You are here

Faculty

Our faculty are deeply committed to the creation and transmission of knowledge about literature and its related fields. We teach our students to read and analyze; to write in scholarly, creative, and public ways; and to put their knowledge and skills to work for the benefit of many communities. Visiting scholars and lecturers bring expertise in diverse areas of study, and our graduate students come from all over the globe as both students and graduate assistants/instructors, bringing their unique research interests to their teaching.

Regular Faculty

Name Contact Specialties Office Hours
Elaine Auyoung
Assistant Professor
50B Lind Hall
612-624-7803
eauyoung@umn.edu
19th-century British literature, the novel, psychology of reading, aesthetics W 2:30-3:30 & by appointment
Charles Baxter
Edelstein-Keller Professor in Creative Writing
255 Lind Hall
612-625-3744
baxte087@umn.edu
Creative writing: fiction, modernism, contemporary fiction, American literature T 12:30-2:00
Timothy Brennan
Professor
204 Nicholson Hall
612-626-1638
brenn032@umn.edu
Continental literary and cultural theory, 19th-20th century comparative literature  
Peter Campion
Associate Professor
14 Lind Hall
612-625-3503
pcampion@umn.edu
Creative writing: poetry; poetry and the visual arts; prosody  
Siobhan Craig
Associate Professor
50H Lind Hall
612-625-6087
craig026@umn.edu
Italian and German cinema; literary, cultural, film, feminist, and queer theory T 4:30-6:30
Lois Cucullu
Associate Professor
18 Lind Hall
612-625-7508
lcucullu@umn.edu
20th century literature, Victorian culture, novel studies, modernism, gender theory, pop culture W 2:20-3:20
Andrew Elfenbein
Professor
210A Lind Hall
612-624-1373
elfen001@umn.edu
British literature and history, 1700-1900; reading and cognition; queer theory; linguistics T 11:25-12:05 in 209 Akerman
Lianna Farber
Associate Professor
210K Lind Hall
612-626-7126
farbe004@umn.edu
Medieval literature and thought  
M. J. Fitzgerald
Associate Professor
13 Lind Hall
612-625-0183
fitzg007@umn.edu
Creative writing: fiction, Dante Alighieri, British literature, world literatures M 1:00-2:00
TH 11:30-12:30 & by appointment
V.V. Ganeshananthan
Assistant Professor
12 Lind Hall
612-626-7123
vganesha@umn.edu
Creative writing, fiction, journalism T 12:15-2:15
Shirley Garner
Professor
330B Lind Hall
612-625-1826
sngarner@umn.edu
Renaissance literature, Shakespeare, feminist studies in literature  
Brian Goldberg
Associate Professor
210L Lind Hall
612-626-7125
goldb016@umn.edu
British romantic literature, restoration and 18th century literature, poetry  
Ray Gonzalez
Professor
330A Lind Hall
612-625-0332
gonza049@umn.edu
Creative writing: poetry, creative nonfiction, fiction; US Latino literature  
David Haley
Professor
310C Lind Hall
612-625–6615
dbhaley@umn.edu
History, literature and politics from 16th to 19th century, drama, Bible as literature  
Patricia Hampl
Regents Professor
210M Lind Hall
612-625-3546
hampl@umn.edu
Creative writing: nonfiction, short fiction, and poetry; personal essay and memoir  
Michael Hancher
Professor
310B Lind Hall
612-625-5075
mh@umn.edu
Victorian studies, book history, lexicography, digital humanities W 1:30-3:00 & by appointment 
Qadri Ismail
Associate Professor
19 Lind Hall
612-625-6374
ismai004@umn.edu
Cultural studies, postcolonial literature, literary theory, gender/sexuality M W 11:15-12:15
Rebecca Krug
Associate Professor
210E Lind Hall
612-626-7127
krugx001@umn.edu
Late Medieval literature, religion, culture, literacy, nature, women's studies By appointment
Josephine Lee
Professor
310D Lind Hall
612-625-9510
jolee@umn.edu
Dramatic literature, theater history, performance studies; Asian American studies T 4:00-5:00
Nabil Matar
Professor
330C Lind Hall
612-626-8320
matar010@umn.edu
Early modern Euro-Islamic contacts, 17th century British religious literature W 10:00-12:00
Ellen Messer-Davidow
Professor
22 Lind Hall
612-625-2071
emd@umn.edu
Cultural and social theory; 20th century American social movements, policy, and law  
Dan Philippon
Associate Professor
21 Lind Hall
612-624-4209
danp@umn.edu
Environmental literature, history, and ethics; ideas of nature, culture, and place By appointment 
Jani Scandura
Associate Professor
210D Lind Hall
612-625-9017
jani@umn.edu
Cultural studies and critical theory; 20th century North American literatures, film, mass culture  
Andrew Scheil
Professor
310E Lind Hall
612-625-9518
ascheil@umn.edu
Anglo-Saxon language and literature, literatures of late antiquity/early Middle Ages M 11:15-12:15 & by appointment
Katherine Scheil
Professor
210H Lind Hall
612-625-6592
kscheil@umn.edu
Shakespeare, early modern lit, theatre, women writers, history of reading, 18th c lit  
Julie Schumacher
Professor
15 Lind Hall
612-625-3459
schum003@umn.edu
Creative writing: fiction, contemporary fiction, children's literature  
Geoffrey Sirc
Professor
210J Lind Hall
612-625-0134
sirc@umn.edu
Composition theory and pedagogy, technology and writing, hip hop T TH 9:00-10:00
Madelon Sprengnether
Regents Professor
336 Lind Hall
612-625-8314
spren001@umn.edu
Creative writing: poetry and nonfiction, Freud, feminist psychoanalytic criticism  
Kim Todd
Associate Professor
20 Lind Hall
612-625-6095
kftodd@umn.edu
Creative writing (literary nonfiction), science and environmental writing  
John Watkins
Professor
312 Lind Hall
612-624-8879
watki005@umn.edu
Historiography, sovereignty and queenship, medieval and early modern diplomacy T 11:10-12:10 in 1222 Heller
John Wright
Professor
883 Social Sciences Building
612-624-0845
wrigh003@umn.edu
American and Afro-American literature, intellectual history and popular culture W TH 1:00-2:00
Amit Yahav
Assistant Professor
50A Lind Hall
612-626-7124
ayahav@umn.edu
18th century, the novel, aesthetics, theory TH 12:00-1:00 & by appointment

