You are here

Faculty

The School of Statistics has an internationally distinguished faculty, including many elected fellows of the major statistical organizations such as the American Statistical Association, the Institute of Mathematical Statistics, and the International Statistical Institute. Also, many of our faculty members are or have been editors or associate editors of major journals. Additionally, several have been nominated for, or are the recipients of, awards for excellence in teaching.

Name Contact Specialty
Sara Algeri
Assistant Professor
362 Ford Hall
612-625-4005 
salgeri@umn.edu
Statistical inference, computational statistics, astrostatistics
Snigdhansu Chatterjee
Professor
Director of the Institute on Research in Statistics
355 Ford Hall
612-625-6505
chatt019@umn.edu
Nonparametric and semi-parametric curve estimation, generalized linear mixed models
R. Dennis Cook
Professor
313A Ford Hall
612-625-7732
rdcook@umn.edu
Dimension reduction, graphical methods, linear and nonlinear models, regression diagnostics, experimental design
 
Jie Ding
Assistant Professor
366 Ford Hall
dingj@umn.edu
Time series, model selection, inference methodology, applications in audio/video processing and finance
Charles Doss
Assistant Professor
389 Ford Hall
612-625-5819
cdoss@umn.edu
Nonparametric estimation and interface
Charles Geyer
Professor
356 Ford Hall
612-625-8511
geyer@umn.edu
Constrained maximum likelihood, Markov chain Monte Carlo, Monte Carlo likelihood, spatial statistics
Birgit Grund
Associate Professor
381 Ford Hall
612-624-8076
birgit@umn.edu
Design and analysis of clinical trials, AIDS research, nonparametric curve estimation, smoothing methods
Nathaniel Helwig
Assistant Professor
375 Ford Hall
612-625-7515
helwig@umn.edu
Computational statistics, smoothing splines, multimode/tensor analysis, nonparametric methods, neuroimaging, psychometrics
Tiefeng Jiang
Professor
365 Ford Hall
612-624-3850
jiang040@umn.edu
Random matrcies, random graphs, probability, symmetric polynomials, high-dimensional statisitcs, connections to physics and computer science
Galin Jones
Professor
Director of the School of Statistics
347 Ford Hall
612-624-8862
galin@umn.edu
Markov chain Monte Carlo methodology, decison theory, biological and environmental applications
Xiaoou Li
Assistant Professor
347 Ford Hall
612-625-8046
lixx1766@umn.edu
Sequential analysis and adaptive design, latent variable models, graphical models, psychometrics
Lan Liu
Assistant Professor
368 Ford Hall
612-625-6636
liux3771@umn.edu
Causal inference, missing data analysis, clinical trials, doubly robust inference, Bayesian analysis, surrogate outcomes, measurement error, mediation analysis, social network, personalized medicine, unmeasured confounder, statistical consulting
Glen Meeden
Professor
397 Ford Hall
612-625-8321
gmeeden@umn.edu
Bayesian inference, finite population sampling, decision theory
Gary W. Oehlert
Professor
313B Ford Hall
612-625-1557
gary@umn.edu
Statistical computing, environmental statistics, design of experiments
Adam Rothman
Associate Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies
367 Ford Hall
612-626-0356
arothman@umn.edu
Multivariate statistical analysis in high-dimensional
settings; optimization and statistical computing in high-dimensional
settings
Xiaotong Shen
Professor
384 Ford Hall
612-624-7098
xshen@umn.edu
Statistical learning and data mining, statistical applications in engineering and health science, nonparametric and semiparametric modeling
Kean Ming Tan
Assistant Professor
357 Ford Hall
612-624-7098
ktan@umn.edu
Statistical learning and data mining, graphical models, clustering, latent variables, generalized eigenvalue problem
Lan Wang
Professor
385 Ford Hall
612-625-7843
wangx346@umn.edu
Nonparametric and semiparametric statistics with focus on high-dimensional data analysis, variable selection, quantile regression, estimating equations, censored data, model diagnostics and their applications
Yuhong Yang
Professor
Director of Graduate Studies
376 Ford Hall
612-626-8337
yangx374@umn.edu
Model selection and model combining, high-dimensional data analysis, multi-armed bandits with covariates, forcast combinations, statistics in personalized medicine
Hui Zou
Professor
362 Ford Hall
612-625-4005
zouxx019@umn.edu
Statistical methodology and theory

Teaching Specialists

Name Contact
Georgia Huang
Lecturer
453 Ford Hall
huan1108@umn.edu
Barbara Kuzmak
Lecturer
487 Ford Hall
612-625-4897
bkuzmak@umn.edu
Yuyoung Park
Lecturer
487 Ford Hall
612-625-4897
parky@umn.edu
Meng-Hsuan Wu (Tony)
Lecturer
475 Ford Hall
612-625-2493
wuxxx725@umn.edu

Visiting Faculty

Name Contact
Nouman Qureshi
Research Scholar
313 Ford Hall
nqureshi633@gmail.com

Emeriti

Name Contact
Christopher Bingham
Professor Emeritus
kb@umn.edu
Morris L. Eaton
Professor Emeritus
392 Ford Hall
612-625-7515
eaton@stat.umn.edu
Douglas M. Hawkins
Professor
dhawkins@umn.edu
Kinley Larntz
Professor Emeritus
kinley@stat.umn.edu
Frank Martin
Associate Professor
fbm.emrt@stat.umn.edu
William Sudderth
Professor
392 Ford Hall
612-625-2801
sudde001@umn.edu
Sanford Weisberg
Professor
362 Ford Hall
612-625-8355
sandy@umn.edu