You are here

Faculty

Regular Faculty

Name Contact Specialty Office Hours
Patricia Ahearne-Kroll
Assistant Professor
262 Nicholson Hall
Judaism in Egypt during Ptolemaic and early Roman periods, Jewish-Greek literature, religious practice in Ptolemaic Egypt Wed. 10:00-11:00AM, or by appointment
Stephen Ahearne-Kroll
Associate Professor
Sundet Family Chair in New Testament and Christian Studies
Director of Graduate Studies
146E Nicholson Hall
612-301-1480
sahearne@umn.edu
Historical and critical study of the New Testament in relation to the religious culture of the ancient Mediterranean world Fri. 1:00-3:00PM
Spencer Cole
Associate Professor
146F Nicholson Hall
612-625-5540
secole@umn.edu
Latin prose and Roman culture  
Andrew Gallia
Associate Professor
1041 Heller Hall
612-626-4268
abgallia@umn.edu
Roman history, Latin literature, Greek history, Roman archaeology and topography  
Mohsen Goudarzi
Assistant Professor
266 Nicholson Hall
612-625-6519
goudarzi@umn.edu
Early Islamic history, Qur'anic studies By appointment only
Nita Krevans
Associate Professor
252 Nicholson Hall
612-625-3422
nkrevans@umn.edu
Greek and Latin poetry, Hellenistic Greek literature Fri. 11:30AM-12:15PM, or by appointment
Bernard M. Levinson
Professor
Berman Family Chair in Jewish Studies and Hebrew Bible
Director of Undergraduate Studies
258 Nicholson Hall
612-625-4323
levinson@umn.edu
Hebrew Bible and ancient Near Eastern studies; Second Temple Judaism; Bible and the Humanities Wed. 1:30-3:00PM, or by appointment
Hanne Loeland Levinson
Assistant Professor
150E Nicholson Hall
612-624-8341
loela001@umn.edu
Hebrew Bible, gender studies, metaphor theory, and biblical narratives Thu. 3:00-4:00PM, or by appointment
S. Douglas Olson
Professor
146D Nicholson Hall
612-625-0513
sdolson@umn.edu
Greek poetry of the archaic and classical periods Sun. 9:00-10:00AM, Tue. 10:00-11:00AM, Thu. 10:00-11:00AM
Eva von Dassow
Associate Professor
150D Nicholson Hall
612-626-4787
vonda001@umn.edu
Ancient Near Eastern Studies, Akkadian and Ugaritic Tue. & Thu. 2:00-3:00PM

Lecturers

Name Contact Specialty Office Hours
Sofya Barth
Teaching Specialist
254 Nicholson Hall Modern Hebrew  
Jeanne Kilde
Director of Programs in Religious Studies
245 Nicholson Hall
612-625-6393
jkilde@umn.edu
Religious Studies

Tue. 10:00-11:00AM, Thu. 2:00-3:00PM

Renana S. Schneller
Director of Hebrew Language Instruction
Senior Lecturer
150A Nicholson Hall
612-625-5353
schne068@umn.edu
Modern Hebrew language and literature, Biblical Hebrew, Arabic By appointment only
Stephen C. Smith
Director of Classical Language Instruction
Senior Lecturer
256 Nicholson Hall
612-625-0751
smith504@umn.edu
Augustan Latin literature, Latin and Greek pedagogy Tue. 3:30-4:30PM, Thu. 10:00-11:00AM, or by appointment
Affiliate Faculty
Name Contact Specialty
Richard Graff
Associate Professor
Writing Studies
221 Nolte Center
612-624-4985
graff013@umn.edu
Classical rhetoric, contemporary rhetorical theory
Theofanis Stavrou
Professor
History
1224 Heller Hall
612-624-5734
stavr001@umn.edu
Modern Greek studies
Andrea L. Sterk
Associate Professor
History
1110 Heller Hall
612-624-2800
sterk@umn.edu
Late Antiquity and Medieval Christianity
Peter S. Wells
Professor
Anthropology
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
612-624-6845
wells001@umn.edu
European prehistoric and Roman period archaeology

Emeriti Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Elizabeth S. Belfiore
Professor Emerita
esb@umn.edu Ancient philosophy, Greek tragedy, Greek literature
Thomas S. Clayton
Regents' Professor Emeritus
English
tsc@umn.edu Drama and theater, Shakespeare, classical tradition
John K. Evans
Professor Emeritus
History
evans002@umn.edu  Roman history
Oliver Nicholson
Professor Emeritus
opn@umn.edu Late antiquity, patristics, later Latin
Jonathan Paradise
Professor Emeritus
jparadis@umn.edu Hebrew Bible, cuneiform
Calvin J. Roetzel
Professor Emeritus
roetz002@umn.edu Pauline theology
Melissa Harl Sellew
Professor Emerita
sellew@umn.edu Early Christian studies, gospel literature, Coptic
George A. Sheets
Professor Emeritus
gasheets@umn.edu Historical linguistics, Latin literature, legal history