You are here

Faculty

Our faculty are dedicated to the creation and transmission of knowledge about politics and political science. The department promotes original research, creative teaching, and public service in and outside the discipline of political science. 

We value distinguished disciplinary and interdisciplinary research, teaching, advising, publicly engaged scholarship, and civic education that disseminate knowledge and skills about politics and political science to widely diverse audiences.

The Department of Political Science draws upon visiting lecturers, scholars, and professors who bring their expertise in many areas of study. Graduate students come from all over the world and occupy a unique position as both students and graduate assistants/instructors who bring their diverse research interests to their teaching. Staff members with many years of experience provide professional support to faculty and students and offer unique research and internship opportunities. Together faculty, graduate students, and staff are dedicated to providing students with the support they need to learn and excel in today’s political world.

Core Faculty

Name Email Office Phone Office Hours Specialties
Scott Abernathy abernath@umn.edu SocSci 1246a 612-624-3308 Tuesdays 10:30 a.m.–12:00 p.m. Education policy & methods, education reform, bureaucracy 
Mark Bell msbell@umn.edu SocSci 1378 612-626-2889 Tuesdays 1:003:00 p.m. International security, nuclear weapons, US foreign policy
Teri Caraway caraway@umn.edu SocSci 1311 612-624-3839 Wednesdays 5:006:00 p.m. & by appointment Comparative political economy of labor, Southeast Asian politics, gender & comparative politics
John Coleman coleman@umn.edu 215 Johnston Hall 612-624-2871   Political parties, campaign finance, elections
Kathleen Collins colli433@umn.edu SocSci 1331 612-626-1672 Mondays & Wednesdays 11:0011:30 a.m. & by appointment Islam & politics, soviet & post-soviet political development, Central Asia & the Caucus
Cosette Creamer ccreamer@umn.edu SocSci 1468 612-626-0213 Wednesdays 1:303:30 p.m. International law & institutions, empirical legal studies, international trade, human rights
Raymond Duvall rduvall@umn.edu SocSci 1341 612-624-7513   Critical political economy, international relations & security studies
Christopher Federico federico@umn.edu SocSci 1478 612-624-5847   Political Psychology, race & politics, quantitative methods
John Freeman freeman@umn.edu SocSci 1246B 612-624-6018   Political economy, international relations, methodology
Paul Goren
Department Chair
pgoren@umn.edu SocSci 1414A 612-624-1393 Tuesdays 23:30 p.m. Political psychology, voting behavior, public opinion
Lisa Hilbink
Co-Director of Undergraduate Studies
hilbink@umn.edu SocSci 1337 612-626-0160   Comparative judicial politics & constitutionalism, Latin American & Iberian politics
James Hollyer jhollyer@umn.edu SocSci 1380 612-624-0300 Mondays 3:305:30 p.m. Patronage, corruption, transparency
Timothy R. Johnson
Associate Chair
trj@umn.edu SocSci 1433 612-625-2907   Supreme Court oral arguments & decision making, Executive/Judiciary relations
Andrew Karch ajkarch@umn.edu SocSci 1211 612-624-2537   Determinants of public policy choices in American politics, federalism & state politics
Daniel Kelliher kelliher@umn.edu SocSci 1427 612-624-1671 Thursdays 2:303:45 p.m. Rural China & peasant politics, politics of the family & sex
Ronald Krebs rkrebs@umn.edu SocSci 1233 612-624-4356   International relations theory, causes & consequences of war, international security, armed forces & society
Howard Lavine lavine@umn.edu SocSci 1360 612-624-1389 Mondays 1:303:30 p.m. Political psychology, partisanship, personality & politics
Nancy Luxon luxon@umn.edu SocSci 1350 612-625-7982 Wednesdays 1:303:30 p.m. & by appointment Contemporary political & social theory, French political thought
Joanne Miller mille441@umn.edu SocSci 1354 612-625-8857 By appointment Political psychology, political participation, public opinion & survey research
Michael Minta mdminta@umn.edu SocSci 1337 612-626-5632 Mondays & Wednesdays 3:304:30 p.m. & by appointment Congressional politics, race and ethnic politics, interest group advocacy
C. Daniel Myers cdmyers@umn.edu SocSci 1474 612-624-4078 Mondays & Wednesdays 11:00 a.m.12:00 p.m. American politics, political psychology, political communication, experimental methods, deliberative democracy
Robert Nichols rbnichol@umn.edu SocSci 1431 612-624-2389 Tuesdays 1:303 p.m. Modern political theory, indigeneity & settler colonialism, imperialism in political thought
August Nimtz animtz@umn.edu SocSci 1327 612-624-1512 Mondays & Tuesdays 4:456:15 p.m. Marxism, political economy, politics of race, class & ethnicity, African politics
Kathryn Pearson
Director of Graduate Studies
kpearson@umn.edu SocSci 1439 612-626-2777 Tuesdays 2:304:30 p.m. US Congress, women & politics, Congressional elections
Wendy Rahn
Co-Director of Undergraduate Studies
rahnx003@umn.edu SocSci 1309 612-626-8938 By appointment Emotion in political thinking & behavior, political participation
James Ron jamesr@umn.edu 264 HHH 612-626-8910 Tuesdays 2:004:00 p.m. NGOs, international relations, human rights
David J. Samuels dsamuels@umn.edu SocSci 1446 612-624-9876 Tuesdays & Thursdays 10:0011:00 a.m. Brazilian & Latin American politics, U.S.-Latin American relations, democratization
Anoop Sarbahi sarbahi@umn.edu SocSci 1466 612-624-8576 Wednesdays & Fridays 11:00 a.m.12:00 p.m. Ethnicity, civil war, post-conflict transition, counter-insurgency
Paul Soper
Director of Programs in Political and Civic Engagement (Internship Director)
psoper@umn.edu SocSci 1480 612-626-1002 Wednesdays 9:0010:00 a.m. & by appointment American political thought, state government
Jane Sumner jlsumner@umn.edu SocSci 1472 612-626-7825 Thursdays 1:00-2:30 p.m. & by appointment Quantitative methodology, political economy, multinational corporations
Joan Tronto jctronto@umn.edu SocSci 1435 612-625-7217   The politics of care, feminist politics, theories of democracy

