University of Minnesota
College of Liberal Arts

College of Liberal Arts Home.

Not just for the Olympics, CLA has its own medal winner

Not just for the Olympics, CLA has its own medal winner

On February 22, CLA presents its Dean's Medalist award and Scholar of the College award to three faculty members.

Portrait: Ruth M. Karras.Ruth M. Karras, professor in the Department of History, has been named as the College of Liberal Art's Dean's Medalist for 2010. Bernard Levinson, professor in the Department of Classical & Near Eastern Studies and Helga Leitner, professor in the Department of Geography, have been named Scholars of the College for 2010-13.

Portrait: Helga LeitnerA program and reception to honor the award recipients will be held at 3:30 p.m., Monday, February 22, in the Mississippi Room at Coffman Memorial Union The event will provide an opportunity for colleagues from across the college to come together to celebrate the honorees' work and the collective accomplishments of CLA faculty.

Potrait: Bernard LevinsonKarras was chosen as the Dean's Medalist because of her demonstrated excellence in scholarship. Previous recipients have been Professors Sara Evans, Lydia Artymiw, Elaine Tyler May, Marcia Eaton, Gordon Legge, Jeylan Mortimer, Clarence Morgan, R. Dennis Cook, David Wilkins, Paula Rabinowitz, and John Freeman.

The Scholar of the College is being awarded to Levinson and Leitner because of the high esteem in which they are held by their faculty colleagues throughout the CLA. The award provides funding from alumni donations to support faculty research for a three-year period.

February 22, 2010
Bookmark and Share