You are here

Faculty

Our faculty members are well-connected in the local and national media communities and they hold positions in national and international organizations. They serve as editors, editorial board members and contributors to the discipline’s top journals. They also, not incidentally, are great teachers.

Name Contact Info Office Hours
Agur, Colin 
Assistant Professor
338 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-5228
cpagur@umn.edu
M, W: 4-5 p.m.; or by appointment
Anderson, Betsy
Contract Teaching Assistant Professor
 
325 Murphy Hall
Phone: 625-5088
andbets@umn.edu
T: 12:45-2:15 p.m.; or by appointment via email
Bedingfield, Sid
Assistant Professor
217 Murphy Hall
Phone: 624-2438
sbedingf@umn.edu
T, Th: 9-10 a.m.; or by appointment
Belair-Gagnon, Valerie
Assistant Professor
Director, Minnesota Journalism Center
329 Murphy Hall
vbg@umn.edu
T: 2:15-3:15 p.m.; or by appointment
Cohen, Elisia
Professor
Director, Hubbard School of Journalism and Mass Communication
111 Murphy Hall
ecohen@umn.edu
 
Contact Mary Achartz: 5-1338 or achar001@umn.edu
Cormany, Diane
Contract Teaching Assistant Professor
321 Murphy Hall
Phone: 625-3912
dcormany@umn.edu
W: 4-5 p.m.
Th: 3-4 p.m.; or by appointment
Dell'Orto, Giovanna
Associate Professor
204 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-2951
dell0014@umn.edu
T, Th: 1-2 p.m.; and by appointment
Doyle, Kenneth O
Associate Professor
323 Murphy Hall
Phone: 624-5341
kendoyle@umn.edu
Th: 2:30-4 p.m.; or by appointment
Golden, Gayle
Senior Lecturer
121 Murphy Hall
Phone: 624-2136
ggolden@umn.edu
Th: 2-3:30 p.m.; or by appointment
Hansen, Kathleen
Professor
225 Murphy Hall
Phone: 625-3480
k-hans@umn.edu
On leave Spring 2018
Huh, Jisu
Professor, Raymond O. Mithun Chair in Advertising
Director of Graduate Studies
211 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-5527
jhuh@umn.edu
M, W: 11 a.m.-12 p.m.; or by appointment
Ison, Chris
Contract Teaching Associate Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies
210 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-7752
isonx001@umn.edu
M, W: 1-2 p.m.
T: 2:30-3:30 p.m.; or by appointment
Jenson, Mark
Lecturer
109 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-1851
jenso001@umn.edu
M, W: 9:45-11 a.m., 3-4 p.m.
T, Th: 9:45-11 a.m.; or by appointment
Kanihan, Stacey
Contract Teaching Associate Professor of Strategic Communication
Academic Director of the Professional MA Program in Strategic Communication
317 Murphy Hall 
Phone: 624-1064
skanihan@umn.edu
Th: 4-5 p.m.; and by appointment
Katz, Sherri Jean 
Assistant Professor
327 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-4637
sjkatz@umn.edu 
Th: 2:15-3:15 p.m.; and by appointment
Kirtley, Jane
Silha Professor of Media Ethics and Law
Director, Silha Center for the Study of Media Ethics and Law
411 Murphy Hall
Phone: 625-9038
kirtl001@umn.edu
T: 9:45-11 a.m.
W: 2:30-3:15 p.m.; or by appointment 
Libin, Scott
Hubbard Senior Fellow
336 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0061
slibin@umn.edu
M, W: 11 a.m.12 p.m.; or by appointment 
LoRusso, Susan 
Contract Teaching Assistant Professor
221 Murphy Hall
Phone: 624-8593
lorus004@umn.edu
 
M, W: 2:30-4 p.m.
Mitsch, Leonard
Lecturer/Teaching Specialist
109 Murphy Hall
Phone: 385-5868
ltmitsch@umn.edu
M, W: 9:30-11:30 a.m., 2:30-4 p.m.
T, Th: 1-4 p.m.
F: 10-11 a.m. and 1:30-4 p.m.
Nagler, Rebekah
Assistant Professor
304 Murphy Hall
Phone: 625-9388
nagle026@umn.edu
Th: 2-4 p.m.
O'Connor, Amy
Assistant Professor
206 Murphy Hall
Phone: 625-3224
amyoc@umn.edu
M: 9-10 a.m.
Th: 12-1 p.m.
Rim, Hyejoon
Assistant Professor
213 Murphy Hall
Phone: 624-2491
hrim@umn.edu
M, W: 12:30-1:30 p.m.; and by appointment
Segijn, Claire
Assistant Professor
308 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-7753
segijn@umn.edu
M, W: 10-11 a.m.; and by appointment
Terry, Chris
Assistant Professor
417 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-8516
crterry@umn.edu
T: 10 a.m.–12 p.m.
Tims, Albert 
Associate Professor
 
