You are here

Faculty

Faculty in the Department of Writing Studies at the University of Minnesota are recognized around the world for their outstanding contributions to teaching and scholarship in rhetoric, writing, and technical communication. Our twelve tenured professors take great pride in working with students to explore areas including writing and digital media; writing in technical, medical, and workplace settings; writing in relation to history, culture, society, and politics.

Students who take classes in writing studies also benefit from the experience and knowledge of our full time professional instructors, graduate instructors, and teaching assistants. Our instructional staff are experts in the teaching of writing, especially first year composition and technical writing.

Full-Time Faculty

Name Contact Specialty Office Hours
Lee-Ann Kastman Breuch
Associate Professor
Chair
233 Nolte
612-624-1784
lkbreuch@umn.edu
Rhetoric and technical communication, writing theory and pedagogy, online writing instruction, usability and human factors  
Patrick Bruch
Associate Professor
209 Nolte
612-625-6041
patbruch@umn.edu
Theory and history of composition studies, critical literacy and critical pedagogy, cultural studies  
Daniel Card
Assistant Professor
     
Ann Hill Duin
Professor
201 Nolte
612-625-9259
ahduin@umn.edu
Collaboration, distance education, partnerships  
Richard Graff
Associate Professor
221 Nolte
612-624-4985
graff013@umn.edu
Classical rhetoric, contemporary rhetorical theory, stylistics & rhetorical criticism  
Laura Gurak
Professor
211 Nolte
612-624-3773
gurakl@umn.edu
Rhetorical theory; Internet studies; technical writing and communication; digital research methods On leave
Molly Kessler
Assistant Professor
     
Anne Lazaraton
Associate Professor
Director, Writing for International Students (WINS)
200 Nolte
612-626-9372
lazaratn@umn.edu
Applied linguistics On leave
John Logie
Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Studies
(MA & PhD)
206 Nolte
612-624-4709
logie@umn.edu
Rhetorical theory, rhetoric of electronic writing spaces, sophistic rhetoric  
Thomas Reynolds
Associate Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies
207 Nolte
612-626-0065
reyno004@umn.edu
Composition Studies, Literacy History  
Donald Ross
Professor
Director of First-Year Writing
223 Nolte
612-625-5585
rossj001@umn.edu
Travel writing; rhetoric of argument; computers in writing instruction; writing in academic disciplines  
Mary Schuster
Professor
225 Nolte
612-624-2262
mmlay@umn.edu
Rhetoric of the law; feminist perspectives on domestic violence and sexual assault
2013-14 Arthur "Red" Motley Exemplary Teaching Award
On leave

Affiliate Faculty

Affiliate faculty have their homes in other departments, but hold appointments in our graduate Rhetoric & Scientific and Technical Communication (RSTC) programs.

Name Contact Specialty
Lisa Albrecht
Associate Professor
School of Social Work
193 Peters Hall
612-624-3669
lalbrech@umn.edu
Feminist, multicultural and social justice education
Robert L. Brown, Jr.
Associate Professor
Cultural Studies and Comparative Literature
206 Nicholson Hall
612-624-8878
brown004@umn.edu
Cultural studies of science and technology, rhetoric, literacy and critical pedagogy
Karlyn K. Campbell
Professor
Communication Studies
225A Ford Hall
612-624-9003
campb003@umn.edu
Rhetorical criticism, rhetorical theory, political communication
Shirley N. Garner
Professor
English
330B Lind Hall
612-625-1826
sngarner@umn.edu
Renaissance literature, Shakespeare, feminist studies in literature
Ronald W. Greene
Professor
Communication Studies
225 Ford Hall
612-624-2808
green179@umn.edu
Political communication, debates, civic education
Joseph A. Konstan
Professor
Computer Science and Engineering
5-207 Keller Hall
612-625-1831
konstan@umn.edu
Human-computer interaction, recommender systems, online community
Amy Lee
Professor
Postsecondary Teaching and Learning
206E Burton Hall
612-625-0884
amylee@umn.edu
Teaching writing, intersections of feminist, process, and critical pedagogies in composition classrooms
Cynthia Lewis
Professor
Curriculum and Instruction
336 Peik Hall
612-625-6313
lewis@umn.edu
Critical literacy and digital media in urban high schools, classroom discourse
Daniel J. Philippon
Associate Professor
English
21 Lind Hall
612-624-4209
danp@umn.edu
Environmental literature, history, and ethics; ideas of nature, culture, and place; human dimensions of conservation biology
Geoffrey Sirc
Professor
English
210J Lind Hall
612-625-0134
sirc@umn.edu
History, practice & theory of writing instruction; new media; hip hop; popular culture

