You are here

Sociology's Diversity Committee is 2017’s Lillian H. Williams Award Honoree

September 20, 2017

University of Minnesota Diversity & Equity Breakfast

University of Minnesota Diversity & Equity Breakfast
University of Minnesota Diversity & Equity Breakfast

The Equal Opportunity and Affirmative Action (EOAA) office has selected the Department of Sociology’s Diversity Committee as the recipient of the 2017 Lillian H. Williams Award. Named in honor of EOAA’s founding director, this prestigious award recognizes the committee’s deep commitment to the principles of equal opportunity, equity and diversity.

Headed by Professor and Committee Chair Ron Aminzade and Associate Professor Enid Logan, the committee has devoted itself to a series of initiatives and events designed to promote racial diversity and inclusion. This fall the committee has partnered with CLA’s Anthropology, History and Political Science departments to develop a pipeline program with three Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCU): Spelman College, Morehouse College, and Howard University.

We in Sociology are tremendously proud of this exciting initiative, which aims to create not only recruitment pipelines for students of color, but also to serve as a model of intellectual exchange, ensuring diversity and inclusion remain defining forces of our institution's culture and curriculum for years to come.

Congratulations to all current and past members of the Sociology’s Diversity Committee whose innovation and tireless efforts will be recognized at the Equal Opportunity and Affirmative Action Liaison Conference on October 27, 2017.