You are here

Faculty

The University of Minnesota's MGIS program features distinguished faculty from a variety of disciplines across different colleges, including geography; forest resources; computer science; urban affairs; and soil, water, and climate. Faculty research interests and applied GIS expertise include:

  • Spatial analysis, modeling, and statistics
  • Spatial databases, cyber GIS, data mining, and big data
  • Evacuation and transportation planning
  • Web GIS and services, including open source 
  • GIS development
  • Digital and multimedia cartography
  • Geovisualization and map design
  • Urban and regional planning and analysis
  • Digital remote sensing for mapping and monitoring the environment
  • Water resources management, ecology, and biogeography
  • Pedology and land assessment, digital terrain analysis, and soil landscape modeling
  • Public land policy and real estate issues
  • GIS and society
Name Contact Specialty
Jay Bell
Professor
Department of Soil, Water, and Climate
College of Food, Agriculture, and Natural Resource Sciences
bellx007@umn.edu Applications of GIScience for pedology and land assessment, digital terrain analysis, soil landscape modeling
Paul Bolstad
Professor
Department of Forest Resources
College of Food, Agriculture, and Natural Resource Sciences
612-624-9711
pbolstad@umn.edu
Ecological applications of GIScience, measurement, analysis, modeling, and error propagation in studies of ecological phenomena at broad spatial scales
Somayeh Dodge
Assistant Professor
Department of Geography
College of Liberal Arts
612-625-1112
sdodge@umn.edu
Examination of mobility and movement (e.g., ecology and human systems) and advanced visualization and analysis of dynamic processes, including movement and global environmental change
Brian Fischer
Vice President
Senior GIS Project Manager
Houston Engineer
fisc0247@umn.edu Web mapping and services
Catherine Hansen
GIS Support Specialist
MN.IT Services
Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
612-301-3932
hansen.catherine@comcast.net 
GIS education, business GIS, spatial analysis
David Haynes II
Research Associate
Minnesota Population Center
612-624-5818
dahaynes@umn.edu
GIS and big data, spatial analysis, high-performance computing, health and population geography
Andrew Jenks
Research Fellow
Department of Forest Resources
College of Food, Agriculture, and Natural Resource Sciences
612-624-5317
ajenks@umn.edu
GIS and forest resource management, GPS
Len Kne
Associate Director
U-Spatial
612-624-7591
lenkne@umn.edu
Web mapping, spatial database management, and administration
Joseph Knight
Associate Professor
Department of Forest Resources
College of Food, Agriculture, and Natural Resource Sciences
612-625-5354
jknight@umn.edu
Application of geospatial information technologies such as remote sensing, image processing, geographic information systems (GIS), and the global positioning system (GPS)
Mark Lindberg
Senior Cartographer
Department of Geography
College of Liberal Arts
612-625-0892
mbl@umn.edu
Digital cartographic production, quantitative methods and spatial analysis, map design
Robert Maki
Professor
Chief Information Officer
MN Department of Natural Resources
makix017@umn.edu Spatial data administration, data modeling, systems design, project management, spatial and traditional technology integration
Steven Manson
Professor
Department of Geography
College of Liberal Arts
612-625-4577
manson@umn.edu
Agent-based spatial modeling, spatial statistics and analysis
Jeff Matson
GIS Program Manager
Center for Urban and Regional Affairs
612-625-0081
jmatson@umn.edu
Community-based GIS, urban GIS
Ryan Mattke
Head
John R. Borchert Map Library
612-624-5757
matt0089@umn.edu
Spatial digital humanities, libraries, and technology
Robert McMaster
Professor
Department of Geography
College of Liberal Arts
612-626-9425
mcmaster@umn.edu
Digital cartography and spatial analysis, environmental risk assessment, GIS and society
Susanna McMaster
Co-Director, MGIS
Department of Geography
College of Liberal Arts
612-624-1498
mcmas002@umn.edu
Environmental applications of GIScience, data quality and uncertainty, professional GIScience education
Shashi Shekhar
Professor
Department of Computer Science
College of Science and Engineering
612-624-8307
shekhar@umn.edu
Spatial databases, data and knowledge engineering, spatial data mining
Eric Shook
Assistant Professor
Department of Geography
College of Liberal Arts
612-625-5970
eshook@umn.edu
CyberGIS, or the study of high performance computing and GISc, use of large spatial data sets and high performance computing to engage in innovative spatial analysis and visualization approaches
Ying Song
Assistant Professor
Department of Geography
College of Liberal Arts
612-625-2056
yingsong@umn.edu
Time geography, spatio-temporal modeling and analysis, and transportation geography
Roderick Squires
Associate Professor
Department of Geography
College of Liberal Arts
612-625-0179
squires@umn.edu
Environmental quality, public land policy, real estate
Dan Sward
Senior GIS Manager
University Services
612-624-2110
sward001@umn.edu
GIS project management, facilities management