University of Minnesota
College of Liberal Arts

College of Liberal Arts Home.

GOF/DANS Professorship

The Government of Finland/David and Nancy Speer Visiting Professorship was created in 1989 to stimulate interest in Finland; to raise awareness of unique and important Finnish contributions in cultural, political, and social spheres; and to establish new networks between scholars in Finland and the United States. GOF/DANS professors work at the University of Minnesota from one to three years and have represented many fields of research across the arts, humanities and social sciences.

Current GOF/DANS Professor

Matti Jutila

Portrait: Matti Jutila

Political Science

Dr. Jutila’s main unifying theme of his research has been nationalism; how it affects contemporary world politics and the construction of political communities. His doctoral research investigated how transnational governance of the rights of national minorities has challenged nationalism externally by circumscribing the sovereignty of nation-states, and internally by challenging the idea of national homogeneity as the foundation of political communities. He has also analyzed securitization and desecuritization of national majority-minority relations, focusing especially on the role of historical narratives and myths in these processes. He serves also as the editor-in-chief of Kosmopolis: Finnish Journal of Peace Research and World Politics (quarterly refereed journal publishing articles in Finnish and Swedish).

Apply to GOF/DANS

The College of Liberal Arts at the University of Minnesota is not currently accepting applications for the GOF/DANS professorship.


There are currently no scheduled events.

Bookmark and Share
College of Liberal Arts

Previous Visiting Professors

2009-13: Erkki Huovinen
2009-11: Minna Rainio
Mika Aaltola
Jukka Savolainen
2004-05: Juha Suoranta
2003-05: Pauliina Raento
Spring 2000: Leena Ahtola-Moorhouse
Spring 1999: Marjatta Hietala
Winter 1999: Eero Tarasti
Fall 1998: Hannu Nurmi
Spring 1998: A. William Hoglund
Winter 1998: J. P. Roos
Winter 1998: Max Engman
Fall 1996: Risto Alapuro
Winter 1996: Clas Zilliacus
Fall 1994: Kaarle Nordenstreng
Spring 1994: Elina Haavio-Mannila
Fall 1992: Raimo Väyrynen
Fall 1992: Aulis Aarnio
Spring 1992: Pertti Pesonen

Related Links

Finnish Language
Finns in Minn
Virtual Finland