Faculty

Name Contact Specialties  
Sophia Beal
Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Studies
206D Folwell Hall
612-625-2331
sfbeal@umn.edu
Brazilian literature and cultural studies, Lusophone-African Literature and cultural studies, urban studies, postcolonial studies
Timothy Face
Professor

 

203E Folwell Hall
612-625-1328
facex002@umn.edu
Intonation and prosody, laboratory phonology, phonetics, phonological theory, second language phonology  
Ofelia Ferrán
Associate Professor
 
203D Folwell Hall
612-625-6883
ferra007@umn.edu
Autobiography, contemporary Spanish peninsular literature, contemporary Spanish women writers, exile literature, feminist theory, literary theory and criticism, narrative constructions and representations of memory
 
Ana Paula Ferreira
Professor
206C Folwell Hall
612-626-6909
apferrei@umn.edu
Decolonial Studies of Lusophone Literatures and Cultures
“Race” and Coloniality in the Global Portuguese and Spanish South
Women, Feminisms and Late Empire/Post empire 
 
Ana Forcinito
Professor
 
205D Folwell Hall
612-625-1014
aforcini@umn.edu
19th and 20th century Latin American literature with an emphasis on the Southern Cone, testimonial practices, Latin American film, gender studies and feminist theory, cultural theory and critica cultural, memory studies and human rights  
Osiris A Gomez
Assistant Professor
214N Folwell Hall
ogomezve@umn.edu
Contemporary Mexican literature and culture, Indigenous literature, translation studies, linguistic rights.  
Michelle Hamilton
Professor
on leave spring 2022
209 Folwell Hall
612-625-6661
hamilton@umn.edu
Cultural contact in medieval Iberia, literary theory and cultural studies, Hebrew and Arabic cultures of Europe, the medieval Mediterranean and its legacy, Sephardic traditions, Mediterranean studies  
Jaime Hanneken
Associate Professor
214M Folwell Hall
612-625-1837
hanne045@umn.edu
Contemporary Latin American literature, culture Francophone literature, culture postcolonial studies, globalization, Latin American vanguardias, discursive appropriations of Paris in Caribbean, Latin American, and African contexts, uses and limitation of metropolitan literary, cultural theory in peripheral contexts  
Carol Klee
Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies
205C Folwell Hall
612-625-9521
klee@umn.edu
Spanish language contact, sociolinguistics, content-based language instruction  
Raúl Marrero-Fente
Professor
on leave 2021-2022
203F Folwell Hall
612-626-8029
rmarrero@umn.edu
Trans-Atlantic studies, colonial Latin American literature and culture, early modern Spanish literature and culture, colonial and post-colonial studies, global studies, feminist and gender studies, critical race studies, human rights, law and literature
 

 

Mandy Menke
Associate Professor
Director of Language Programs
on leave spring 2022
214K Folwell Hall
612-626-6889
menkem@umn.edu
Spanish second language acquisition, second language phonology, language immersion education, second language teaching
 

Francisco Ocampo
Associate Professor
on leave spring 2022

203C Folwell Hall
612-625-5822
focampo@umn.edu
Language and ideology, language variation, relationship between syntax, cognition and discourse, word order in spoken Spanish  
Eva Palma
Temporary Assistant Professor
217 Folwell Hall
palma045@umn.edu
   
Luis Ramos-Garcia
Associate Professor
211 Folwell Hall
612-625-3039
laramosg@umn.edu
Human rights and politics: Latin America and Spain; human rights across the disciplines: theater, art, political science and literature; United States Latino theater and cultures; contemporary Latin American and peninsular theaters; Latin American shantytown cultural manifestations: music, literature and popular discourse; Latin American popular music; cultural studies: Spain and Latin America; contemporary Latin American and peninsular literature: novel, poetry, cultural discourses; Andean studies and Indigenous literature: concentration in Peru, Colombia, Ecuador and Bolivia; gender and women studies; Caribbean Spanish studies: Cuba, Puerto Rico, Dominican Republic
 
 
 
 
William Viestenz
Associate Professor
Department Chair
214L Folwell Hall
wviesten@umn.edu
Contemporary Iberian literature and culture, post-secularism and the sacred, film studies, philosophy of history, Catalan studies  

Academic Staff

Name Contact  
Stephanie Anderson
Senior Teaching Specialist
Remote Instruction Coordinator
207B Folwell Hall
612-625-0823
ande2901@umn.edu
 
Michael Arnold
Lecturer
Supervisor, SPAN 3015/3011
214D Folwell Hall
612-624-5529
arno0055@umn.edu
 
Kristin Beamish-Brown
Senior Teaching Specialist
204A Folwell Hall
612-625-6367
beam0018@umn.edu
 
Cecily Brown
Senior Lecturer
Coordinator, SPAN 1001 and 1002
214C Folwell Hall
612-625-3391
brown016@umn.edu
 
Cristina Castro
Senior Teaching Specialist
205A Folwell Hall
612-625-4317
cast0139@umn.edu
 
