You are here

Graduate Students

Our department's graduate student offices are located at 428 Folwell Hall. For individual appointments, please reach out to the student by email.

PhD Program

Name Contact Specialty
Nicolas Audet audet077@umn.edu Japanese intellectual history; Video Games Theory  
Yan Chang chan1374@umn.edu Modern Japanese literature; Shanghai Republican-era literature; Kitsch study
Yao Chen chen3200@umn.edu  
Chun Wai Fong fongx097@umn.edu Japanese literature; Japanese history and Yōkai
Nusaiba Imady imady002@umn.edu Middle East & North Africa; Gender & sexuality studies; The novel; Modern Arabic Literature; Trauma Theory; Feminist Theory; Literature and philosophy
Dhrijyoti Kalita kalit008@umn.edu  
Soo Hyun Lee leex7096@umn.edu Korean and Asian cinema, comedy and comic theory; East Asian comedy films
Hui Liu liux1841@umn.edu Chinese cinema, popular culture, and comedy; documentary ethics, international cinema
Chuanhui Meng meng0112@umn.edu  
Kevin McKiernan mckie030@umn.edu Japanese Cinema and Animation; New Wave Cinema; Brazilian Cinema; Modern Japanese Art; The Global 1960s
Sreyashi Ray rayxx356@umn.edu Postcolonial Theory and Criticism; Critical Animality Studies; Theories of Race and Indigeneity; South Asian Literatures 
Pawan Sharma sharm684@umn.edu South Asian Cinema, Popular Bollywood Films; Spatialit; Small-town spaces; Traditions of storytelling and narratives and film-making
Emily Sumner sumne036@umn.edu Middle East and North Africa; Yemen and the Diaspora; Discourses of Emotion; Gender; Sung Poetry; Teaching Arabic as a Foreign Language

Master's Program

Name Contact Specialty
Hussnain Ahmed ahmed804@umn.edu South Asian Cinema; Cinema as escapism; False reality in cinema
Dana Deutmeyer deutm002@umn.edu Social Systems in China; Policing systems unique to China;  Community Policing; Community strength and its relation to safety
Sophia Dooly dooly004@umn.edu Chinese studies
Trae Larson lars5558@umn.edu Japanese Cinema; Gender and Sexuality Studies; Japanese Theaters
Joshua Opatz opatz033@umn.edu Middle Eastern studies
Tanner Rogers roger833@umn.edu East Asian (mainly South Korean) Educational Systems and Their Social, Economic and Political Impacts