You are here

Faculty

An unparalleled faculty is the cornerstone of the academic experience at the School of Music. Our vibrant and personable faculty is comprised of nationally and internationally known musicians and scholars. They are also master teachers with centuries of collective experience in pedagogy and learning.

The faculty includes more than 50 full-time professors and more than 30 affiliated teachers, many of whom are principals with the Minnesota Orchestra or the Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra or established teacher-performers in the Twin Cities. Regardless of their specialty, each faculty member cares about the students and delights in seeing them develop as scholars, teachers, composers, and performers.

For more information about the School of Music faculty, please choose a faculty member or a division of specialty below.

Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Akosua Addo
Associate Professor
150 Ferguson Hall
612-624-8516
addox002@umn.edu
Music Education
Music Therapy
Lydia Artymiw
Professor
18 Ferguson Hall
612-624-7571
grays001@umn.edu
Keyboard (Piano)
Thomas Ashworth
Professor
22 Ferguson Hall
612-624-4148
ashwo001@umn.edu
Brass
David Baldwin
Professor
24 Ferguson Hall
612-624-7877
baldw002@umn.edu
Brass
Dean Billmeyer
Professor
234 Ferguson Hall
612-624-3307
dwb@umn.edu
Keyboard (Organ/Harpsichord)
Theory
Alexander Braginsky
Professor
270 Ferguson Hall
612-624-3572
bragi001@umn.edu
Keyboard (Piano)
Matt Bribitzer-Stull
Associate Professor
130 Ferguson Hall
612-625-9896
mpbs@umn.edu
Theory
Gabriela Currie
Associate Professor
166 Ferguson Hall
612-624-0261
ilnit001@umn.edu
Musicology/Ethnomusicology
Scott Currie
Senior Lecturer
132 Ferguson Hall
612-624-7512
scurrie@umn.edu
Creative Studies & Media
David Damschroder
Professor
120 Ferguson Hall
612-624-8043
damsc001@umn.edu
Theory
Immanuel Davis
Associate Professor
160 Ferguson Hall
612-624-0582
davis210@umn.edu
Woodwinds (Flute)
John De Haan
Associate Professor
248 Ferguson Hall
612-624-5270
dehaa006@umn.edu
Voice
Jean del Santo
Associate Professor
254 Ferguson Hall
612-624-5883
delsanto@umn.edu
Voice
Preston Duncan
Senior Lecturer
226 Ferguson Hall
320-589-6234
dunca119@umn.edu
Woodwinds (Saxophone)
Alexander Fiterstein
Associate Professor
210 Ferguson Hall​
612-626-1870
afiterst@umn.edu
Woodwinds (Clarinet)
Sumanth Gopinath
Associate Professor
114 Ferguson Hall
612-624-1829
sumanth@umn.edu
Theory
David Grayson
Professor
162 Ferguson Hall
612-624-1378
grays003@umn.edu
Musicology/Ethnomusicology
Keitha Lucas Hamann
Associate Professor
152 Ferguson Hall
612-624-9819
haman011@umn.edu
Music Education
Music Therapy
Kelley Harness
Associate Professor
168 Ferguson Hall
612-624-0298
harne005@umn.edu
Musicology/Ethnomusicology
Kyung Kim
Associate Professor
28 Ferguson Hall
612-624-7329
krkim@umn.edu
Keyboard (Piano)
Michael Kim
Director of the School of Music
Professor 
200 Ferguson Hall
612-624-7060
mikim@umn.edu
Keyboard (Piano)
Young-Nam Kim
Associate Professor
212 Ferguson Hall
612-624-1675
kimxx002@umn.edu
Strings (Violin)
Craig Kirchhoff
Professor
108 Ferguson Hall
612-624-6873
kirch010@umn.edu
Ensembles
Korey Konkol
Professor
220 Ferguson Hall
612-624-9086
konko002@umn.edu
Strings (Viola)
Timothy Lovelace
Ethel Alice Hitch­cock Chair in Col­lab­ora­tive Piano & Coach­ing
Professor
240 Ferguson Hall
612-624-0560
lovelace@umn.edu
Keyboard (Collaborative Piano)
Coaching
Alex Lubet
Professor
122 Ferguson Hall
612-624-7840
lubet001@umn.edu
Creative Studies & Media
Composition
Jerry Luckhardt
Director of Graduate Studies/Associate Director
Associate Director of Bands
Associate Professor
238 Ferguson Hall
612-624-2536
luckh001@umn.edu
Ensembles
Elizabeth (Betsy) McCann
Assistant Director of Bands
Director of Marching and Athletic Bands
108 Ferguson Hall
612-625-7567 (Ferguson Hall)
612-625-5877 (TCF Stadium Office
kern0072@umn.edu
Ensembles 
Timothy Maloney
Head of Music Library
Adjunct Professor
70C Ferguson Hall
612-624-8552
tmaloney@umn.edu
Music Library
Guerino Mazzola
Professor
164 Ferguson Hall
612-624-4487
mazzola@umn.edu
Creative Studies & Media
Matthew Mehaffey
Associate Director of Choral Activities
Associate Professor
118 Ferguson Hall
612-624-1511
mehaffey@umn.edu
Ensembles
Peter Mercer-Taylor
Associate Professor
158 Ferguson Hall
612-624-0385
merce011@umn.edu
Musicology/Ethnomusicology
Fernando Meza
Director of Percussion Studies
Associate Professor
29 Ferguson Hall
612-624-5846
mezax001@umn.edu
Percussion
David Myers
Professor
260 Ferguson Hall
612-626-1882
demyers@umn.edu
Music Education
Music Therapy
Creative Studies & Media
Sally O'Reilly
Professor
216 Ferguson Hall
612-624-0846
oreil004@umn.edu
Strings (Violin)
Karen Painter
Associate Professor
132 Ferguson Hall
612-626-7063
kpainter@umn.edu
Musicology/Ethnomusicology
Maja Radovanlija
Teaching Specialist
116 Ferguson Hall
612-624-4111
mradovan@umn.edu
Creative Studies & Media (Guitar)
Strings
Matt Rahaim
Assistant Professor
170 Ferguson Hall
612-624-2393
mrahaim@umn.edu
Musicology/Ethnomusicology
Tanya Remenikova
Professor
218 Ferguson Hall
612-624-0809
remen001@umn.edu
Strings (Cello)
Kathy Saltzman Romey
Director of Choral Activities
Associate Professor
16 Ferguson Hall
612-624-9557
romey001@umn.edu
Ensembles (Chorus)
Todd Schwartzberg
Teaching Specialist
134 Ferguson Hall
612-624-6016
schwa155@umn.edu
Music Education
Music Therapy
Paul Shaw
Associate Professor
264 Ferguson Hall
612-624-0523
shawx004@umn.edu
Keyboard (Piano)
Michael Silverman
Director of Music Therapy
Associate Professor
156 Ferguson Hall
612-624-1091
silvermj@umn.edu
Music Education
Music Therapy
Laura Sindberg
Director of Undergraduate Studies 
Associate Professor
154 Ferguson Hall
612-624-0093
lsindber@umn.edu
Music Education
Music Therapy
Mark Russell Smith
Artistic Director of Orchestral Studies
30 Ferguson Hall
612-624-5561
mrsmith@umn.edu
Ensembles (Orchestra)
Dean Sorenson
​Director of Jazz Studies
Associate Professor
236 Ferguson Hall
612-624-2334
soren048@umn.edu
Ensembles (Jazz)
Emily Threinen
Director of Bands
Associate Professor 
224 Ferguson Hall
612-624-6873 (Band Office)
threinen@umn.edu 
Ensembles (Bands)
David Walsh
Associate Professor
Director of Opera Theatre
268 Ferguson Hall
612-624-6596
walsh057@umn.edu
Ensembles (Opera)
Adriana Zabala
Associate Professor
256 Ferguson Hall
612-624-1548
azabala@umn.edu
Voice
Wendy Zaro-Mullins
Associate Professor
262 Ferguson Hall
612-625-3386
zarox001@umn.edu
Voice
Philip Zawisza
Assistant Professor
250 Ferguson Hall
612-624-4569
zawis014@umn.edu
Voice

