You are here

Ann Hill Duin Awarded ICW Grant

"Exploring the Future of Embodied Technologies"
June 21, 2017

Congratulation to Ann Hill Duin on her ICW mini grant award for "Exploring the Future of Embodied Technologies."  Duin is joined on the grant by Diane Willow, Lucy Dunne, Brad Holschuh, Aaron Doering, Maki Isaka, and Julianna Abel. 

The ICW program is intended to spur new collaborations among scholars in CLA and beyond. Mini grants offer up to $10,000 to one-year interdisciplinary projects that bring together faculty, staff, postdoctoral researchers, and graduate students from a variety of fields to intensively study topics that span across disciplines.

ICWs are funded by the Joan Aldous Innovation Fund, in support of the College's Roadmap goal to generate new levels of innovative research through focused investment strategies.

Abstract: Recent development in computing has moved devices increasingly closer to our bodies; as a result, significant work with wearables and embodied technology is well underway across UMN. Funding of this mini-grant will provide for a foundational step in connecting and leveraging scholarship and artistic practice across CLA, Design, CEHD, and CSE as a means to explore the future of embodied technologies. As interdisciplinary Scholars, and together with graduate and undergraduate student scholars, we will extend existing theory and/or create new frameworks, and through emergent use cases, investigate what it means to technologize ourselves through immersive and embodied devices. Components of the proposed Interdisciplinary Collaborative Workshop will include support for bringing scholars together to experience and collaborate within multiple studio spaces; development of an ICW event to showcase those who are exploring the intersections and juxtapositions of embodied technologies: and support for research groups to complete grant proposals for further funding. In short, the primary goal of this mini-grant is to spur development of this signature interdisciplinary area of study at the University of Minnesota.