Emeriti Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Andrew Cohen
Professor Emeritus
adcohen@umn.edu Bilingual and immersion education
Earl McDowell
Professor Emeritus
mcdow001@umn.edu Technical communication apprehension
Tom Scanlan
Professor Emeritus
scanl001@umn.edu Humanities
Billie Wahlstrom
Professor Emerita
billie@umn.edu New and emerging technologies and their impact on learning and higher education organizations

Teaching Staff

Name Contact Specialty Office Hours
Maureen Aitken
Senior Teaching Specialist
307 Nolte
612-624-8777
aitke001@umn.edu
First-year writing  
Mark Anderson
Senior Teaching Specialist
309 Nolte
612-625-0757
ander574@umn.edu
First-year writing  
Nathaniel Bennett
Lecturer
325 Nolte
benn0062@umn.edu
First-year writing  
James Countryman
Senior Lecturer
319 Nolte
612-624-3361
countryj@umn.edu
First-year writing  
Patty Fillipi
Senior Teaching Specialist
311 Nolte
612-625-0164
filli002@umn.edu
First-year writing, President's Emerging Scholars program  
Anne Fretheim
Coordinator, Writing for International Students (WINS)
337C Nolte 
612-301-1317
fret0017@umn.edu
Multilingual learners  
Brandi Fuglsby
Teaching Specialist
210 Nolte
612-624-1281
fugls005@umn.edu
Technical writing  
Tim Gustafson
Senior Lecturer
337B Nolte
612-625-8671
tgus@umn.edu
First-year writing, technical & professional writing  
Joseph Holt
Teaching Specialist
Online
holt0415@umn.edu
Technical writing, editorial theory  
Sheryl Holt
First-Year Writing Coordinator
(International Speaker Sections)
321 Nolte
612-624-4524
holtx001@umn.edu
Second language writing, graduate writing and presentations across disciplines, technical and business writing  
Barbara Horvath
Teaching Specialist
Assistant Director of Undergraduate Studies
202 Nolte
612-624-1902
horva003@umn.edu
Technical editing, visual communication  
Kirsten Jamsen
Director, Center for Writing
10 Nicholson
612-625-5355
kjamsen@umn.edu
Writing across the curriculum, composition pedagogy, technology in writing centers and classrooms  
Matthew Kimlinger
Teaching Specialist
306 Nolte
612-625-4710
kimli013@umn.edu
First-year writing  
Megan Mills-Rittmann
Lecturer
337A Nolte
612-625-6337
mills139@umn.edu
First-year writing  
Nicole Montana
Associate Director of First-Year Writing
208 Nolte Center
612-625-0731
nmontana@umn.edu
First-year writing  
Joseph Moses
Senior Lecturer
313 Nolte
612-624-2199
moses004@umn.edu
Technical, professional, academic communication and project management  
Brigitte Mussack
Lecturer
304 Nolte Center

muss0039@umn.edu

First-year writing  
Capper Nichols
Senior Lecturer
137A Ruttan
612-624-5345
nicho008@umn.edu
Technology studies, environmental history, travel writing  
Laura Pigozzi
Lecturer
Director of Graduate Studies
(MS & Certificate)
204 Nolte Center
612-626-4469
pigoz002@umn.edu
Professional writing, rhetoric of health and medicine, intercultural communication, bioethics  
Sarah Selz
Lecturer
323 Nolte
612-624-7991
selzx003@umn.edu
First-year writing, multilingual writing, student writing support On leave
Kimberley Strain
Senior Lecturer
317 Nolte
strai004@umn.edu
First-year writing, professional and technical writing, graduate writing, student writing support, multilingual writing  
Lee Thomas
Teaching Specialist
3-372 CarlSMgmt
612-626-6880
thom1221@umn.edu
Scientific and technical communication, information design  
Angelo Volpe
Senior Lecturer
310 Nolte
612-624-4394
volp0006@umn.edu
Argumentative writing, first-year writing  
William West
Lecturer
213 Nolte
612-624-9729
westx005@umn.edu
Technical writing, medical writing

