You are here

Faculty

Our faculty members are well-connected in the local and national media communities and they hold positions in national and international organizations. They serve as editors, editorial board members, and contributors to the discipline’s top journals. They also, not incidentally, are great teachers.

Name Contact Info Office Hours
Agur, Colin  338 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-5228
cpagur@umn.edu
Tu, Th: 11:30 a.m.1:00 p.m.
Anderson, Betsy
Visiting Faculty
417 Murphy Hall
Phone: 625-5088
andbets@umn.edu
M: 1:002:30 p.m.; or by appointment via email.
Bedingfield, Sid 217 Murphy Hall
Phone: 624-2438
sbedingf@umn.edu
TBD
Belair-Gagnon, Valerie 329 Murphy Hall
Phone: 625-7754
vbg@umn.edu
M, W: 2:153:15 p.m.
Cormany, Diane 321 Murphy Hall
Phone: 625-3912
dcormany@umn.edu
Tu, W, Th: 11:00 a.m.12:00 p.m.; or by appointment
Dell'Orto, Giovanna
Director of Undergraduate Studies
204 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-2951
dell0014@umn.edu
M, W: 11:00 a.m.12:00 p.m.; or by appointment
Doyle, Kenneth O 323 Murphy Hall
Phone: 624-5341
kendoyle@umn.edu
M; 2:153:15 p.m.
Tu, Th: 12:301:30 p.m.
Golden, Gayle
Senior Lecturer
121 Murphy Hall
Phone: 624-2136
ggolden@umn.edu
Tu, Th: 2:303:30 p.m.; or by appointment
Hansen, Kathleen
 
225 Murphy Hall
Phone: 625-3480
k-hans@umn.edu
On Sabbatical Fall 2016
Huh, Jisu
Professor, Raymond O. Mithun Chair in Advertising
Director of Graduate Studies
211 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-5527
jhuh@umn.edu
Tu, Th: 2:003:30 p.m.; or by appointment
Ison, Chris 210 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-7752
isonx001@umn.edu
Tu, W, Th: 1:002:00 p.m.; or by appointment
Kanihan, Stacey
Associate Teaching Professor of Strategic Communication
317 Murphy Hall 
Phone: 624-1064
skanihan@umn.edu
M: 10:1511:15 a.m. 
Th: 4:005:00 p.m.
Katz, Sherri Jean  327 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-4637
sjkatz@umn.edu 
Tu: 10:00–11:00 a.m. and by appointment
Kirtley, Jane
Silha Professor of Media Ethics and Law
Director, Silha Center for the Study of Media Ethics and Law
411 Murphy Hall
Phone: 625-9038
kirtl001@umn.edu
T: 11:15 a.m.12:15 p.m.
W: 2:003:00 p.m.; or by appointment 
Libin, Scott
Hubbard Senior Fellow
336 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0061
slibin@umn.edu
M, W: 11:00 a.m.12:00 p.m.; or by appointment 
Mitsch, Leonard 109 Murphy Hall
Phone: 385-5868
ltmitsch@umn.edu
By appointment
Nagler, Rebekah 325 Murphy Hall
Phone: 625-9388
nagle026@umn.edu
Tu, Th: 11:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.
O'Connor, Amy 227 Murphy Hall
Phone: 625-3224
amyoc@umn.edu
M, W: 1:002:00 p.m.
Paul, Nora
Director, Professional Outreach Center
221 Murphy Hall
Phone: 624-8593
npaul@umn.edu
M: 2:003:00 p.m.
W: 1:002:00 p.m.; or by appointment
Rim, Hyejoon 213 Murphy Hall
Phone: 624-2491
hrim@umn.edu
Fall 2016 Single Semester Leave
Terry, Chris 417 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-8516
crterry@umn.edu
Tu: 10:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.
Tims, Albert 
Director of the SJMC
timsx001@umn.edu By appointment—contact Mary Achartz at achar001@umn.edu
Toff, Benjamin 321 Murphy Hall
Phone: 625-3912
(Arrives Fall 2017)
Wackman, Daniel 308 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-7753
wackm001@umn.edu
M , W: 11 a.m.–12:00 p.m.; or by appointment 
Wehrenberg, Steve
Teaching Professor of Strategic Communication; Program Director of the Professional M.A. in Strategic Communication
219 Murphy Hall
Phone: 625-6383
wehre003@umn.edu
M, W: 2:303:30 p.m.; or by appointment  
Yzer, Marco 306 Murphy Hall
Phone: 625-0345
mcyzer@umn.edu
M: 12:002 p.m.

