You are here

Faculty

The Department of German, Scandinavian & Dutch is a dynamic community of faculty, instructors, and graduate students. Our faculty are known nationally and internationally for their research and teaching in feminist studies, cultural studies, Jewish studies, intellectual history, medieval studies, film, folklore, and language pedagogy.

Full-Time Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Poul Houe
Professor
(On leave Fall 2016)
327B Folwell Hall
612-625-8312
houex001@umn.edu
Modern Danish and Swedish literature, European humanism, travel and exile literature
Anatoly Liberman
Professor
323A Folwell Hall
612-625-5594
aliber@umn.edu
General linguistics, Germanic philology, folklore, poetic translation
Richard McCormick
Professor
328E Folwell Hall
612-625-0341
mccor001@umn.edu
German film studies and film history, 20th century German literature, feminism and gender studies
Charlotte Melin
Professor
Chair
327F Folwell Hall
612-626-8785
melin005@umn.edu
Postwar German poetry, second-language acquisition, transnational literary relations, environmental humanities
Leslie Morris
Associate Professor
327A Folwell Hall
612-624-4047
morri074@umn.edu
20th century German and Austrian literature, poetry, Jewish studies
James A. Parente, Jr.
Professor
Director of Graduate Studies
328F Folwell Hall
612-626-1620
paren001@umn.edu
Medieval and early modern German, Netherlandic, and Scandinavian literature and culture
Seth Peabody
Visiting Assistant Professor
327E Folwell Hall
612-626-0492
speabody@umn.edu
Environmental Humanities, film and media studies, Weimar film and culture, German literary history
Matthias Rothe
Associate Professor
(On leave 2016-17)
328G Folwell Hall
612-625-9034
mrothe@umn.edu
18th century political philosophy, philosophical and literary presentability of economic practices, Brechtian and contemporary theater
Rüdiger Singer
Visiting Associate Professor
327C Folwell Hall
612-625-4898
singerr@umn.edu
Literature and poetics of the "Goethezeit" and around 1900; European drama, theater, and theater theory; word and image relations; rhetoric and literature; parody and literary nonsense
Ray Wakefield
Associate Professor
(On leave spring 2017)
328D Folwell Hall
612-626-3327
wakef001@umn.edu
Second-language acquisition, medieval German literature, Dutch

Affiliate Faculty 

Name Contact Specialties
Gordon Anderson
Librarian
European Studies
ganderso@umn.edu European history, languages, and literatures
Bernard Bachrach
Professor
History
bachr001@umn.edu Medieval Europe before 1200; medieval military history
Alejandro Baer
Associate Professor
Sociology
abaer@umn.edu Holocaust and genocide studies; social memory studies; antisemitism
William Beeman
Professor
Anthropology
wbeeman@umn.edu Linguistic anthropology; comparative study of theater and performance; opera
Gary B. Cohen
Professor
History
gcohen@umn.edu Modern Central European history
Siobhan Craig
Associate Professor
English
craig026@umn.edu German and Italian cinema; literary, film, feminist, and queer theory
Ruth Karras
Professor
History
rmk@umn.edu Medieval Europe; gender, sexuality, and women’s history
Richard Leppert
Regents Professor
Cultural Studies & Comparative Literature
leppe001@umn.edu Aesthetics; critical and cultural theory; musicology; visual culture
Bernard M. Levinson
Professor
Classical & Near Eastern Languages; Law
levinson@umn.edu Hebrew Bible; biblical law; biblical hermeneutics; religion in German intellectual history
Howard Louthan
Professor
History
hlouthan@umn.edu Early modern Central and Eastern European history; Reformation and Counter-Reformation; history of religion
Alice Lovejoy
Assistant Professor
Cultural Studies & Comparative Literature
alovejoy@umn.edu Film and media history and historiography; East Central European film; literature and cultural history
Mary Jo Maynes
Professor
History
mayne001@umn.edu 19th- and 20th-century German history; social history; women’s history
Karen Painter
Associate Professor
Music
kpainter@umn.edu 19th- and 20th-century German and Austrian music history
Thomas Pepper
Associate Professor
Cultural Studies & Comparative Literature
tapepper@umn.edu Psychoanalytic theory; gender; textual theory
Joachim Savelsberg
Professor
Sociology
savel001@umn.edu Human rights; law, collective representation and memory of mass violence
Andrew Scheil
Associate Professor
English
ascheil@umn.edu Anglo-Saxon language and literature; Middle English and medieval Latin literature
J.B. Shank
Associate Professor
History
jbshank@umn.edu Early modern European intellectual history; Renaissance science and culture
Christophe Wall-Romana
Associate Professor
French
wallr007@umn.edu Modern European critical theory and philosophy; modern poetry; translation studies