Affiliate Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Julia Bogorad 216 Ferguson Hall
612-624-5740
bogor001@umn.edu
Woodwinds (Flute)
Christopher Brown  172 Ferguson Hall
612-624-0034
brown009@umn.edu
Strings (Double Bass)
Steven Campbell 230 Ferguson Hall
612-624-9594
campb467@umn.edu
Brass (Tuba)
Philip Hey 100 Ferguson Hall
612-624-5740
heyxx002@umn.edu
Percussion (Jazz)
Kathy Kienzle
 
34 Ferguson Hall
612-624-5740
kienz004@umn.edu
Strings (Harp)
Peter Kogan
 
29 Ferguson Hall
kogan010@umn.edu
Percussion
Caroline Lemen
 
230 Ferguson Hall
612-624-9594
lemen009@umn.edu
Brass (Horn)
Brian McCullough
Certified Teacher of the Alexander Technique (AmSAT)
125 Ferguson Hall
612-624-5740
mccul045@umn.edu
Music Education
Music Therapy
Sowah Mensah
 
100 Ferguson Hall
612-624-5740
mensa001@umn.edu
Ensembles (World Music)
John Miller
 
108 Ferguson Hall
612-624-9594
mille108@umn.edu
Woodwinds (Bassoon)
Norbert Nielubowski
 
108 Ferguson Hall
nielu001@umn.edu
Woodwinds (Contrabassoon)
Bruce Quaglia 124 Ferguson Hall
bquaglia@umn.edu
Theory
Basil Reeve
 
134 Ferguson Hall
612-624-9336
reeve009@umn.edu
Woodwinds (Oboe)
John Snow
 
112 Ferguson Hall
612-625-9012
snowx008@umn.edu
Woodwinds (Oboe)
Joko Sutrisno
 
100 Ferguson Hall
sutri001@umn.edu
Ensembles (Gamelan Ensemble)
John Tranter 22 Ferguson Hall
612-624-4148
trant004@umn.edu
Brass (Trombone)
Charles Ullery
 
108 Ferguson Hall
612-626-9164
uller001@umn.edu
Woodwinds (Bassoon)
David Williamson 172 Ferguson Hall
will4177@umn.edu
Strings(Double Bass)
Angela Wyatt
 
172 Ferguson Hall
612-624-0034
wyattaj@umn.edu
Woodwinds (Saxophone)