You are here

Darkness & Light - Bach Cantatas 161 and 184

June 4, 2021 - 7:30pm

Add to your Google calendar

With Kira Winter, soprano; Yilun Dong, counter tenor; Rebecca Blackwell, mezzo; Nicholas Chalmers, tenor; and Vinay Thomas, baritone

Matthew Abernathy and Jingqi Zhu, conductors

Doctoral conductors Matthew Abernathy and Jingqi Zhu lead School of Music students, alumni, and local professional musicians in two paired cantatas by J.S. Bach – BWV 161 Komm, du süße Todesstunde and BWV 184 Erwünschtes Freudenlicht. The performance explores the contrasting themes of “sweet hour of death” and “desired light of joy”, evoking a profoundly emotional and spiritual journey of darkness and light. 

View the program.

This broadcast performance is free and open to the public, airing on the School of Music's YouTube Channel.