People

Minnesota Journalism Center Contact Info Areas of Expertise
Valerie Belair-Gagnon
Assistant Professor
Director, Minnesota Journalism Center
329 Murphy Hall
vbg@umn.edu
Twitter: @journoscholar
Innovation in journalism and communication; sociology of news; emerging media (mobile apps, social media, web analytics experiences); audience engagement and participatory journalism
Sue Couling
Events Manager
 
101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-1723
scouling@umn.edu
Event planning and management; speaker bookings; event marketing and promotion
Faculty Specialists Contact Info Areas of Expertise
Colin Agur
Assistant Professor
cpagur@umn.edu
Twitter: @colinagur
Mobile communication; emerging media; global media
Betsy Neibergall Anderson
Contract Teaching Assistant Professor
andbets@umn.edu Digital content; social media in public relations & advertising; work-life balance
Matt Carlson
Associate Professor
carlson1@umn.edu
Twitter: @drmattcarlson
Journalism studies, media studies, and cultural studies
Giovanna Dell'Orto
Associate Professor
dell0014@umn.edu
Twitter: GDellortoREM
International news; foreign correspondents; migration and refugees.
Kathleen Hansen
Professor
k-hans@umn.edu
Twitter: @khans1
News archives; information technologies
Chris Ison
Contract Teaching Associate Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies
isonx001@umn.edu Investigative reporting, news writing, media ethics
Jane Kirtley
Silha Professor of Media Ethics and Law
Director of the Silha Center for the Study of Media Ethics and Law
kirt001@umn.edu First Amendment; freedom of information; privacy; media ethics
Scott Libin
Senior Fellow
slibin@umn.edu Journalism, broadcasting, television news, ethics
Regina McCombs
Lecturer and Senior Fellow
rmccombs@umn.edu
Twitter: @reginamc
Visual journalism, photojournalism and visual journalism ethics, multimedia production, mobile journalism
Amelia Reigstad
Lecturer
areigstad@umn.edu
Twitter: @AmeliaReigstad
Gender, communication styles, public relations, workplace communication, feminism and cultural studies
Errol Salamon
Postdoc Teaching Scholar
esalamon@umn.edu
Twitter: @errolsalamonPhD
Media, popular culture, diversity, and inclusivity
Christopher Terry
Assistant Professor
cterry@umn.edu
Twitter: @ChristopherTerr
FCC, regulation, political advertising 
Benjamin Toff
Assistant Professor
bjtoff@umn.edu
Twitter: @BenjaminToff
Public opinion; political communication; changing journalism norms and practices; news audiences
Matthew Weber
Associate Professor
msw@umn.edu
Twitter: @docmattweber
Social media, media management, organizational change, local news
Student Fellows Contact Info Areas of Expertise
Jonathan Anderson
PhD Student, Mass Communication
and08164@umn.edu
Twitter: @jonathanderson
Media law/policy, news consumption, public perception of journalists/news, business of news media
Amber Hamilton
PhD Student, Sociology
hamil639@umn.edu Content/media analysis, Race, and Culture
Joshua Jordan
PhD Student, Mass Communication
jorda857@umn.edu Science communication, media psychology
Clara Juarez
PhD Student, Mass Communication
juare085@umn.edu Journalism and politics, nationalism/populism, content analysis 
Jisu Kim
PhD Student, Mass Communication
kimx4290@umn.edu
Twitter: @kjs8918
Computational journalism, audience engagement and participatory journalism, social network analysis
Allison Steinke
PhD Student, Mass Communication
stei1341@umn.edu Journalism, digital and social media, social justice