You are here

Faculty

Our faculty members are well-connected in the local and national media communities and they hold positions in national and international organizations. They serve as editors, editorial board members, and contributors to the discipline’s top journals. They also, not incidentally, are great teachers.

Name Contact Info Office Hours
Agur, Colin  338 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-5228
cpagur@umn.edu
M, W: 11:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.
Anderson, Betsy
 
417 Murphy Hall
Phone: 625-5088
andbets@umn.edu
T: 12:30-2 p.m.; or by appointment via email
Bedingfield, Sid 217 Murphy Hall
Phone: 624-2438
sbedingf@umn.edu
T, Th: 10-11:30 a.m.; or by appointment
Belair-Gagnon, Valerie 329 Murphy Hall
Phone: 625-7754
vbg@umn.edu
M, W: 11:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.
Cormany, Diane 321 Murphy Hall
Phone: 625-3912
dcormany@umn.edu
Tu, W, Th: 11:15 a.m.-1:15 p.m.; or by appointment
Dell'Orto, Giovanna
Director of Undergraduate Studies
204 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-2951
dell0014@umn.edu
T, Th: 1-2 p.m.; or by appointment
Doyle, Kenneth O 323 Murphy Hall
Phone: 624-5341
kendoyle@umn.edu
M, W: 6-6:30 p.m.
Tu, Th: 2:15-3:15 p.m.; or by appointment
Golden, Gayle
Senior Lecturer
121 Murphy Hall
Phone: 624-2136
ggolden@umn.edu
Th, 1:30-3 p.m.; or by appointment
Hansen, Kathleen
 
225 Murphy Hall
Phone: 625-3480
k-hans@umn.edu
On sabbatical Spring 2017
Huh, Jisu
Professor, Raymond O. Mithun Chair in Advertising
Director of Graduate Studies
211 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-5527
jhuh@umn.edu
M,W: 11 a.m.-12 p.m.; or by appointment
Ison, Chris 210 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-7752
isonx001@umn.edu
T, Th: 3-p.m.
W: 1-2 p.m.; or by appointment
Kanihan, Stacey
Associate Teaching Professor of Strategic Communication
317 Murphy Hall 
Phone: 624-1064
skanihan@umn.edu
Th: 1:30-3:30 p.m.; or by appointment
Katz, Sherri Jean  327 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-4637
sjkatz@umn.edu 
T: 12:30-2:30 p.m.; or by appointment
Kirtley, Jane
Interim Director
Silha Professor of Media Ethics and Law
Director, Silha Center for the Study of Media Ethics and Law
411 Murphy Hall
Phone: 625-9038
kirtl001@umn.edu
T: 2:45-3:45 p.m.; or by appointment 
Libin, Scott
Hubbard Senior Fellow
336 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0061
slibin@umn.edu
M, W: 11 a.m.12 p.m.; or by appointment 
Mitsch, Leonard 109 Murphy Hall
Phone: 385-5868
ltmitsch@umn.edu
M-Th: 12-4 p.m.
F: 10 a.m.-12 p.m. and 1:30-4 p.m.
Nagler, Rebekah 325 Murphy Hall
Phone: 625-9388
nagle026@umn.edu
Tu, Th: 2:15-3:15 p.m.
O'Connor, Amy 227 Murphy Hall
Phone: 625-3224
amyoc@umn.edu
M: 12-1 p.m.
W: 1-2 p.m.
Paul, Nora
Director, Professional Outreach Center
221 Murphy Hall
Phone: 624-8593
npaul@umn.edu
M: 12-1 p.m.
​W: 10-11 a.m.; or by appointment
Rim, Hyejoon 213 Murphy Hall
Phone: 624-2491
hrim@umn.edu
W: 12:30-1:30 p.m.
F: 12:30-2:30 p.m.; or by appointment
Terry, Chris 417 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-8516
crterry@umn.edu
W: 10 a.m.–12 p.m.
Tims, Albert 
 
timsx001@umn.edu On leave Spring 2017
Toff, Benjamin 321 Murphy Hall
Phone: 625-3912
(Arrives Fall 2017)
Wackman, Daniel 308 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-7753
wackm001@umn.edu
On leave Spring 2017
Wehrenberg, Steve
Teaching Professor of Strategic Communication; Program Director of the Professional M.A. in Strategic Communication
219 Murphy Hall
Phone: 625-6383
wehre003@umn.edu
T, Th: 2:303:30 p.m.; or by appointment  
Yzer, Marco 306 Murphy Hall
Phone: 625-0345
mcyzer@umn.edu
M: 122 p.m.

