You are here

Professor Emily Threinen Inducted into American Bandmasters Association

March 24, 2017

Emily Threinen (director of bands) was inducted into the American Bandmasters Association at their annual convention in Lexington, Kentucky, March 8-11, 2017. Threinen is one of only eight band directors from the state of Minnesota to be inducted.

The American Bandmasters Association, founded in 1929, with John Philip Sousa as Honorary Life President, recognizes outstanding achievement on the part of concert band conductors and composers. The current membership (invitational) comprises approximately 300 band conductors and composers in the USA and Canada, and 80 Associate Members (music businesses and corporations that provide significant services to bands and to the publication of band music).

Group photo from the Convention (Above, L-R):
Dr. Emily Threinen* (University of Minnesota DOB), Dr. Andrew Mast (Lawrence University DOB and Associate Dean), Dr. Scott Jones* (The Ohio State University Associate DOB), Bruce Henniss (The Ohio State University, Professor of Horn), Dr. Brian Doyle (SUNY Potsdam DOB), Russel C. Mikkelson (The Ohio State University Assoc. DOB), Dr. Eric Wilson (Baylor University DOB), Mr. Richard Blatti (The Ohio State University Emeritus Director).Emily Threinen Intro

Introduction photo:
Gary E. Smith, President of ABA (at podium) & Colonel Timothy Holtan (speaker) introduce Emily Threinen during her induction into the American Bandmasters Association.

Members in the state of Minnesota: 
Dr. Richard K. Hansen*
Craig J. Kirchhoff
Dr. Timothy J. Mahr
Dr. Douglas Nimmo 
Frederick A. Nyline* 
Dr. Russell J. Pesola* 
Dr. Emily Threinen*
Dr. John P. Zdechlik*

*University of Minnesota School of Music alumni