303 Murphy Hall
Phone: 625-0020
timsx001@umn.edu
On leave Spring 2018
Toff, Benjamin
Assistant Professor
227 Murphy Hall
Phone: 625-4381
bjtoff@umn.edu
T, Th: 1:30-2:30 p.m.; and by appointment
Wehrenberg, Steve
Teaching Professor of Strategic Communication; Program Director of the Professional MA in Strategic Communication
219 Murphy Hall
Phone: 625-6383
wehre003@umn.edu
T, Th: 2:30-3:30 p.m.; or by appointment  
Yzer, Marco
Professor
Academic Director of the BA/MA in Health Communication
306 Murphy Hall
Phone: 625-0345
mcyzer@umn.edu
M: 122 p.m.; or by appointment

Affiliate Faculty

Name Contact Info
Elliott, Carl Center for Bioethics
Phone: 626-5347
ellio023@umn.edu
Fan, David P
* May serve as a major field committee representative only.
Genetics/Cell Bio
342 BioSci 
Phone: 624-4718
fanxx002@umn.edu
Gollust, Sarah E.
School of Public Health
420 Delaware St SE
Phone: 626-2618
Gurak, Laura Writing Studies
624-1784
gurakl@umn.edu
Finnegan, John R School of Public Health
MMC 197 Mayo 
Phone: 625-1179
finne001@umn.edu
McGeveran, Bill Law School
285 MondaleH
Phone: 625-6047
billmcg@umn.edu
Miller, Joanne Political Science
Phone: 625-8857
mille441@umn.edu
Snyder, Mark Psychology
N218 Elt H 
Phone: 625-1507
msnyder@umn.edu
Swensen, Rebecca Agricultural, Food, and Natural Resource Communication
146D Ruttan Hall
Phone: 625-3866
boli0028@umn.edu
Wolfe, Thomas History
914 HellerH 
Phone: 624-1886
wolfe023@umn.edu

 

Adjunct Instructors: Lecturers and Teaching Specialists

 

Name Contact Info Office Hours
Andre, Susan 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
sandre@umn.edu
Before or after class, please make appointment
Broeckert, Jerry 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
broe0031@umn.edu
Immediately after class or by appointment
DeFoster, Ruth 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
defos002@umn.edu
T, Th: 2:30-3:30 p.m.
DePass, Dee 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
dedepass@umn.edu
Before class and by appointment
Furman, Matt 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
mmfurman@umn.edu
By appointment only
Gilbert, Melody 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
gilbe045@umn.edu
T, Th: 2-2:30 p.m. and 3:45-4:30 p.m.
Glaros, Stephanie 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
glar0002@umn.edu
After class by appointment
Gore, Daniel 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
dangore@umn.edu
As needed by appointment
Hohmann, Judy 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
jhohmann@umn.edu
Th: 9-9:45 a.m. or by appointment
Johnston, Earl 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
earlrj3@umn.edu
By appointment, email or phone (952-358-0997) 
Kaiser, Kent 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
kais0024@umn.edu
T: 4:30-5:30 p.m.; and by appointment
Keiser, Eva 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
keise020@umn.edu
Immediately before or after class; and by appointment via email
Kleinert, Abby 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
klei0403@umn.edu
T, Th: after class; or by appointment
O'Brien, Sean 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
obri0077@umn.edu
W: 5:15-6:15 p.m.; or by appointment
O'Fallon, Joan 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
joano@umn.edu
After class or by appointment
Offerman, Jim 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
offer056@umn.edu
M, W: 1-2:15 p.m. (appintments preferred)
Pladson, Craig 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
cpladson@umn.edu
W: 8:30-9:30 a.m.; via Slack
Pounds, James 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
pound006@umn.edu
T, Th: 4-4:40 p.m.
Rand, Michael 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
rand0061@umn.edu
Immediately after class or by appointment
Rosenblum, Gail 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
davi0016@umn.edu
M, W: 4:30-5:30 p.m.; or by appointment
Rosengren, John 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
rose0084@umn.edu
T, Th: 2:15-2:45 p.m.; or by appointment
Schacht, Jeanne 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
schac006@umn.edu
After class by appointment; available by phone or email
Schimke, David 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
schi0005@umn.edu
Immediately after class; or by appointment
Speier, Meredith 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
speie010@umn.edu
M: 9:30-10:30 a.m.; or by appointment
Sprenger, Jason 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
spre0032@umn.edu
T: 10-11 a.m.
Stokes, Doug 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
djstokes@umn.edu
T: 3-4 p.m.; or by appointment
Westpfaul, Jennifer 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
westpfa@umn.edu
By appointment, generally after class
Wood, Michelle 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
woodx275@umn.edu
T, Th: after class or by appointment

Emeriti Faculty

Name Contact
Tsan-Kuo Chang chang003@umn.edu
John Eighmey eighmey@umn.edu
Ron Faber faber001@umn.edu
Hazel Dicken-Garcia dicken003@umn.edu
Chin-Chuan Lee leexx010@umn.edu
Phillip J. Tichenor tiche001@umn.edu
Jean Ward  
William Wells wells004@umn.edu