University of Minnesota
http://www.umn.edu/
612-625-5000

You are here

Faculty

Full-Time Faculty

Our faculty members are well-connected in the local and national media communities and they hold positions in national and international organizations. They serve as editors, editorial board members, and contributors to the discipline’s top journals. They also, not incidentally, are great teachers.

Name Contact Info Office Hours
Anderson, Betsy
Visiting Faculty
327 Murphy Hall
Phone: 625-5088
andbets@umn.edu
Tu: 1:00 p.m.–2:30 p.m.
Ball, Jennifer 329 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-7754
jgball@umn.edu
On leave Spring Semester 2015
Bedingfield, Sid 217 Murphy Hall
Phone: 624-2438
sbedingf@umn.edu
M, W: 10:30 a.m.–11:30 a.m. or by appointment
Dell'Orto, Giovanna 204 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-2951
dell0014@umn.edu
M,W: 2:00 p.m.–3:00 p.m.
Doyle, Kenneth O 323 Murphy Hall
Phone: 624-5341
kendoyle@umn.edu

M,W: 3:30 p.m.-4:30 p.m.

T, Th: 2:30 p.m.-3:30 p.m.

Eighmey, John
Mithun Chair of Advertising 
 
211 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-5528
eighmey@umn.edu
On leave Spring Semester 2015
Hansen, Kathleen
Director of Undergraduate Studies
225 Murphy Hall
Phone: 625-3480
k-hans@umn.edu
Tu: 2:30 p.m.-3:30 p.m.; 
Th: 11:15 a.m.–12:30 p.m. or by appointment
Huh, Jisu
Director of Graduate Studies
338 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-5527
jhuh@umn.edu

Th: 10:00 a.m.–11:30 a.m. 

F: 12:30 p.m.-2:00 p.m. or by appointment

Ison, Chris 210 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-7752
isonx001@umn.edu
Tu, W, Th: 2:30 p.m.–3:30 p.m.
Kirtley, Jane
Silha Professor of Media Ethics and Law
Director, Silha Center for the Study of Media Ethics and Law
411 Murphy Hall
Phone: 625-9038
kirtl001@umn.edu

Tu: 9:45 a.m.–11 a.m.

W: 2:00 p.m.-3:15 p.m. or by appointment

Lewis, Seth 227 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-8516
sclewis@umn.edu
Tu: 12:30 p.m.–2:30 p.m.
Moyer, J. Keith
Senior Fellow
206 Murphy Hall
Phone: 625-4381
jkmoyer@umn.edu
M,Tu,W,Th: 1:30 p.m.-2:30 p.m.  or by appointment
Nagler, Rebekah 325 Murphy Hall
Phone: 5-9388
nagle026@umn.edu
Th: 3:00 p.m.–4:00 p.m.
Rim, Hyejoon 213 Murphy Hall
Phone: 4-2491
hrim@umn.edu
Tu: 10:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.
Sullivan, Dan 
Cowles Chair of Media Management and
Economics, Director of the Professional M.A. in Health Journalism & Mass Communication
On sabbatical fall 2014
230 Murphy Hall
Phone: 625-0742
dans@umn.edu
W: 9:00 a.m.-11:00 a.m. or by appointment
     
Tims, Albert 
Director of the SJMC
timsx001@umn.edu By appointment—contact Mary Achartz at achar001@umn.edu
Wackman, Daniel 308 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-7753
wackm001@umn.edu
On leave Spring Semester 2015
Watson, Brendan 317 Murphy Hall
Phone: 625-0576
brwatson@umn.edu

Tu: 12:30-1:30 p.m.

W: 3:30 p.m.-4:30 p.m. 

Wetzstein, Irmgard 313 Murphy Hall
Phone: 624-1064
iwetzste@umn.edu
By appointment
Williams, Jennifer 321 Murphy Hall
Phone: 625-3912
willi090@umn.edu
Th: 1:30 p.m.–3:30 p.m. or by appointment
Yzer, Marco 306 Murphy Hall
Phone: 625-0345
mcyzer@umn.edu
M: 1 p.m.–3 p.m.

