People

Name Contact Specialty
Laurie J Ouellette
Directory of Graduate Studies
Associate Professor
Communication Studies and Cultural Studies & Comparative Literature
254 Ford Hall
612-626-8517
ouell031@umn.edu
Critical media studies, cultural studies, feminist criticism, television studies, reality TV, citizenship, governmentality and media
Graeme Stout
Senior Lecturer and MIMS Coordinator
Cultural Studies & Comparative Literature
213 Nicholson Hall
612-625-2901
stou0046@umn.edu
Film, television, and media studies; political and social theory; visual arts and intellectual history

Moving Image Studies Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Hakim Abderrezak
Associate Professor
French & Italian
abder002@umn.edu Maghrebi & Beur literature, cinema & music; representations of Clandestine migrations in Arabic, French, & Spanish; Francophone studies
Jane Blocker
Professor
Art History
block023@umn.edu 20th century theory & criticism, alternative media, performance Art
Cesare Casarino
Professor
Cultural Studies & Comparative Literature
casarino@umn.edu European cinemas, literary theory, 19th and 20th century comparative literatures
Siobhan Craig
Associate Professor
English
craig026@umn.edu Fascist-era cinema in Italy and Germany, new German cinema, the cinematic body
Jigna Desai
Professor
Gender, Women, & Sexuality Studies
desai003@umn.edu Asian American literature and media, feminist theory, postcolonial studies
Lorenzo Fabbri
Assistant Professor
French & Italian
lfabbri@umn.edu Italian cinema, continental philosophy and literary theory, postcolonial studies, visual culture under fascism, biopolitics
Joseph R Farag
Assistant Professor
Asian Languages & Literatures
jrfarag@umn.edu  
Ana Forcinito
Associate Professor
Spanish & Portuguese Studies
aforcini@umn.edu 19th and 20th century Latin American literature, women's writing, Latin American film
Michael Gallope
Assistant Professor
Cultural Studies & Comparative Literature
mgallope@umn.edu Music and Sound, Continental Philosophy and Critical Theory, Peripheral Modernisms, Black/African Diaspora, Popular Culture
Keya Ganguly
Professor
Cultural Studies & Comparative Literature
gangu003@umn.edu South Asian film and culture, film and visual studies, postcolonial theory and criticism
Sumanth Gopinath
Associate Professor
School of Music
sumanth@umn.edu Music after WWII, musical hermeneutics, music and globalization
Ron Greene
Professor
Communication Studies
green179@umn.edu Film exhibition, educational uses of film or movies, Legal and popular perspectives on free speech, political communication
Maggie Hennefeld
Assistant Professor
Cultural Studies & Comparative Literature
mhennefe@umn.edu Silent cinema, film history and film theory, film and popular culture
Amy Kaminsky
Professor
Gender, Women, & Sexuality Studies
kamin001@umn.edu Latin American film, Jewish writing and film in Argentina, feminist literary theory and criticism
Richard Leppert
Regents Professor
Cultural Studies & Comparative Literature
leppe001@umn.edu Art history, cultural studies, musicology
Alice Lovejoy
Film Studies Advisory Committee Chair
Assistant Professor
Cultural Studies & Comparative Literature
alovejoy@umn.edu Film history and historiography; nonfiction and experimental film; East Central European film, literature, and cultural history
Lynn Lukkas
Associate Professor
Art
lukkas@umn.edu Video, film, interdisciplinary art
Christine Marran
Associate Professor
Asian Languages & Literature
marran@umn.edu Gender and sexuality in print and film culture, Japanese and Asian film, modern Japanese literature
Richard McCormick
Professor
German, Scandinavian & Dutch
mccor001@umn.edu German film History, post-WWII German cinema, Weimar film and culture
Jason McGrath
Associate Professor
Asian Languages & Literatures
jmcgrath@umn.edu Chinese and international cinema, modern and contemporary Chinese literature and culture, issues of convention and intextuality in film theory
Laurie Ouellette
Associate Professor
Communication Studies
ouell031@umn.edu Television studies, documentary and reality television, media citizenship
Sonali Pahwa
Assistant Professor Theatre Arts & Dance
pahwa007@umn.edu Middle East Studies, performance studies, digital media, gender studies, youth culture, Egypt
Mark Pedelty
Associate Professor
School of Journalism & Mass Communication
pedeltmh@umn.edu Music as environmental communication, ethnographic research in the USA, El Salvador, and Mexico
Baryon Tensor Posadas
Assistant Professor
Asian Languages and Literatures
bposadas@umn.edu Modern Japanese Literature, Japanese Cinema and Animation, Science Fiction and Empire, Politics of Literary Forms and Genres
Paula Rabinowitz
Professor
English
rabin001@umn.edu American women, minority, and working class writers; film, photography, media; visual cultures
Jenny Schmid
Associate Professor
Art
jrschmid@umn.edu Combined print media, digital applications, photolithography, mezzotinting
Suvadip Sinha
Assistant Professor
Asian Languages & Literatures
ssinha@umn.edu Indian cinema, modern South Asian literature and culture, global modernities, philosophy of the non-human
Catherine R. Squires
Associate Professor
Communication Studies
squir050@umn.edu Media, race and politics; gender and media studies; public sphere studies; community-engaged research; educational Inequality
Christophe Wall-Romana
Associate Professor
French & Italian
wallr007@umn.edu French cinema, silent cinema, media history
Margaret Werry
Associate Professor
Theatre Arts & Dance
werry001@umn.edu Cultural policy and governmentality—tourism, heritage, film; 19th century Euro-American and British colonial popular theatre and entertainment culture, museum studies
Travis Workman
Assistant Professor
Asian Languages & Literatures
tworkman@umn.edu Korean and Japanese literature, film, and intellectual history; humanism and empire; critical theory; film melodrama; Cold War aesthetics; North Korea