You are here

Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Bruce P. Braun
Professor
Chair
452 Social Sciences Building
612-625-6349
braun038@umn.edu
Society-environment relations, political ecology, social and cultural theory, cultural studies of the environment, colonial and post-colonial geographies
Kate Derickson
Associate Professor
435 Social Sciences Building
612-301-6982
kdericks@umn.edu
Urban political economy, race and racialization, feminist and critical epistemology, engaged scholarship, land use and environmental politics, social and political theory
Somayeh Dodge
Assistant Professor
427 Social Sciences Building
612-625-1112
sdodge@umn.edu
Examination of mobility and movement and advanced visualization and analysis of dynamic processes, including movement and global environmental change
Vinay Gidwani
Professor
515 Social Sciences Building
612-625-1397
gidwa002@umn.edu
Labor geographies, theories of agrarian and ecological change, spatiality of class and identity politics, subalternity, political economies of "development" and "globalization", Marxism and post-Marxism, social theory, India
Kathryn Grace
Associate Professor
558 Social Sciences Building
612-625-4026
klgrace@umn.edu
Spacial analysis and statistics, health, demography, food insecurity and population-environment interactions
Dan Griffin
Assistant Professor
533 Social Sciences Building
612-625-2562
griffin9@umn.edu
Dendrochronology, paleoclimate from tree rings, climate variability, climate change, drought, environmental dynamics, water and natural resources management, natural areas conservation
George Henderson
Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies
548 Social Sciences Building
612-625-4085
hende057@umn.edu
Marxism, post-capitalist politics, value theory of labor, Marxist cultural critique
Kurt Kipfmueller
Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Studies

 

568 Social Sciences Building
612-625-9668
kurt@umn.edu
Climate-tree growth relationships, forest fire-climate interactions, denrochronology
Katherine Klink
Associate Professor
573 Social Sciences Building
612-625-3452
klink@umn.edu
Physical, climatology, climate-biosphere interactions, climate modeling, quantitative methods
Mark B. Lindberg
Adjunct Associate Professor
Senior Cartographer
Director of Cartography Library
410 Blegen
612-625-0892
mbl@umn.edu
Geographic Information Systems, digital cartographic production, map design, quantitative methods
Steven M. Manson
Professor
Scholar of the College
Associate Dean, Research & Graduate Programs, CLA
560 Social Sciences Building
612-625-4577
manson@umn.edu
Environmental science, socio-theoretic frameworks, computational modeling, GIScience
Hanna Mattila
Government of Finland/
David and Nancy Speer Visiting Professor in Finnish Studies
Associate Professor
523 Social Sciences Building
612-625-9354
hmattila@umn.edu
Urban planning and governance, urban and regional development, planning theory, critical theory, comparative perspectives on planning systems, Finland
Robert B. McMaster
Professor
Vice Provost and Dean of Undergraduate Education
585 Social Sciences Building
612-625-9883
mcmaster@umn.edu
Geographic Information Systems, digital cartography, cartographic design, spatial analysis, environmental risk assessment
Arun Saldanha
Associate Professor
432 Social Sciences Building
612-625-9660
saldanha@umn.edu
Race, colonialism, tourism, ethnography, feminist theory, Marxism, continental philosophy
Abdi I. Samatar
Professor
 
368 Social Sciences Building
612-626-1877
samat001@umn.edu
Development geography, political economy and agrarian change, development theory and the State, Africa
Eric Shook
Assistant Professor
473 Social Sciences Building
612-625-5970
eshook@umn.edu
CyberGIS, use of large spatial data sets and high performance computing to engage in innovative spatial analysis and visualization approaches
Ying Song
Assistant Professor
478 Social Sciences Building
612-625-2056
yingsong@umn.edu
GIScience, space-time modeling and simulation, sustainable transportation, accessibility, behavior analysis
Roderick H. Squires
Associate Professor
546 Social Sciences Building
612-625-0179
squires@umn.edu
Environmental quality, public land policy, real estate, evolution of landscapes, political ecology of Minnesota
Scott St. George
Associate Professor
537 Social Sciences Building
612-625-0805
stgeorge@umn.edu
Paleoclimatology, climate dynamics, natural hazards, climate's impact on renewable energy

Affiliate Faculty and Post Doctoral-Fellows

Name Contact Specialty
     
Susan L. Craddock
Professor
Gender, Women & Sexuality Studies
425 Ford Hall
612-624-6006
craddock@umn.edu
AIDS, disease, health, social justice
William Craig 330 Hubert H. Humphrey School of Public Affairs
612-625-3321
wcraig@umn.edu
GIS, land use and population
Kirsten Delegard
Fellow & Director Mapping Prejudice Project
368 Social Science Bldg.
612-625-0229
deleg008@umn.edu

Urban history; community-engaged scholarship; digital humanities and public history; race and racialization; history of Minneapolis; race and racialization. 

Jen Fuller
Post-Doctoral Fellow
414 Social Science
full0144@umn.edu
 
 
Michael Goldman
Associate Professor
Sociology
1070 Social Science Bldg.
612-625-0051
mgoldman@umn.edu
Transnational, Political Economic, and Urban Sociology; Transnational Institutions of Finance, Development, and Expertise. 
Nick Jordan
Professor
CFANS Agronomy/Plant Genetics
411 Borlaug Hall
612-625-3754
jorda020@umn.edu
Agroecology; social and biophysical determinants of agricultural land-use; collaborative management of agricultural landscapes
Miranda Joseph
Professor
Gender, Woman and Sexuality Studies
419 Ford Hall
612-625-5047
josephm@umn.edu
feminist, Marxist, poststructuralist, and queer theory, cultural studies methods, and LGBT Studies
William G. Moseley
Professor
Department of Geography, Macalaster College
moseley@macalester.edu
wgmosele@umn.edu
Political ecology, tropical agriculture, environment and development policy, and livelihood security.
Lorena Muñoz
Assistant Professor
Gender, Women & Sexuality Studies
432 Ford Hall
612-625-2028
lmunoz@umn.edu
Intersections of place, space, gender, sexuality, health and race; Latinx in the global south, particularly (in)formal economy, labor, health and productive/transformative agency
Richa Nagar
Professor
Gender, Women & Sexuality Studies
443 Ford Hall
612-624-2192
nagar@umn.edu
Collaborative praxis; politics of development; transnational feminisms
Sage Ponder
Post-Doctoral Fellow
414 Social Science
cponder@umn.edu
urban political economy, geographies of racialization, urban social reproduction, municipal debt, infrastructure, just socio-ecological transition
Max Ritts
Post-Doctoral Fellow
432 Social Science
612-625-9660
mritts@umn.edu
Society-environment relations, sound studies, political ecology, cultural studies of the environment, critical Indigenous studies, experimental methods and media

Emeriti Faculty

Name Contact
John S. Adams
Professor Emeritus
adams004@umn.edu
Dwight A. Brown
Professor Emeritus
dbrown@umn.edu
Philip J. Gersmehl
Professor Emeritus
gersmehl@umn.edu
John Fraser Hart
Professor Emeritus
frase002@umn.edu
Helga Leitner
Professor Emerita
eqj6139@umn.edu
Philip W. Porter
Professor Emeritus
porter@umn.edu
Earl P. Scott
Professor Emeritus
scott003@umn.edu
Eric Sheppard
Professor Emeritus
shepp001@umn.edu
Richard H. Skaggs
Professor Emeritus
skaggs@umn.edu
Connie Weil
Professor Emeritus
weil@umn.edu