You are here

Faculty

The Department of German, Nordic, Slavic & Dutch is a dynamic community of faculty, instructors, and graduate students. Our faculty are known nationally and internationally for their research and teaching in the medieval and pre-modern area, transnational interdisciplinary studies (from cultural and gender studies to environmental humanities, intellectual history, Jewish studies, and film), and second-language acquisition.

Fall 2020 Instructor Office Hours
 

Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Benjamin Bigelow
Assistant Professor
328D Folwell Hall
612-626-3327
bbigelow@umn.edu
Scandinavian literature and culture
Nadya Clayton
Lecturer
320D Folwell
612-626-6335
nclayton@umn.edu
Russian language & literature
Ross Etherton
Assistant Professor
323B Folwell Hall
612-625-0999
ether040@umn.edu
19th- and 20th-century German literature; modernism; intersections of technology and literature; media theory
Gary R. Jahn
Professor
On leave Fall 2020
320H Folwell
612-625-6557
gjahn@umn.edu
Russian language & literature
Ari Hoptman
Senior Lecturer
329B Folwell Hall
612-625-6008
hoptm001@umn.edu
German language
Arsena Ianeva-Lockney
Senior Lecturer
On leave Spring 2021
328B Folwell Hall
612-625-0999
ianev001@umn.edu
German language; business German; beginning Norwegian language
Daniel Haataja
Senior Lecturer
karvonen@umn.edu Finnish language and culture
Elizabeth Kautz
Education Program Specialist
 
328B Folwell Hall
612-625-0738
kautz001@umn.edu
German language
Kyle Korynta
Lecturer
327J Folwell Hall
612-625-4059
kory0008@umn.edu
Norwegian language
Anatoly Liberman
Professor
323A Folwell Hall
612-625-5594
aliber@umn.edu
General linguistics; Germanic philology; folklore; poetic translation
Richard McCormick
Professor
On leave Spring 2021
328E Folwell Hall
612-625-0341
mccor001@umn.edu
German film studies and film history; 20th-century German literature; feminism and gender studies
Erik McDonald
Lecturer
320B Folwell
612-626-1894
emcdonal@umn.edu
Russian language & literature
Charlotte Melin
Professor
On leave Spring 2021
327F Folwell Hall
612-626-8785
melin005@umn.edu
Postwar German poetry; second-language acquisition; transnational literary relations; environmental humanities
Leslie Morris
Chair
Professor
327A Folwell Hall
612-624-4047
morri074@umn.edu
German Jewish studies; Holocaust & memory studies; 20th- & 21st-century German and Austrian literature; comparative literature & literary theory; experimental poetry; psychoanalysis; medical humanities
Lena Norrman
Lecturer
320K Folwell Hall
612-626-7971
norrman@umn.edu
Swedish language, culture and literature; medieval studies; folklore; women's studies
Jenneke Oosterhoff
Senior Lecturer
320N Folwell Hall
612-624-1041
ooste003@umn.edu
Dutch culture and literature; Dutch and German film; turn-of-the-century German and Austrian literature; business German
James A. Parente, Jr.
Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies
328F Folwell Hall
612-626-1620
paren001@umn.edu
Medieval and early modern German, Netherlandic, and Scandinavian literature and culture
Jennifer Peterson
Senior Teaching Specialist
On leave Spring 2021
328B Folwell Hall
612-625-0738
peter511@umn.edu
German language
Matthias Rothe
Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Studies
328G Folwell Hall
612-625-9034
mrothe@umn.edu
18th-century political philosophy; philosophical and literary presentability of economic practices; Brechtian and contemporary theater
Helena Ruf
Lecturer
Director of Language Instruction
 
327D Folwell Hall
612-625-3380
rahd0001@umn.edu
German language
DeeAnn Sime
Senior Teaching Specialist
327H Folwell Hall
612-625-8651
simex006@umn.edu
German language
Virgina Steinhagen
Senior Lecturer
320J Folwell Hall
612-626-2879
stein093@umn.edu
German language
Yana Taets
Teaching Specialist
320C Folwell
612-625-1384
taets003@umn.edu
Russian & German language
Jamele Watkins
Assistant Professor
On leave Fall 2020
327C Folwell Hall
612-625-4898
watkinsj@umn.edu
20th- and 21st-century German literature and history; Black diasporic studies; performance studies; feminist studies; German film 
Hanna Zmijewska-Emerson
Senior Lecturer
320A Folwell Hall
612-624-4467
zmije001@umn.edu
Norwegian language; 19th-century Norwegian drama; Scandinavian women writers and 20th century fiction

