You are here

Faculty

Regular Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Brian Bix
Professor
871 Heller Hall
N212 Mondale Hall
612-624-2505
bixxx002@umn.edu
Legal philosophy, philosophy of language, moral and political philosophy
Roy T. Cook
Professor
Director of Graduate Studies
869 Heller Hall
612-625-8379
cookx432@umn.edu
Philosophy of logic, philosophy of language, philosophy of mathematics, aesthetics of popular art, 17th century philosophy
Samuel C. Fletcher
Assistant Professor
754 Heller Hall
612-625-4325
scfletch@umn.edu
Philosophy of physics, philosophy of science, philosophy of statistics
Jessica Gordon-Roth
Assistant Professor
817 Heller Hall
612-625-9549
gordo216@umn.edu
History of early modern philosophy
Peter Hanks
John M. Dolan Professor of Philosophy
868 Heller Hall
612-624-6415
pwhanks@umn.edu
Philosophy of language, history of analytic philosophy
Geoffrey Hellman
Professor
873 Heller Hall
612-625-8201
hellm001@umn.edu
Philosophy of mathematics and logic, philosophy of natural science, aesthetics
Sarah Holtman
Associate Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies
815 Heller Hall
612-626-1764
holtm001@umn.edu
Ethics, political philosophy, philosophy of law
Michael Kac
Professor
812 Heller Hall
612-625-1865
kacxx001@umn.edu
Linguistics, cognitive science, philosophy of language, philosophy of music
Alan Love
Associate Professor
Director of Minnesota Center for Philosophy of Science
735 Heller Hall
612-625-4510
aclove@umn.edu
Philosophy of biology, philosophy of science, history of biology, epistemology
Michelle Mason
Associate Professor
721 Heller Hall
612-625-2526
mason043@umn.edu
Ethics, moral psychology, practical reason, aesthetics
Michael Bennett McNulty
Assistant Professor
805 Heller Hall
612-624-5210
mcnu0074@umn.edu
Kant, history and philosophy of science, history and philosophy of mathematics
Joseph Owens
Professor
808 Heller Hall
612-625-0851
owens002@umn.edu
Philosophy of mind, philosophy of language, metaphysics
Valerie Tiberius
Department Chair
Professor
845 Heller Hall
612-625-0038
tiberius@umn.edu
Ethics, moral psychology, well-being and wisdom
Jos Uffink
Professor
749 Heller Hall
612-625-5316
jbuffink@umn.edu
Philosophy of physics, philosophy of science, history of physics
William C. Wimsatt
Adjunct Professor
751 Heller Hall
612-626-5321
wwim@umn.edu
Philosophy of biology, philosophy of psychology, philosophy of social science, history of biology

Visiting Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Fareed Awan
Assistant Professor
858 Heller Hall
612-625-4072
fareed@umn.edu
Bioethics, medical ethics, exploitation, research ethics, public health ethics, ethics and political philosophy
David Taylor
Assistant Professor
854 Heller Hall
612-625-9304
detaylor@umn.edu
Philosophy of language, metaphysics, history of analytic philosophy

Affiliate Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Debra DeBruin
Director
Center for Bioethics
Associate Professor
Department of Medicine
504 Boynton Health Service
612-624-9687
debru004@umn.edu
Bioethics
Antony Duff
Professor
Law School
446 Mondale Hall
612-625-6326
raduff@umn.edu
Philosophy of criminal law, jurisprudence, ethics, political philosophy
Carl Elliott
Professor
Center for Bioethics
N504 Boynton Health Service
612-626-5347
ellio023@umn.edu
Philosophical and ethical questions in psychiatry and pediatrics
Jeannette Gundel
Director
Institute of Linguistics
222 Elliott Hall
612-624-7564
gunde003@umn.edu
Pragmatics and linguistic theory
Michel Janssen
Professor
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine
354B Tate Laboratory of Physics
612-624-5880
janss011@umn.edu
History of modern physics, relativity and quantum revolutions, Einstein, philosophy of science
Sandra E. Marshall
Professor Emerita
Law School
N227 Mondale Hall
612-625-7097
smarshal@umn.edu
Moral, legal, and political philosophy

Emeriti Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Norman Dahl
Professor Emeritus
dahlx005@umn.edu Moral philosophy, ancient philosophy
Marcia Eaton
Professor Emerita
eaton001@umn.edu Aesthetics
Ronald Giere
Professor Emeritus
giere@umn.edu Philosophy of science
William Hanson
Professor Emeritus
whanson@umn.edu Logic, philosophy of logic
Jasper Hopkins
Professor Emeritus
hopkins@umn.edu Ancient and medieval philosophy, philosophy of religion, medical ethics
Douglas Lewis
Professor Emeritus
lewis002@umn.edu 17th and 18th century philosophy, metaphysics
Sandra Peterson
Professor Emerita
peter009@umn.edu Ancient philosophy, moral philosophy
Michael Root
Professor Emeritus
rootx001@umn.edu Metaphysics, epistemology, philosophy of social science
Wade Savage
Professor Emeritus
savag001@umn.edu Philosophy of science, epistemology, philosophy of psychology
Naomi Scheman
Professor Emerita
nschema@umn.edu Feminist theory, philosophy of mind, theory of criticism
John Wallace
Professor Emeritus
walla003@umn.edu Philosophy of language, political philosophy, philosophy of education

Lecturers

Name Contact Specialty
Ian Stoner
Lecturer
819 Heller Hall
ston0235@umn.edu
Moral theory, applied ethics, political philosophy, Hume