Outstanding Alumni Awards

Group photo of College of Liberal Arts Outstanding Alumni Award honorees of 2017

Group photo of College of Liberal Arts Outstanding Alumni Award honorees of 2017
Front row (L to R): Erika Dani, Alissa Pier, Lynn Slifer, Karine Swensen Moe, Stephen Frantzich, Barbara Burwell, James Dehn, Margaret Chutich, Edward Cleary, Osman Ahmed / Back row (L to R): Jim Barber, Eric Lee-Mäder, Jamie Millard, Stephen Fieldman, Dale Krane, Shelley Brundage, Patience Reich, Quintard Taylor, Jr., Melville Stewart, David Doty, Chip Pearson, John Coleman (CLA's dean) / Not pictured: Patrick Bajari, James Baltazar, Elise Hernandez, Daniel Kaner, Edward Olszewski, Marion Palm. Elizabeth Sarquis, Cheryl Strayed, Ian Truitner

Alumni of Notable Achievement Award

The CLA Alumni of Notable Achievement (ANA) program was created in 1994 as part of our 125th anniversary to celebrate and honor the significant achievements and contributions of our alumni. All ANA honorees have been nominated by CLA alumni, faculty, and staff.

Of the college's 150,000 living graduates, approximately 1,200 have been selected as recipients. By honoring our alumni, we recognize and celebrate not only their singular accomplishments but also the collective depth and breadth of their interests, talents, career paths and achievements in all sectors of society.

Honorees of 2017

  • Dr. Patrick L. Bajari, (BS ‘93, economics; PhD ‘97, economics), internationally respected expert in applied microeconomics and industrial organization
  • James “Jim” C. Barber, (BA ‘84, speech communication), inventive entertainer, business leader, and community advocate
  • Dr. Shelley B. Brundage, (PhD ‘93, communication disorders), internationally esteemed scholar of communication disorders
  • Barbara E. Burwell, (BA ‘78, speech communication), consummate community volunteer and philanthropist
  • Hon. Margaret H. Chutich, (BA ‘80, history), justice of the Minnesota Supreme Court 
  • Hon. Edward J. Cleary, (BA ‘74, political science; JD ‘77), venerated Bill of Rights advocate and jurist
  • Hon. James E. Dehn, (BA ‘71, political science), innovative jurist and dedicated community volunteer
  • Hon. David S. Doty, (BA ‘51, zoology; JD ‘62), esteemed jurist and community volunteer
  • Steven D. Fieldman, (BS ‘72, speech communication), experienced legal expert, teacher, and international business leader
  • Dr. Stephen E. Frantzich, (MA ‘69, political science; PhD ‘71, political science), acclaimed scholar of American government and literacy champion
  • Elise M. Hernandez, (BIS ‘00), talented technology industry entrepreneur
  • Daniel E. Kaner, (BA ‘88, English), innovative business leader in the beauty industry
  • Dr. Dale A. Krane, (PhD ‘73, political science), venerated scholar of Federalism and public administration
  • Eric Lee-Mäder, (BA ‘00, Japanese & speech communication; MAg ‘05, agriculture), internationally renowned innovator of pollinator conservation efforts
  • Dr. Karine Swensen Moe, (MA ‘92, economics; PhD ‘95, economics), respected higher education leader and scholar of economics
  • Dr. Edward J. Olszewski, (BA ‘70; PhD ‘74, art history), internationall renowned author and art historian of the Italian Renaissance
  • Marion Palm, (BA ‘78, anthropology; MA ‘93, educational administration), gifted poet-educator, advocate for the arts, and enterprising civic volunteer
  • Chip Pearson, (BA ‘95, geography), successful technology industry entrepreneur
  • Alissa D.L. Pier, (BA ‘99, architecture; MArch ‘02, architecture), innovative architect and community advocate
  • Dr. Patience E. Reich, (BA ‘92, microbiology; MD '97), dedicated medical practitioner, humanitarian aid leader, and talented musician
  • Elizabeth Sarquis, (BA ‘86, political science), successful and socially-conscious computer gaming innovator
  • Lynn Slifer, (MFA ‘97, music), accomplished Twin Cities development leader
  • Dr. Melville Y. Stewart, (PhD ‘83, philosophy), internationally-acclaimed scholar of philosophy and religion
  • Cheryl N. Strayed, (BA ‘97, English and women's studies), best-selling memoirist, novelist, and essayist
  • Dr. Quintard Taylor, Jr., (MA ‘71, history; PhD ‘77, history), venerated scholar of African American history, African American history in the West, and global African history
  • Ian K. Truitner, (BA ‘95, theater arts), talented filmmaker and innovative media entrepreneur

Emerging Alumni Award

The CLA Emerging Alumni Award honors alumni who recently graduated from the University of Minnesota College of Liberal Arts who demonstrate leadership, creative excellence, community-mindedness, and who mirror the community at large.

Nominees must be alumni of the College of Liberal Arts, University of Minnesota Twin Cities campus who graduated within the past 10 years. They are selected each year by a committee consisting of CLA Alumni Society Board and CLA Student Board members.

Honorees of 2017

  • Osman A. Ahmed, (BA ‘12, political science & global studies), dedicated community and coalition builder
  • James A. Baltazar, (BA ‘09, political science; MURP ‘12, urban and regional planning), talented public policy innovator and public servant
  • Erika J. Dani, (BA ‘09, German & global studies), successful real estate developer and affordable housing advocate 
  • Jamie M. Millard, (BA ‘09, English), respected leader building professional, nonprofit, and cultural community in the Twin Cities and Upper Midwest
To learn more about these awards and the nomination process, contact Erica Giorgi, director of alumni relations