Affiliated Faculty & Department Members

Name Email Office Phone Office Hours
Eugene Borgida borgi001@umn.edu N387 Elliot Hall 612-625-3381  
Asli Calkivik calk0009@umn.edu SocSci 1339 612-301-1212 Wednesdays 11:10 a.m.1:10 p.m. & by appointment
Giovanna Dell'Orto dell0014@umn.edu 204 Murphy Hall 612-626-2951  
Christina Ewig cewig@umn.edu      
Catherine Guisan guis0001@umn.edu SocSci 1333 652-297-9313  
Zenzele Isoke isoke001@umn.edu 437 Ford Hall 612-626-8954  
Lawrence Jacobs ljacobs@umn.edu 137 Humphrey School 612-625-3384  
Herbert Kritzer kritzer@umn.edu 326 Mondale Hall 612-626-4035  
Kati Mohammad-Zadeh moha0030@umn.edu SocSci 1280 612-625-3533 Thursdays 2:004:00 p.m. & by appointment
Fionnuala Ni Aolain niaol002@umn.edu 334 Mondale Hall 612-624-2318  
Robin Phinney rphinney@umn.edu SocSci 1325 612-625-6103 Thursdays 10:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.
Shaul Shenhav sshenhav@umn.edu SocSci 1209 612-626-2906 Thursdays 4:305:30 p.m.
Joe Soss jbsoss@umn.edu 261 Humphrey School 612-626-9865  
David Wilkins wilkinsd@umn.edu 330 Scott Hall 612-624-1634  

Emeriti Faculty

Name Email Office Phone
William Flanigan flanigan@umn.edu SocSci 1460 612-624-4395
Edwin Fogelman fogelman@umn.edu SocSci 1460 612-624-4395
Virginia Gray   SocSci 1460 612-624-4395
Robert Holt holt@umn.edu SocSci 1460 612-624-4395
Samuel Krislov   SocSci 1460 612-624-4395
Robert Kvavik kvavik@umn.edu SocSci 1460 612-624-4395
Martin Sampson marsam@umn.edu SocSci 1460 612-624-4395
Thomas Scott scott001@umn.edu SocSci 1460 612-624-4395
W. Phillips Shively shively@umn.edu SocSci 1460 612-624-4395
Kathryn Sikkink sikkink@umn.edu SocSci 1460 612-624-4395
John Sullivan jsull@umn.edu SocSci 1460 612-624-4395

Lecturers

Name Email Office Phone Office Hours
Henriet Hendriks hend0402@umn.edu SocSci 1282 612-624-2569 Mondays 4:00-6:00 p.m.

Graduate Student Instructors

Name Email Office Office Hours
Tom Pryor pryo0005@umn.edu SocSci 733 Tuesdays & Thursdays 9:4510:45 a.m.
Brianna Smith smit7193@umn.edu SocSci 733 Mondays & Wednesdays 2:303:30 p.m.
Christopher Stone stone571@umn.edu SocSci 733 Wednesdays 10:30 a.m.12:30 p.m.
David Temin temin002@umn.edu SocSci 733  Wednesdays & Fridays 1:302:30 p.m.