Graduate Instructors

Name Contact Specialty Office Hours
Amanda Alexander 24 Lind Hall
alex0203@umn.edu
English  
Christine Bachman-Sanders 331C Nolte
612-625-1398
bachm087@umn.edu
American Studies  
Bridget Bergin 24 Lind Hall
bergi045@umn.edu
English  
Nathan Bollig 302 Nolte
612-625-4495
bolli046@umn.edu
Writing Studies  
Christopher Bowman 24-25 Lind Hall
bowma325@umn.edu
English
 
Mark Brenden 335 Nolte
612-624-3831
brend053@umn.edu
Writing Studies  
Rebecca Brill Lind Hall
brill068@umn.edu
English  
Kari Campeau 316 Nolte
612-624-1428
campeau@umn.edu
Writing Studies  
Alexander Champoux 301 Nolte
612-625-2338
champ147@umn.edu
Writing Studies  
Moinak Choudury Lind Hall
choud079@umn.edu
English  
Nicole Ciulla 331E Nolte
612-625-2666
ciull002@umn.edu
Writing Studies  
Katlynne Davis 300 Nolte
612-626-2248
davi2936@umn.edu
Writing Studies  
Jennifer Doane 331C Nolte
612-625-1398
doan0044@umn.edu
American Studies  
Jennifer Easler Lind Hall
easle038@umn.edu
English  
Ryan Eichberger 338A Nolte
612-62
eichb003@umn.edu
Writing Studies  
Stephen Ellis Lind Hall
ellis754@umn.edu
English  
Curtis Fincher Lind Hall
finch083@umn.edu
English  
Brandi Fuglsby 335 Nolte
612-626-5343
fugls005@umn.edu
Writing Studies  
Darcy Gabriel 338B Nolte 
612-625-3502
gabri160@umn.edu
Writing Studies  
McKinley Green 338B Nolte 
612-625-3502
gree1968@umn.edu
Writing Studies  
Elizabeth Howard 26 Lind Hall
howar571@umn.edu
English  
Jacqueline James 335 Nolte
612-624-3831
james806@umn.edu
Writing Studies  
Ember Johnson Lind Hall
joh10912@umn.edu
English  
Daniel Kossow Lind Hall
kosso024@umn.edu
English  
Juliette Lapyrouse-Cherry 300 Nolte
612-626-2248
lapey002@umn.edu
Writing Studies  
Michelle Lee 331C Nolte
612-625-1398
leex8041@umn.edu
American Studies  
May Lee-Yang Lind Hall
leex0765@umn.edu
English  
Mariela Lemus Lind Hall
lemus006@umn.edu
English  
Charlotte Madere 26 Lind Hall
mader043@umn.edu
English  
Evelyn Meisenbacher 331E Nolte
612-625-2666
meise014@umn.edu
Writing Studies  
Amanda Minoff Lind Hall
minof001@umn.edu
English  
Eddie Nevarez 301 Nolte
612-625-2338
nevar025@umn.edu
Writing Studies  
Jacqueline Patz 24 Lind Hall
patzx012@umn.edu
English  
Dylan Reynolds Lind Hall
patzx012@umn.edu
English  
Zoe Rodine 26 Lind Hall
rodin012@umn.edu
English  
David Rodriguez-Martinez 24 Lind Hall
rodri966@umn.edu
English  
Jeremy Rosselot-Merritt 338A Nolte
612-62
rosse070@umn.edu
Writing Studies  
Laura Rothgeb Lind Hall
rothg004@umn.edu
English  
Kathryn Savage Lind Hall
holm0687@umn.edu
English  
Brett Sigurdson 26 Lind Hall
sigur039@umn.edu
English  
Greg Smith Lind Hall
smit9223@umn.edu
English  
Aleisha Smith Lind Hall
smit8429@umn.edu
English  
Danielle Stambler 316 Nolte
612-624-1428
stambler@umn.edu
Writing Studies  
Jason Tham 302 Nolte
612-625-4495
thamx007@umn.edu
Writing Studies  
Saveena Veeramoothoo 331E Nolte
612-625-2666
veera019@umn.edu
Writing Studies  
Andrea Waldrep 24 Lind Hall
waldr097@umn.edu
English  
Ryan Wold 338B Nolte 
612-625-3502
woldx183@umn.edu
Writing Studies  
Jessa Wood 335 Nolte
612-626-5343
wood1314@umn.edu
Writing Studies  
Allie Zimmerman 26 Lind Hall
zimme911@umn.edu
English