Affiliate Faculty

Name Contact Info
Elliott, Carl Center for Bioethics
Phone: 626-5347
ellio023@umn.edu
Fan, David P
* May serve as a major field committee representative only.
Genetics/Cell Bio
342 BioSci 
Phone: 624-4718
fanxx002@umn.edu
Gollust, Sarah E.
School of Public Health
420 Delaware St SE
Phone: 626-2618
Gurak, Laura Writing Studies
624-1784
gurakl@umn.edu
Finnegan, John R School of Public Health
MMC 197 Mayo 
Phone: 625-1179
finne001@umn.edu
McGeveran, Bill Law School
285 MondaleH
Phone: 625-6047
billmcg@umn.edu
Miller, Joanne Political Science
Phone: 625-8857
mille441@umn.edu
Snyder, Mark Psychology
N218 Elt H 
Phone: 625-1507
msnyder@umn.edu
Swensen, Rebecca Agricultural, Food, and Natural Resource Communication
146D Ruttan Hall
Phone: 625-3866
boli0028@umn.edu
Wolfe, Thomas History
914 HellerH 
Phone: 624-1886
wolfe023@umn.edu

 

Adjunct Instructors: Lecturers and Teaching Specialists

 

Name Contact Info Office Hours
Andre, Susan 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
sandre@umn.edu
Before or after class, please make appointment
Beck, Peter 101 Murphy Hall 
Phone: 626.0325
beckx443@umn.edu
Th: 12:15–2:15 p.m. or by appointment
Blake, Terry 101 Murphy Hall 
Phone: 626.0325
blake189@umn.edu
M, W: Before or after class or by appointment
Broeckert, Jerry 109 Murphy Hall
broe0031@umn.edu
Immediately after class or by appointment
DePass, Dee 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
dedepass@umn.edu
Before class or by appointment    
Franz, Lynn

101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
fran0039@umn.edu

Briefly after class or by appointment
Furman, Matt 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
mmfurman@umn.edu
By appointment early
Gore, Dan 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
gore0090@umn.edu
As needed or by appointment
Hohmann, Judy 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
jhohmann@umn.edu
M: 11:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. or by appointment
Jenson, Mark 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
jenso001@umn.edu
M: 6:40-7:30 p.m., W: 6:40-7:10 p.m., or by appointment
Johnston, Earl 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
earlrj3@umn.edu
By appointment 
Kaiser, Kent 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
kais0024@umn.edu
T: 9:30-10:00 a.m., and by appointment
Karich, Ann 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
Kraus465@umn.edu
By appointment, 612-581-0183
Keiser, Eva 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
keise020@umn.edu
T, Th: 4-5:30 p.m. or by appointment via email
Kelly, Colleen 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
cgkelly@umn.edu
Before class or by appointment
Kleinert, Abby 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
klei0403@umn.edu
Th: 1-2 p.m., McNeal Hall B3
M, W: 101 McNeal by appointment
Kucharski, Matthew 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
kucha003@umn.edu
M, W: 5:15-6:15 p.m., and by appointment
Longley, Nance 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
longley@umn.edu
Before or after class if arranged; available by phone and email
Marinovich, John 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
marin099@umn.edu
By appointment
O'Brien, Sean 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
obri0077@umn.edu
W: 10-11 a.m. and by appointment
Offerman, Jim 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
offer056@umn.edu
M, W: 3:50 - 4:30 p.m. (appointments preferred)
Pladson, Craig 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
cpladson@umn.edu
T: 8:309:30 p.m. via video chat
Rader, Peggy 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
rader004@umn.edu
After class and by appointment. Available by email.
Rand, Michael 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
rand0061@umn.edu
Immediately after class and by appointment.
Rosenblum, Gail 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
davi0016@umn.edu
M, W: 4:30-5:30 p.m.
Rosengren, John 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
rose0084@umn.edu
T, Th: 2:15-2:45 p.m. or by appointment
Schacht, Jeanne 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
schac006@umn.edu
After class by appointment
Stokes, Doug 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
djstokes@umn.edu
T: 5:15-6:15 p.m.
Webster, MaryJo 101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
mjwebsite@umn.edu
By appointment
Wood, Michelle  101 Murphy Hall
Phone: 626-0325
woodx275@umn.edu
T, Th: 12:30-1 p.m., or by appointment

Emeriti Faculty

Name Contact
Tsan-Kuo Chang chang003@umn.edu
John Eighmey eighmey@umn.edu
Ron Faber faber001@umn.edu
Hazel Dicken-Garcia dicken003@umn.edu
Chin-Chuan Lee leexx010@umn.edu
Phillip J. Tichenor tiche001@umn.edu
Jean Ward  
William Wells wells004@umn.edu