University of Minnesota
http://www.umn.edu/
612-625-5000

You are here

Faculty

Our faculty members serve on advisory boards, travel the globe to speak at conferences, appear in the media, and publish the books and articles that drive the direction of the discipline. We share the University's commitment to value a diversity of viewpoints and experiences, and to strive to provide a productive work environment for all University of Minnesota scholars from varying racial, ethnic, religious, social class, sexual identity, and national backgrounds.

Regular Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Cawo Abdi
Associate Professor
1146 Social Sciences Building
612-624-3714
cabdi@umn.edu
Migration; Gender, Race, and Class; Family; Islam; Development Studies; Human Rights; Globalization; Africa; Middle East
Zack Almquist
Assistant Professor of Sociology & Statistics
960 Social Sciences Building (Soc) &
372 Ford Hall (Stats)
612-624-1895 (Soc) & 612-625-1024 (Stats)
almquist@umn.edu
Social Network Analysis, Mathematical and Computational Sociology, Spatial Analysis, Demography, Public Health, Methodology, and Human Judgement and Decision Making
Ron Aminzade
Professor
1031 Social Sciences Building
612-624-9570
aminzade@umn.edu
Historical and Comparative, Political Sociology, Sociology of Development, Nationalism, Race Relations, Social Movements, Democratic Theory
Alejandro Baer
Associate Professor & Director, Center for Holocaust & Genocide Studies
1133 Social Sciences Building (Soc) &
252 Social Sciences Building (CHGS)
612-624-7548 & 612-624-5014
abaer@umn.edu
Social Memory Studies, Holocaust and Genocide Studies, Antisemitism, Sociology of Judaism, Sociology of Media and Communication, Qualitative Methods, Visual Sociology.
Joyce Bell
Associate Professor
Off-site 2015-16
jmbell@umn.edu
American Race Relations; Social Movements; Work, Professions & Organizations
Yanjie Bian
Professor
967 Social Sciences Building
612-624-9554
bianx001@umn.edu
Economic sociology, Social networks, Social stratification, Chinese society
Elizabeth Boyle
Professor & Chair
909 Social Sciences Building
612-624-3343
boyle014@umn.edu
Sociology of Law, Globalization, Children's and Women's Rights
Jeffrey Broadbent
Professor
1026 Social Sciences Building
612-624-1828
broad001@umn.edu
Political Sociology; Environmental Sociology; Social Movements; Network Analysis; Discourse Analysis, Institutions and Culture; Cross-national Comparative Methods; Climate Change; Japan; East Asia; Ethnography, Global, and Comparative/Historical Sociology.
Jack DeWaard
Assistant Professor
1148 Social Science Building
612-624-9522
jdewaard@umn.edu
International and Internal Migration, Assimilation and Integration, Demography and Ecology, Quantitative Methods.
Penny Edgell
Professor & Associate Dean for Social Sciences
212 Johnston Hall &
909 Social Sciences Building
612-624-9839 (Assoc. Dean's office) & 612-624-9828 (Soc)
edgell@umn.edu
Culture, Religion, Gender and Family, Symbolic Boundaries and Inequality
Gabrielle Ferrales
Assistant Professor
1152 Social Sciences Building
612-624-5021
ferrales@umn.edu
Law and Society, Gender, Criminology and Criminal Justice, International Criminal Law, Quantitative and Qualitative Methods, Factorial Survey Methods for Empirical Analysis
Joseph Gerteis
Associate Professor
1125 Social Sciences Building
612-624-1615
gerte004@umn.edu
Historical Sociology, Politics and Social Movements, Social Theory, Diversity and Solidarity in American Society
Michael Goldman
Associate Professor
1070 Social Sciences Building
612-624-0051
mgoldman@umn.edu
Transnational, Political, and Environmental Sociology; Global Urbanization; Transnational Institutions of Finance, Development, and Expert Networks.
Teresa Gowan
Associate Professor
1080 Social Sciences Building
612-626-1863
tgowan@umn.edu
Urban Sociology, Ethnography, Poverty and Inequality, Consumption, Alternative Economies
Douglas Hartmann
Professor
835 Social Sciences Building
612-624-0835
hartm021@umn.edu
Race and Ethnicity, Sociology of Culture, Sport Studies, Social Movements and Social Change, American Society, Field Methods, Contemporary Theory
Kathleen Hull
Associate Professor & Director of Undergraduate Studies
1131 Social Sciences Building
612-624-4339
hull@umn.edu
Culture, Law, Social Movements, Family, Gender and Sexuality
David Knoke
Professor & Associate Chair
939 Social Sciences Building
612-624-6816
knoke001@umn.edu
Social Network, Economic Sociology, Organizations and Work
Carolyn Liebler
Associate Professor
1135 Social Sciences Building
612-626-5506
liebler@umn.edu
Race and Ethnicity, Social Demography, Indigenous Peoples, Social Stratification, Sociology of the Family and Life Course, Social Support
Enid Logan
Associate Professor
956 Social Sciences Building
612-624-3598
elogan@umn.edu
Blackness in the Americas, Contemporary U.S. Race Relations, Race and the Body, Race and Electoral Politics, Blacks and Social Class, Afro-Latin America
Carl Malmquist
Professor
1174 Social Sciences Building
612-624-4147
malmq001@umn.edu
Juvenile Justice, Homicide, Adolescence, Law and Society, Law and the Mental Health System
Ann Meier
Associate Professor & Director of Graduate Studies
1127 Social Sciences Building
612-626-7230
meierann@umn.edu
Family and Life Course, Adolescent and Young Adult Development, Gender
Phyllis Moen
Professor
Off-site 2015-16
phylmoen@umn.edu
Work, Family, Health, Policy, Age and the Gendered Life Course
Jeylan Mortimer
Professor
1014B Social Sciences Building
612-624-4064
morti002@umn.edu
The Life Course, Social Psychology, Work
Joshua Page
Associate Professor
935 Social Sciences Building
612-624-9333
page@umn.edu
Crime, Law, Deviance, and Punishment; Labor and Unionization; Political Sociology; Qualitative Research Methods; Social Theory
Michelle Phelps
Assistant Professor
1035 Social Sciences Building
612-626-0863
phelps@umn.edu
Crime, Law, and Deviance; Inequality; Mixed Methods
Joel Samaha
Professor
1033 Social Sciences Building
612-624-3529
jbs@umn.edu
Criminal Law and Procedure in US Society, History of Criminal Justice
Joachim Savelsberg
Professor
1144 Social Sciences Building
612-624-0273
savel001@umn.edu
Knowledge; Law, Crime & Punishment; Human Rights; Comparative; Theory
Rachel Schurman
Professor
1078 Social Sciences Building
612-624-1039
schurman@umn.edu
Agri-food Studies, Political Sociology, Social Movements, Global Political Economy, Development/Post-Development Studies
Teresa Swartz
Associate Professor
933 Social Sciences Building
612-626-1862
tswartz@umn.edu
Families; Intergenerational Relations; Social Inequality; Asian American Studies; Gender; Welfare State; Children, Youth and Young Adulthood
Christopher Uggen
Professor
1014A Social Sciences Building
612-624-4016
uggen001@umn.edu
Crime, Law, and Deviance; Life Course; Inequality; Methods
Rob Warren
Professor
1167 Social Sciences Building
612-624-2310
warre046@umn.edu
Social Inequality, Education, Health Disparities, Demography
Elizabeth Wrigley-Field
Assistant Professor
Robert Wood Johnson Post Doc
Starting fall 2016
ewf@umn.edu
Formal Demography, Social Demography, Race, Health, and Inequality

Affiliate Faculty

Name Contact
John Arthur
Professor
Sociology & Anthropology
UMD
218-726-6358
jarthur@d.umn.edu
Rose Brewer
Professor
African American & African Studies
810 Social Sciences
612-624-9305
brewe001@umn.edu
Kathleen Call
Professor
School of Public Health
15-223 Phillips Wangensteen Building
612-624-3922
callx001@umn.edu
Barry Feld
Professor
Law School
340 Mondale Hall
612-625-9389
feldx001@umn.edu
Jeffrey Maahs
Associate Professor
Sociology & Anthropology
UMD
218-726-7395
jmaahs@d.umn.edu
Donna McAlpine
Associate Professor
School of Public Health
612-625-9919
mcalp004@umn.edu
J Michael Oakes
Associate Professor
School of Public Health
300 West Bank Office Building
612-624-6855
oakes007@umn.edu
Jennifer Pierce
Professor
American Studies
204 Scott Hall
612-624-0852
pierc012@umn.edu
Christopher Roberts
Associate Professor
Law School
450 Mondale Hall
612-624-2947
cnr@umn.edu
Steven Ruggles
Professor
History
Director
MN Population Center
50 Willey Hall
612-624-4081
ruggl001@umn.edu
Karen Seashore
Professor
CEHD
Org. Leadership, Policy & Development
310D Wulling Hall
612-626-8971
klouis@umn.edu
Tetyana Shippee
Assistant Professor
School of Public Health
612-626-3065
tshippee@umn.edu
Rossella Selmini
Research Associate
Sociology
1078 Social Sciences
rselmini@umn.edu
Mark Snyder
Professor
Psychology
N218 Elliott Hall
612-625-1507
msnyder@umn.edu
Joe Soss
Professor
Humphrey School of Public Affairs
261 Humphrey School
612-626-9865
jbsoss@umn.edu

Emeriti Faculty

Name Contact
Ronald Anderson
Professor Emeritus
rea@umn.edu
Robert Fulton
Professor Emeritus
fulto001@umn.edu
Joel Nelson
Professor Emeritus
nelso004@umn.edu
Ira Reiss
Professor Emeritus
irareiss@comcast.net
David Ward
Professor Emeritus
dward1144@aol.com
  • © 2015 Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved.
  • The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer. Privacy