CLA Dean Confers Teaching and Advocacy Awards

Career Readiness Teaching Award recognizes faculty, Career Readiness Advocate Award recognizes staff
Photos of Caprice Niccoli and Evan Roberts
Caprice Niccoli and Evan Roberts, 2021 CLA Career Readiness Teaching Award recipients

The College of Liberal Arts (CLA) at the University of Minnesota–Twin Cities has announced the winners of two prize awards for outstanding contributions to CLA undergraduates’ career readiness. The awards are conferred by the Dean of the college, with faculty and staff recipients honored during a college-wide event.

Career Readiness Teaching Award

Two CLA faculty members are recipients of the 2020-21 Career Readiness Teaching Award: Caprice Niccoli, assistant professor in the Department of Psychology, and Evan Roberts, assistant professor in the Department of Sociology.

This award, in the amount of $2,500 distributed as professional development funds, recognizes an instructor who has demonstrated leadership in the Career Readiness initiative to deepen students’ capacity to reflect on their growth across the breadth and depth of their undergraduate experience and to enable students to articulate the value of a liberal arts education.

Past award recipents:

Sara Mack, Ph.D., senior lecturer and coordinator of Spanish 1004 in CLA's Department of Spanish and Portuguese

Carolyn Liebler, associate professor in the Department of Sociology
Maggie Begeron, lecturer in the Department of Theatre and Dance
Paul Soper, senior lecturer and internship director in the Department of Political Science

Career Readiness Advocate Award

Ivan Bialostosky, departmental advisor in CLA's Department of Geography, Environment and Society, received the 2020-21 Career Readiness Advocate Award.

The award recognizes CLA staff who find new ways to incorporate Career Readiness language and thinking into the daily work of the college, in service of helping students understand and articulate the value of their liberal arts education. The award includes $1,200 distributed as professional development funds to the department.

Past award recipents:

Annie Bigley, departmental advisor in CLA's Department of Economics
Tiffany Murphy, adepartmental advisor in CLA's Department of Economics

Lisa Clark, CLA academic advisor and departmental advisor for the Department of Communication Studies

Share on: