You are here

Graduate Students

Our department's graduate student offices are located at 428 Folwell Hall. For individual appointments, please reach out to the student by email.

PhD Program

Name Contact Specialty
Sejung Ahn ahnxx082@umn.edu  
Yan Chang chan1374@umn.edu Modern Japanese literature, Shanghai Republican-era literature, Kitsch study
Yao Chen chen3200@umn.edu  
Saena Ryu Dozier ryuxx061@umn.edu Historical fiction in Korea, digital cinema, identity formation and visual representation
Emily Durham durha017@umn.edu North Indian vernacular literature, translation studies, world literature, Islamic and South Asian art and culture, internationalism
Chun Wai Fong fongx097@umn.edu Japanese literature, Japanese history and Yōkai
Dhrijyoti Kalita kalit008@umn.edu  
Sravanthi Kollu kollu005@umn.edu Development of history, science, and literary writing in 19th and 20th century South Asia; vernacular literary cultures, linguistic thinking, South Asian revolution and literature
Soo Hyun Lee leex7096@umn.edu Korean and Asian cinema, comedy and comic theory; East Asian comedy films
Hui Liu liux1841@umn.edu Chinese cinema, popular culture, and comedy; documentary ethics, international cinema
Chuanhui Meng meng0112@umn.edu  
Sreyashi Ray rayxx356@umn.edu Comparative literature and cultural studies, South Asian literatures, Subaltern studies, Dalit literature, Asian film studies, gender and sexuality in literature, Indian art and architecture
Emily Sumner sumne036@umn.edu Middle East and North Africa, Yemen and the Diaspora, Discourses of Emotion, Gender, Sung Poetry, Teaching Arabic as a Foreign Language
Chen Wang wang3828@umn.edu Translation theories and literary translations in early modern China, literary bilingualism and translingual literatures, teaching introductory and intermediate Chinese

Master's Program

Name Contact Specialty
Sophia Dooly dooly004@umn.edu Chinese studies
Yuwei Liu liux2940@umn.edu Japanese and Chinese studies
Joshua Opatz opatz033@umn.edu Middle Eastern studies