You are here

Faculty

Regular Faculty

Name Contact Specialty Office Hours
Patricia Ahearne-Kroll
Assistant Professor
262 Nicholson Hall
Judaism in Egypt during Ptolemaic and early Roman periods, Jewish-Greek literature, religious practice in Ptolemaic Egypt Monday 11:30 a.m. - 1:00pm,  Tuesday 2:30 - 3:30 p.m.
Stephen Ahearne-Kroll
Associate Professor
Sundet Family Chair in New Testament and Christian Studies
Director of Graduate Studies
146E Nicholson Hall
612-301-1480
sahearne@umn.edu
Historical and critical study of the New Testament in relation to the religious culture of the ancient Mediterranean world Wednesday 2:30 - 3:30 p.m., or By Appointment
Spencer Cole
Associate Professor
146F Nicholson Hall
612-625-5540
secole@umn.edu
Latin prose and Roman culture Friday 1:30 - 3:30 p.m., or By Appointment
Andrew Gallia
Associate Professor
1041 Heller Hall
612-626-4268
abgallia@umn.edu
Roman history, Latin literature, Greek history, Roman archaeology and topography Monday 2:00 - 3:30 p.m, or By Appointment
Mohsen Goudarzi
Assistant Professor
266 Nicholson Hall
612-625-6519
goudarzi@umn.edu
Early Islamic history, Qur'anic studies Thursday 1:00 - 2:00 p.m.
Nita Krevans
Associate Professor
Interim Department Chair
252 Nicholson Hall
612-625-3422
nkrevans@umn.edu
Greek and Latin poetry, Hellenistic Greek literature Tuesday 2:30 - 3:00 p.m., or By Appointment
Bernard M. Levinson
Professor
Berman Family Chair in Jewish Studies and Hebrew Bible
Director of Undergraduate Studies
258 Nicholson Hall
612-625-4323
levinson@umn.edu
Hebrew Bible and ancient Near Eastern studies; Second Temple Judaism; Bible and the Humanities Wednesday 2:00 - 3:30 p.m., or By Appointment
Hanne Loeland Levinson
Assistant Professor
150E Nicholson Hall
612-624-8341
loela001@umn.edu
Hebrew Bible, gender studies, metaphor theory, and biblical narratives Wednesday 11:00 - 12:00 p.m., or By Appointment
S. Douglas Olson
Professor
146D Nicholson Hall
612-625-0513
sdolson@umn.edu
Greek poetry of the archaic and classical periods  
Eva von Dassow
Associate Professor
150D Nicholson Hall
612-626-4787
vonda001@umn.edu
Ancient Near Eastern Studies, Akkadian and Ugaritic On Leave Spring 2020

Lecturers

Name Contact Specialty Office Hours
Sofya Barth
Teaching Specialist
254 Nicholson Hall Modern Hebrew Thursday and Friday 12:15 - 2:00 p.m., or By Appointment
Jeanne Kilde
Director of Programs in Religious Studies
245 Nicholson Hall
612-625-6393
jkilde@umn.edu
Religious Studies  
Renana S. Schneller
Director of Hebrew Language Instruction
Senior Lecturer
150A Nicholson Hall
612-625-5353
schne068@umn.edu
Modern Hebrew language and literature, Biblical Hebrew, Arabic By Appointment
Stephen C. Smith
Director of Classical Language Instruction
Senior Lecturer
256 Nicholson Hall
612-625-0751
smith504@umn.edu
Augustan Latin literature, Latin and Greek pedagogy Tuesday 1:15 - 2:15 p.m., Wednesday 2:30 - 3:30 p.m., or By Appointment

Affiliate Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Richard Graff
Associate Professor
Writing Studies
221 Nolte Center
612-624-4985
graff013@umn.edu
Classical rhetoric, contemporary rhetorical theory
Theofanis Stavrou
Professor
History
1224 Heller Hall
612-624-5734
stavr001@umn.edu
Modern Greek studies
Andrea L. Sterk
Associate Professor
History
1110 Heller Hall
612-624-2800
sterk@umn.edu
Late Antiquity and Medieval Christianity
Peter S. Wells
Professor
Anthropology
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
612-624-6845
wells001@umn.edu
European prehistoric and Roman period archaeology

Emeriti Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Elizabeth S. Belfiore
Professor Emerita
esb@umn.edu Ancient philosophy, Greek tragedy, Greek literature
Thomas S. Clayton
Regents' Professor Emeritus
English
tsc@umn.edu Drama and theater, Shakespeare, classical tradition
John K. Evans
Professor Emeritus
History
evans002@umn.edu  Roman history
Oliver Nicholson
Professor Emeritus
opn@umn.edu Late antiquity, patristics, later Latin
Jonathan Paradise
Professor Emeritus
jparadis@umn.edu Hebrew Bible, cuneiform
Calvin J. Roetzel
Professor Emeritus
roetz002@umn.edu Pauline theology
Melissa Harl Sellew
Professor Emerita
sellew@umn.edu Early Christian studies, gospel literature, Coptic
George A. Sheets
Professor Emeritus
gasheets@umn.edu Historical linguistics, Latin literature, legal history