Affiliate Faculty

Name Contact Info
Elliott, Carl Center for Bioethics
Phone: 626-5347
ellio023@umn.edu
Fan, David P
* May serve as a major field committee representative only.
Genetics/Cell Bio
342 BioSci 
Phone: 624-4718
fanxx002@umn.edu
Gollust, Sarah E.
School of Public Health
420 Delaware St SE
Phone: 626-2618
Gurak, Laura Writing Studies
624-1784
gurakl@umn.edu
Finnegan, John R School of Public Health
MMC 197 Mayo 
Phone: 625-1179
finne001@umn.edu
McGeveran, Bill Law School
285 MondaleH
Phone: 625-6047
billmcg@umn.edu
Miller, Joanne Political Science
Phone: 625-8857
mille441@umn.edu
Snyder, Mark Psychology
N218 Elt H 
Phone: 625-1507
msnyder@umn.edu
Wolfe, Thomas History
914 HellerH 
Phone: 624-1886
wolfe023@umn.edu

 

Adjunct Instructors: Lecturers and Teaching Specialists

 

Name Contact Info Office Hours
Andre, Susan 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
sandre@umn.edu
Before or after class, please make appointment
Becker Herby, Elisa 101 Murphy Hall 
Phone: 626.0325
becke364@umn.edu/td>
W: 10:0011:00 a.m.
Blake, Terry 101 Murphy Hall 
Phone: 626.0325
blake189@umn.edu
Tu, TH: After class or by appointment
Breimhurst, Henry 101 Murphy Hall 
Phone: 626.0325
hbreimhu@umn.edu
W: 1:002:00 p.m., and by appointment
Broeckert, Jerry 109 Murphy Hall
broe0031@umn.edu
Immediately after class or by appointment
Fitzgerald, Michelle 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
mfitz@umn.edu
Th: 5:00 p.m., or by appointment    
Gore, Dan 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
gore0090@umn.edu
1-hour before class, or by appointment
Johnston, Earl 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
earlrj3@umn.edu
By appointment 
Kaiser, Kent 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
kais0024@umn.edu
Tu: 4:305:30 p.m., and by appointment
Kucharski, Matthew 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
kucha003@umn.edu
Th: 4:305:30 p.m., and by appointment
Leding, Nathan 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
ledin063@umn.edu
M: 3:305:30 p.m., or by appointment
Lemanczyk, Sarah 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
lema0001@umn.edu
M: 7:30 p.m.8:30 p.m., or by appointment @ Radio K, Rarig Center
Longley, Nance 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
longley@umn.edu
Before or after class if arranged
Offerman, Jim 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
offer056@umn.edu
M, W: 10:00 a.m.12:00 p.m., and 3:004:30 p.m.
Tu, TH: 3:004:30 p.m.
F: 10:00 a.m.4:00 p.m.
Pladson, Craig 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
cpladson@umn.edu
W: 8:309:30 a.m., Slack, or Google Hangout
Pounds, Jim 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
pound006@umn.edu
M, W: 3:304:00 p.m.
Schacht, Jeanne 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
schac006@umn.edu
After class by appointment
Sinner, CJ 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
sinne018@umn.edu
 
Stokes, Doug 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
djstokes@umn.edu
Tu: 5:156:15 p.m.
Sullivan, Daniel 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
sulli008@umn.edu
Tu: 12:003:00 p.m.
Vancleave, Mark 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
vanc0120@umn.edu
By appointment
Zerby, Mike  101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
zerby011@umn.edu
M, W: 11:30 a.m.12:00 p.m., or by appointment

Emeriti Faculty

Name Contact
Tsan-Kuo Chang chang003@umn.edu
John Eighmey eighmey@umn.edu
Ron Faber faber001@umn.edu
Hazel Dicken-Garcia dicken003@umn.edu
Irving Fang fangx001@umn.edu
Chin-Chuan Lee leexx010@umn.edu
Phillip J. Tichenor tiche001@umn.edu
Jean Ward  
William Wells wells004@umn.edu