Affiliate Faculty 

Name Contact Specialties
Alejandro Baer
Associate Professor
Sociology
abaer@umn.edu Holocaust and genocide studies; social memory studies; antisemitism
Siobhan Craig
Associate Professor
English
craig026@umn.edu German and Italian cinema; literary, film, feminist, and queer theory
Sheer Ganor
Assistant Professor
History
sganor@umn.edu German-speaking Jewry; 20th-century German history; forced migration; Holocaust; memory studies
Sarah Holtman
Professor
Philosophy
holtm001@umn.edu Moral and Political Philosophy; Philosophy of Law; Kant's Practical Philosophy
Michal Kobialka
Professor
Theatre Arts and Dance
kobia001@umn.edu European avant-garde theatre/performance; post-World War II theatre/performance; Tadeusz Kantor's theatre; post-World War II history of Central European visual/performance art; theatre/performance culture of the Enlightenment; theatre/performance historiography
Bernard M. Levinson
Professor
Berman Family Chair in Jewish Studies & Hebrew Bible
Classical & Near Eastern Studies; Law School
levinson@umn.edu Hebrew Bible; ancient Judaism; Bible and Humanities; German intellectual history (Goethe, Kant)
Howard Louthan
Professor
History
hlouthan@umn.edu Early modern Central and Eastern European history; Reformation and Counter-Reformation; history of religion
Alice Lovejoy
Associate Professor
Cultural Studies & Comparative Literature
alovejoy@umn.edu Film and media history and historiography; East Central European film; literature and cultural history
Mary Jo Maynes
Professor
History
mayne001@umn.edu 19th- and 20th-century German history; social history; women’s history
Michael Bennett McNulty
Assistant Professor
Philosophy
mcnu0074@umn.edu Immanuel Kant; history of early modern philosophy; history of philosophy of science
Karen Painter
Associate Professor
Music
kpainter@umn.edu 19th- and 20th-century German and Austrian music history
Thomas Pepper
Associate Professor
Cultural Studies & Comparative Literature
tapepper@umn.edu Psychoanalytic theory; gender; textual theory
Dan Philippon
Associate Professor
English
danp@umn.edu Environmental literature, history and ethics; ideas of nature, culture, and place; food studies
Joachim Savelsberg
Professor
Sociology
savel001@umn.edu Human rights; law, collective representation and memory of mass violence
Andrew Scheil
Professor
English
ascheil@umn.edu Anglo-Saxon language and literature; Middle English and medieval Latin literature
Henning Schroeder
Professor
Department of Pharmaceutics
schro601@umn.edu Education & health care in Germany & the US; history of patriotism & nationalism; constitutions & legal systems in Germany & the US; Rhineland & Rhenish capitalism
J.B. Shank
Associate Professor
History
jbshank@umn.edu Early modern European intellectual history; Renaissance science and culture
Rudy Singer
Associate Professor of German
University of Göttingen; Guest Professor, Kiel University
singerr@umn.edu Literature & poetics of the "Goethezeit" & around 1900; European drama, theater, & theater theory; word & image relations; rhetoric & literature; parody & literary nonsense
Igor Tchoukarine
Assistant Professor
History
itchouka@umn.edu 20th c. history of Central and Southeastern Europe; history of tourism and travel; the Cold War; international institutions; maritime cultures and identities; migration; transnational history
Brian Vetruba
Librarian
European Studies & Digital Scholarship
bvetruba@umn.edu European history, languages, and literatures; digital humanities
Christophe Wall-Romana
Professor
French
wallr007@umn.edu Modern European critical theory and philosophy; modern poetry; translation studies
Peter Wells
Professor
Anthropology
wells001@umn.edu Archaeology of Europe-Bronze Age through early medieval; archaeological excavations in Bavaria; visual culture in prehistoric Europe; interaction and trade between societies; practice of ritual 

Emeriti Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Kaaren Grimstad
Associate Professor Emerita
PhD, Harvard University
grims001@umn.edu Old Norse languages and literatures; Icelandic sagas; Scandinavian mythology; Swedish
Poul Houe
Professor
cand. mag., Aarhus University
houex001@umn.edu Modern Danish and Swedish literature; European humanism; travel and exile literature
Ruth-Ellen B Joeres
Professor Emerita
PhD, Johns Hopkins
joere001@umn.edu German women's literary, social and cultural history of the18th-20th centuries; feminist/gender theories; cultural studies
Arlene Teraoka
Professor Emerita
PhD, Stanford University
terao001@umn.edu 20th-century and minority German literature; German intellectual history; cultural criticism
Ray Wakefield
Associate Professor Emeritus
PhD, Indiana University
wakef001@umn.edu Second-language acquisition; medieval German literature; Dutch
Monika Zagar
Professor Emerita
PhD, University of California-Berkeley
zagar001@umn.edu Norwegian language & literature; modernism; Scandinavian women writers
Jack Zipes
Professor Emeritus
PhD, Columbia University
zipes001@umn.edu Fairy tales; 20th-century literature; German, GDR, women's and Jewish studies