Emeriti Faculty

Name Contact
Michael Dennis Browne
Professor Emeritus
mdb@umn.edu
Tom Clayton
Regents Professor Emeritus
tsc@umn.edu
Maria Damon
Professor Emerita
damon001@umn.edu
Lonnie Durham
Assistant Professor Emeritus
 
Genevieve Escure
Professor Emerita
escur001@umn.edu
Art Geffen
Associate Professor Emeritus
geffe001@umn.edu
Edward Griffin
Professor Emeritus
griffin@umn.edu
Gordon Hirsch
Professor Emeritus
hirsc002@umn.edu
Calvin Kendall
Professor Emeritus
kenda001@umn.edu
Archibald Leyasmeyer
Associate Professor Emeritus
leyas002@umn.edu
David Luke
Assistant Professor Emeritus
lukex001@umn.edu
Toni McNaron
Professor Emerita
mcnar001@umn.edu
Valerie Miner
Professor Emerita
miner002@umn.edu
Paula Rabinowitz
Professor Emerita
rabin001@umn.edu
Peter Reed
Professor Emeritus
reedx001@umn.edu
Marty Roth
Professor Emeritus
rothx002@umn.edu
Robert Solotaroff
Professor Emeritus
solot001@umn.edu
Ellen Stekert
Professor Emerita
steke001@umn.edu
Charles Sugnet
Associate Professor Emeritus
sugnet@umn.edu
Joel Weinsheimer
Professor Emeritus
weins001@umn.edu
George T. Wright
Professor Emeritus
 

Adjunct Professors

Name Contact Office Hours
Michael Tortorello
Adjunct Assistant Professor
17 Lind Hall
612-625-1325
torto005@umn.edu
 

Senior Lecturers

Name Contact Office Hours
Eric Daigre
Senior Lecturer
257 Lind Hall
612-626-9555
daig0004@umn.edu
M 10:30-11:45
Ann Tandy-Treiber
Senior Lecturer
252 Lind Hall
612-626-7115
tandy004@umn.edu
T 11:30-1:30 & by appointment

Lecturers

Name Contact Office Hours
James Cihlar
Lecturer
210G Lind Hall
612-624-6642
cihla002@umn.edu
T TH 2:30-3:30 & by appointment 
Chris Kamerbeek
Lecturer
256 Lind Hall
612-626-7119
kame0026@umn.edu
M 2:30-4:00
T 3:00-4:30 & by appointment 
Annemarie Lawless
Lecturer
258 Lind Hall
612-625-4881
lawle053@umn.edu
M W 11:00-12:00
Melissa Licht
Lecturer
253 Lind Hall
612-626-7122
licht003@umn.edu
 
Miriam Queensen
Teaching Specialist
16 Lind Hall
612-625-3503
mqueense@umn.edu
 

Visiting Faculty

Name Contact Specialties
Samuel Freedman
Visiting Professor
254 Lind Hall