Full-Time Instructional Staff

Name Contact Info Office Hours
Golden, Gayle
Senior Lecturer
121 Murphy Hall
Phone: 624-2136
ggolden@umn.edu
Th: 2:00 p.m.–3:15 p.m. or by appointment
Johnson, Jennifer
Teaching Specialist
109 Murphy Hall
Phone: 625-5539
joh02016@umn.edu
W: 12:00 p.m.–1:00 p.m. or by appointment
Libin, Scott
Hubbard Senior Fellow
336 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0061
slibin@umn.edu
Immediately after class or by appointment
Paul, Nora
Director, Professional Outreach Center
317 Murphy Hall
Phone: 624-8593
npaul@umn.edu
M: 11:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.,
W: 3:00 p.m.–4:00 p.m.
Wehrenberg, Steve
Teaching Professor of Strategic Communication; Program Director of the Professional M.A. in Strategic Communication
219 Murphy Hall
Phone: 625-6383
wehre003@umn.edu

Tu: 1:00 p.m.–2:00 p.m.

W: 10:00 a.m.-11:30 a.m. or by appointment

Affiliate Faculty

Name Contact Info
Elliott, Carl Center for Bioethics
Phone: 626-5347
ellio023@umn.edu
Fan, David P Genetics/Cell Bio
342 BioSci 
Phone: 624-4718
fanxx002@umn.edu
Laura Gurak Writing Studies
624-1784
gurakl@umn.edu
Finnegan, John R School of Public Health
MMC 197 Mayo 
Phone: 625-1179
finne001@umn.edu
Bill McGeveran Law School
285 MondaleH
Phone: 625-6047
billmcg@umn.edu
Miller, Joanne Political Science
Phone: 625-8857
mille441@umn.edu
Snyder, Mark Psychology
N218 Elt H 
Phone: 625-1507
msnyder@umn.edu
Wolfe, Thomas History
914 HellerH 
Phone: 624-1886
wolfe023@umn.edu

 

Adjunct Instructors: Lecturers and Teaching Specialists

 

Name Contact Info Office Hours
Andre, Susan 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 625-6202 
sandre@umn.edu 
Before or after class, please make appointment
Beck, Peter 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
beckx443@umn.edu
Weds. 1:00 - 3:00 and by appointment
Broeckert, Jerry 109 Murphy Hall
broe0031@umn.edu
Immediately after class or by appointment
Curry, Sheree 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
srcurry@umn.edu
Thurs. 2:30-3:00pm or by appointment
Fittipaldi, Diane 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
dfittipa@umn.edu
Mon 9:30 - 10:30
Franz, Lynn 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
fran0039@umn.edu
Briefly after class and by appointment
Gore, Dan 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
gore0090@umn.edu 
M,W 8:30 am, or by appointment
Herzog, Earl 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
herzo008@umn.edu
T, Th: 3 p.m.–4 p.m.
Johnston, Earl 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
earlrj3@umn.edu
Mon. 4:00-5:00pm, Fri. 3:30-4:30pm
Kaiser, Kent 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
kais0024@umn.edu
T 6:35 p.m.—7:35 p.m. or by appointment
Karich, Ann 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 612-581-0183
kraus465@umn.edu
M/W 5:50 - 6:50 pm or by appt
Karwoski, Glenn 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
gkarwosk@umn.edu
TBD
Kucharski, Matthew 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
kucha003@umn.edu
Tu, Th: 5:15 p.m.–6:15 p.m. or by appointment
Larsen, Elizabeth 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
lars0395@umn.edu
After class by appointment
Marinovich, John 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
marin099@umn.edu
By appointment
Mitsch, Len 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
ltmitsch@umn.edu
M/W 8.45-9:30 am and 11:15-12.15 or by appointment
Moorhouse, Bruce 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
moorh015@umn.edu
T, Th: 9:30 a.m.—11:30 a.m.
Pounds, James 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
pound006@umn.edu
M/W 12:00-1:00
Schacht, Jeanne 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
schac006@umn.edu
After class by appointment
Stern, Laurie 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
stern130@umn.edu
By appointment
Webster, MaryJo 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
mjwebste@umn.edu
By appointment
West, Arlene 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
westx247@umn.edu
By appointment or before/after class
Wood, Michelle 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
woodx275@umn.edu
Thurs 5:00 - 5:30pm
Zerby, Mike 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
zerby011@umn.edu
By appointment

Emeriti Faculty

Name
Tsan-Kuo Chang
Ron Faber
Hazel Dicken-Garcia
Irving Fang
Chin-Chuan Lee
Phillip J. Tichenor
Jean Ward
William Wells
  • © 2015 Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved.
  • The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer. Privacy