You are here

Graduate Students

Our department's graduate student offices are located at 428 Folwell Hall. For individual appointments, please reach out to the student by email.

PhD Program

Name Contact Specialty
Nicolas Audet audet077@umn.edu Japanese intellectual history; Video Games Theory  
Chun Wai Fong fongx097@umn.edu Japanese literature; Japanese history and Yōkai
Nusaiba Imady imady002@umn.edu Middle East & North Africa; Gender & sexuality studies; The novel; Modern Arabic Literature; Trauma Theory; Feminist Theory; Literature and philosophy
Dhrijyoti Kalita kalit008@umn.edu Postcolonial Ecocriticism and Zoocriticism; Anthropocene Studies; Political Ecologies; Empire Studies; Post-development in South Asia; Governance systems in the modern world; South Asian Literatures; Northeast Indian Literature and History
Soo Hyun Lee leex7096@umn.edu Korean and Asian cinema, comedy and comic theory; East Asian comedy films
Hui Liu liux1841@umn.edu Chinese cinema, popular culture, and comedy; documentary ethics, international cinema
Chuanhui Meng meng0112@umn.edu  
Kevin McKiernan mckie030@umn.edu Japanese Cinema and Animation; New Wave Cinema; Brazilian Cinema; Modern Japanese Art; The Global 1960s
Mari Odoy odoy0001@umn.edu Modern Arabic literature; Translation studies; Gender & sexuality studies; Post-colonial theory; Modern Syrian literature
Jiyoon Pyeon pyeon002@umn.edu East Asian and Korean film/ media/ pop culture
Sreyashi Ray rayxx356@umn.edu Postcolonial Theory and Criticism; Critical Animality Studies; Theories of Race and Indigeneity; South Asian Literatures 
Pawan Sharma sharm684@umn.edu South Asian Cinema, Popular Bollywood Films; Spatialit; Small-town spaces; Traditions of storytelling and narratives and film-making
Emily Sumner sumne036@umn.edu Yemeni prose and poetry; Modern Arabic literature; Performance theory; Teaching Arabic as a foreign language 

Master's Program

Name Contact Specialty
Hussnain Ahmed ahmed804@umn.edu South Asian Cinema; Cinema as escapism; False reality in cinema
Dana Deutmeyer deutm002@umn.edu Social Systems in China; Policing systems unique to China;  Community Policing; Community strength and its relation to safety
Matthew Eldon eldon001@umn.edu Japanese Animation
Paul Hoanglong hoang208@umn.edu Modern Korean literature of the 1930s; Korean modern wiritng
Alexandria Kopicki kopic003@umn.edu Japanese diaspora community, Zainichi Koreans
Trae Larson lars5558@umn.edu Japanese Cinema; Gender and Sexuality Studies; Japanese Theaters
Joshua Opatz opatz033@umn.edu Middle Eastern studies
Tanner Rogers roger833@umn.edu East Asian (mainly South Korean) Educational Systems and Their Social, Economic and Political Impacts