Pablo Chavana
Lecturer
214C Folwell Hall
612-625-3391
garza006@umn.edu
 
Joy Collman
Senior Teaching Specialist
207B Folwell Hall
612-625-0823
jcollman@umn.edu
 
Anna Cox                 
Lecturer
205A Folwell Hall 
coxa@umn.edu
 
Dora Dias
Teaching Specialist
204A Folwell Hall
612-625-6367
diasx006@umn.edu
 
Edward Eiffler
Senior Teaching Specialist
207 Folwell Hall
612-624-5529
eiffl002@umn.edu
 
Guiomar Fages         
Lecturer
203A Folwell Hall        gfages@umn.edu  
Sara Finney
Lecturer
Supervisor, SPAN 1003
214B Folwell Hall
612-626-8713
sfinney@umn.edu
 
Marisol Galicia Estevez
Senior Teaching Specialist
206A Folwell
gali0025@umn.edu
 
Kathleen Ganley
Senior Teaching Specialist
214D Folwell Hall
612-625-2459
ganle001@umn.edu
 
Anne Hoffman-Gonzalez
Senior Lecturer
Coordinator, SPAN 3107W
204A Folwell Hall
612-625-6367
hoffm826@umn.edu
.

 

Stewart James-Lejárcegui
Lecturer
304A Folwell Hall  sjames@umn.edu  
Elizabeth Lake
Senior Teaching Specialist
 
205A Folwell Hall
612-625-2840
lake0030@umn.edu
 
Julia Lujan             
Supervisor, SPAN 1022
214A Folwell Hall  lujan027@umn.edu  
Sara Mack
Senior Lecturer
Supervisor, SPAN 1004
214B Folwell Hall
612-626-8713
mack@umn.edu
 
Elsa Maxwell
Lecturer
206A Folwell Hall
maxw0034@umn.edu
 
Erma Nezirevic
Lecturer
Interim Director of Language Programs and
Coordinator, SPAN 3105W
304A Folwell Hall
nezir001@umn.edu
 
Alicia Ocampo
Senior Lecturer
204A Folwell Hall
612-625-6367
ocamp001@umn.edu
 
Begoña Orive-Abad
Senior Teaching Specialist
206A Folwell Hall
612-626-1371
orive001@umn.edu
 
Mary Pogatshnik
Senior Teaching Specialist
203A Folwell Hall
612-626-7436
poga0002@umn.edu
 
Kaylee Rasmussen
Teaching Specialist
207B Folwell Hall
rasmu528@umn.edu 
 
Adriana Sanchez-Vargas
Senior Teaching Specialist
203A Folwell Hall
612-626-7436
bradf015@umn.edu
 
Vanessa Santana
Senior Teaching Specialist
205A Folwell Hall
612-625-4317
sant0091@umn.edu
 

 

Gustavo Vargas
Lecturer
varga181@umn.edu  
Andrew Wiesinger
Senior Teaching Specialist
207 Folwell Hall
612-624-5529
wiesi001@umn.edu

 

Affiliated Faculty

Name Contact
Alejandro Baer
Associate Professor
Department of Sociology
113 Social Sciences Building
612-624-7548
abaer@umn.edu
Martha Bigelow
Professor
Department of Curriculum & Instruction (CEHD)
125 Peik Hall
612-624-787
mbigelow@umn.edu
Sarah Chambers
Professor
Department of History
1218 Heller Hall
612-625-6376
chambers@umn.edu
Barbara Frey
Senior Lecturer
Institute for Global Studies
214 Social Sciences Building
612-624-9007
freyx001@umn.edu
Amy Kaminsky
Professor Emerita
Department of Gender, Women & Sexuality Studies
kamin001@umn.edu
Kendall King
Professor
Department of Curriculum & Instruction (CEHD)
125 Peik Hall
612-625-3692
kendall@umn.edu
Patrick McNamara
Associate Professor
Department of History
1212 Heller Hall
612-624-6531
pjm@umn.edu
Elaine Tarone
Director
Center for Advanced Research on Language Acquisition (CARLA)
140 University International Center
612-625-8882
etarone@umn.edu

Faculty Emeriti

Name Contact Specialty  
Joanna O'Connell
Professor Emerita
oconn001@umn.edu Latin-American literature and culture, issues of colonialism, race, and nationalism, women's writing, feminism and feminist theory, Mexico, indigenous revitalization movements and writing, the Caribbean, African and Caribbean writing in French and English  
Antonio Ramos-Gascon
Professor Emeritus
ramos006@umn.edu    
Constance Sullivan
Professor Emerita
sulli002@umn.edu    
Barbara Weissberger
Professor Emerita
weiss046@umn.edu Ethnicity, gender, Isabella the Catholic, Spanish literature, Spanish romance  
Nicholas Spadaccini
Professor Emeritus
spada001@umn.edu Comparative literature, colonial Spanish-American literature, Cervantes' novel and theater, early modern Spanish literature and culture, postcolonial theory, sociohistorical approaches  
Anthony Zahareas
Professor Emeritus
zahar001@umn.edu