Joe Eggers

Interim Director

Joe Eggers joined the center in 2015 as a graduate assistant and as a staff member in 2018. He currently coordinates the outreach efforts for the center, including developing connections with local communities and educators as well as overseeing the center's administrative responsibilities. Joe is a 2016 graduate of the University of Minnesota's Master of Liberal Studies program. His thesis explored discrepancies between the legal definition and the concept of genocide through an analysis of American government assimilation policies towards Indigenous people in the United States.

Tibisay Navarro-Mana

Research Assistant, and PhD Candidate (History)

Tibisay Navarro-Mana is a PhD candidate in the History Department. Originally from Spain, her research focuses on the intersections between politics of historical memory and violations of human rights during the Spanish Civil War and the Francoist regime in Spain. She is currently working as a research assistant for the Holocaust and Genocide Studies at the University of Minnesota and preparing to conduct long-term archival research in Spain.

Nikoleta Sremac

Research Assistant, and PhD Student (Sociology)

Nikoleta Sremac is a third-year Ph.D. student in the Department of Sociology. She studies gender, collective memory, social movements, genocide and mass violence. Her dissertation focuses on gendering collective memory of the 1990s wars in the former Yugoslavia. She previously worked for CHGS in Spring 2020 as a Research Assistant on the Bridges of Memory Project.

Carlo Tognato

Research Fellow

Carlo Tognato is currently Research Fellow at the Center for Holocaust and Genocide Studies at the University of Minnesota and Faculty Fellow at the Center for Cultural Sociology at Yale University. He has been Senior Policy Fellow at the Schar School of Policy and Government at George Mason University as well as Director of the Center for Social Studies and Associate Professor of Sociology at the National University of Colombia, Bogota. His research focuses on civil reconstruction, civil degradation, civil courage, and civil intervention. His latest publications include The Courage for Civil Repair: Narrating the Righteous in International Migration (with B. N. Jaworsky and J. C. Alexander, Palgrave-Macmillan, 2020), Sociedad, cultura y la esfera civil (with Nelson Arteaga-Botello, FLACSO-Mexico, 2019), The Civil Sphere in Latin America (with J. C. Alexander, Cambridge University Press, 2018), and Cultural Agents Reloaded: The Legacy of Antanas Mockus (The President and Fellows of Harvard College, 2017).

Meyer Weinshel

Postdoctoral Associate - CHGS Special Collections and Educational Outreach 

Meyer Weinshel began working for CHGS in Fall 2020, and received his PhD in May 2022 in Germanic studies with a PhD minor in History. In addition to teaching German studies coursework at the University of Minnesota, he has also been active in Yiddish language pedagogy and revival. He helped pilot the Yiddish Book Center's new language textbook in the Twin Cities, and in 2020 worked for the Steiner Yiddish Summer Program, the Yiddish Book Center's intensive summer language program for undergraduate students. In 2021, he was a visiting lecturer of Yiddish Studies at the Ohio State University. From 2021-22, he worked as a project manager for the Minnesota Human Rights Archive Project. In addition to working with CHGS, he is currently Head of Publications, Programs, and Research for the UMN Center for Austrian Studies.