Teaching Staff

Name Contact Specialty
William Banks
Lecturer
328A Folwell Hall
612-625-4505
bank0081@umn.edu
Scandinavian languages & literatures
Ari Hoptman
Senior Lecturer
329B Folwell Hall
612-625-6008
hoptm001@umn.edu
German language
Arsena Ianeva-Lockney
Senior Lecturer
328B Folwell Hall
612-625-0999
ianev001@umn.edu
German language, business German, beginning Norwegian language
Daniel Karvonen
Senior Lecturer
320M Folwell Hall
612-626-1651
karvonen@umn.edu
Finnish language and culture, general linguistics, phonology
Elizabeth Kautz
Teaching Specialist
328B Folwell Hall
612-625-0738
kautz001@umn.edu
German language
Jacqueline Listemaa
Teaching Specialist
328A Folwell Hall
612-626-6634
list0028@umn.edu
Swedish language; beginning German language
Lena Norrman
Lecturer
320K Folwell Hall
612-626-7971
norrman@umn.edu
Swedish language, culture, and literature, medieval studies, folklore, women's studies
Jenneke Oosterhoff
Senior Lecturer
320N Folwell Hall
612-624-1041
ooste003@umn.edu
Dutch culture and literature, Dutch and German film, turn-of-the-century German and Austrian literature, business German
Jennifer Peterson
Senior Teaching Specialist
329B Folwell Hall
612-624-1043
peter511@umn.edu
German language
Helena Ruf
Lecturer
327D Folwell Hall
612-625-3380
rahd0001@umn.edu
German language
DeeAnn Sime
Senior Teaching Specialist
327H Folwell Hall
612-625-8651
simex006@umn.edu
German language
Virgina Steinhagen
Lecturer
(On leave spring 2016)
320J Folwell Hall
612-626-2879
stein093@umn.edu
German language
Hanna Zmijewska-Emerson
Senior Lecturer
320A Folwell Hall
612-624-4467
zmije001@umn.edu
Norwegian language, 19th century Norwegian drama, Scandinavian women writers and 20th century fiction.

Emeriti Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Kaaren Grimstad
Associate Professor Emerita;
PhD, Harvard University
grims001@umn.edu Old Norse languages and literatures, Icelandic sagas, Scandinavian mythology, Swedish
Ruth-Ellen B Joeres
Professor Emerita;
PhD, Johns Hopkins
joere001@umn.edu German women's literary, social and cultural history, 18th-20th centuries; feminist/gender theories and cultural studies
Arlene Teraoka
Professor
terao001@umn.edu 20th-century and minority German literature, German intellectual history, cultural criticism
Gerhard Weiss
Morse-Alumni Distinguished Teaching Professor Emeritus;
PhD, University of Wisconsin
weiss003@umn.edu 17th-century literature, literature from later 19th to early 20th century, culture studies
Monika Zagar
Professor Emerita;
PhD, University of California-Berkeley
zagar001@umn.edu Norwegian language & literature, modernism, Scandinavian women writers
Jack Zipes
Professor Emeritus;
PhD, Columbia University
zipes001@umn.edu Fairy tales, 20th-century literature, German, GDR, women's, and Jewish studies