-625-3371
tsc@umn.edu
Drama and theater, Shakespeare, classical tradition
John K. Evans
Professor Emeritus
History
evans002@umn.edu 

Roman history

Oliver Nicholson
Professor Emeritus
opn@umn.edu Late antiquity, patristics, later Latin
Jonathan Paradise
Professor Emeritus
jparadis@umn.edu Hebrew Bible, cuneiform
Calvin J. Roetzel
Professor Emeritus
roetz002@umn.edu Pauline theology

Fellows

Name Contact Specialty
Maria Nilsson
Marie Curie Humanities Fellow
245 Nicholson Hall
612-624-2506
nilss045@umn.edu
Egyptian archaeology, Roman epigraphy, non-textual marking systems, ancient graffiti, Gebel el Silsila Project