You are here

Faculty

Regular Faculty

Name Contact Specialty Office Hours
Patricia Ahearne-Kroll
Assistant Professor
262 Nicholson Hall
612-301-1300
pahearne@umn.edu
Judaism in Egypt during Ptolemaic and early Roman periods, Jewish-Greek literature, religious practice in Ptolemaic Egypt Wed. 11:00am-1:00pm
Stephen Ahearne-Kroll
Associate Professor
Sundet Family Chair in New Testament and Christian Studies
146E Nicholson Hall
612-301-1480
sahearne@umn.edu
Historical and critical study of the New Testament in relation to the religious culture of the ancient Mediterranean world                                                                             Wed., Fri. 10:00am-11:00pm
Spencer Cole
Associate Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies
146F Nicholson Hall
612-625-5540
secole@umn.edu
Latin prose and Roman culture Tues., Thurs. 1:00pm-2:00pm and by appointment
Andrew Gallia
Associate Professor
1041 Heller Hall
612-626-4268
abgallia@umn.edu
Roman history, Latin literature, Greek history, Roman archaeology and topography Tues. 1:00pm-3:00pm
Nita Krevans
Associate Professor
Department Chair
245 Nicholson Hall
612-625-3422
nkrevans@umn.edu
Greek and Latin poetry, Hellenistic Greek literature Mon. 1:30pm-2:15pm, Wed. 2:00pm-2:45pm and by appointment
Bernard M. Levinson
Professor
Berman Family Chair in Jewish Studies and Hebrew Bible
258 Nicholson Hall
612-625-4323
levinson@umn.edu
Hebrew Bible and ancient Near Eastern studies; Biblical law Wed. 1:30pm-3:00pm
Hanne Loeland Levinson
Assistant Professor
150E Nicholson Hall
612-624-8341
loela001@umn.edu
Hebrew Bible, gender studies, metaphor theory, and biblical narratives Wed. 1:00pm-2:00pm and by appointment
Christopher Nappa
Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Studies
252 Nicholson Hall
cnappa@umn.edu
612-624-6339
Latin literature, gender and sexuality in Antiquity By appointment
S. Douglas Olson
Professor
146D Nicholson Hall
612-625-0513
sdolson@umn.edu
Greek poetry of the archaic and classical periods  
Melissa Harl Sellew
Associate Professor
260 Nicholson Hall
612-625-2026
sellew@umn.edu
Early Christian studies, gospel literature, Coptic  
George A. Sheets
Associate Professor
254 Nicholson Hall
612-625-3326
gasheets@umn.edu
Historical linguistics, Latin literature, legal history  
Eva von Dassow
Associate Professor
150D Nicholson Hall
612-626-4787
vonda001@umn.edu
Ancient Near Eastern Studies, Akkadian and Ugaritic  

Affiliate Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Matthew Canepa
Professor
Art History
421 Heller Hall
612-625-8336
mpcanepa@umn.edu
Art and archaeology of the ancient Mediterranean, Persia and the Iranian world
Richard Graff
Associate Professor
Writing Studies
221 Nolte Center
612-624-4985
graff013@umn.edu
Classical rhetoric, contemporary rhetorical theory
Sandra L. Peterson
Professor
Philosophy
719 Heller Hall
612-625-6058
peter009@umn.edu
Ancient philosophy
Theofanis Stavrou
Professor
History
1224 Heller Hall
612-624-5734
stavr001@umn.edu
Modern Greek studies
Peter S. Wells
Professor
Anthropology
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
612-624-6845
wells001@umn.edu
European prehistoric and Roman period archaeology

Lecturers

Name Contact Specialty Office Hours
Mark Gustafson
Lecturer
266 Nicholson Hall
612-625-5030
gust0038@umn.edu
Late antiquity, Roman Imperial history Tues., Thurs. 12:00pm-1:00pm
Renana S. Schneller
Hebrew Language Coordinator 
Senior Lecturer
150A Nicholson Hall
612-625-5353
schne068@umn.edu
Modern Hebrew language and literature, Biblical Hebrew, Arabic Mon., Wed. 1:00pm-2:00pm and by appointment
Stephen C. Smith
Latin and Greek Language Coordinator
Senior Lecturer
256 Nicholson Hall
612-625-0751
smith504@umn.edu
Augustan Latin literature, Latin and Greek pedagogy Wed 11:15am-12:15pm, F 1:30-2:30 and by appointment

Emeriti Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Elizabeth S. Belfiore
Professor Emerita
esb@umn.edu Ancient philosophy, Greek tragedy, Greek literature
Thomas S. Clayton
Regents' Professor Emeritus
English
tsc@umn.edu Drama and theater, Shakespeare, classical tradition
John K. Evans
Professor Emeritus
History
evans002@umn.edu  Roman history
Oliver Nicholson
Professor Emeritus
opn@umn.edu Late antiquity, patristics, later Latin
Jonathan Paradise
Professor Emeritus
jparadis@umn.edu Hebrew Bible, cuneiform
Calvin J. Roetzel
Professor Emeritus
roetz002@umn.edu Pauline theology

Fellows

Name Contact Specialty
Maria Nilsson
Marie Curie Humanities Fellow
245 Nicholson Hall
612-624-2506
nilss045@umn.edu
Egyptian archaeology, Roman epigraphy, non-textual marking systems, ancient graffiti, Gebel el Silsila Project