Faculty Awards

University of Minnesota Awards

Madelon Sprengnether, 2008
Patricia Hampl, 1997

Ray Gonzalez, 1999-2001

Charles Baxter

Madelon Sprengnether, 2003

Julie Schumacher, 2009

Patricia Hampl, 1984

Ray Gonzalez, 2006-2009
Madelon Sprengnether, 1992-1995
Patricia Hampl, 1988-1991

Patricia Hampl, 2013

M.J. Fitzgerald, 2001, 2006

Peter Campion, 2014-2015
Dan Philippon, 2013-2014
M.J. Fitzgerald, 2012-2013
Ray Gonzalez, Julie Schumacher, 2010-2011
Ray Gonzalez, 2009-2010

Madelon Sprengnether, spring 2006

Julie Schumacher, 2008

Madelon Sprengnether, 2005

Recent External Awards

Julie Schumacher, Thurber Prize for American Humor for Dear Committee Members, 2015; Minnesota Book Award in Young Adult Literature for The Book of 100 Truths, 2007
Charles Baxter, Minnesota Book Award in General Nonfiction for The Art of Subtext: Beyond Plot, 2008
Patricia Hampl, Minnesota Book Award in Memoir for The Florist's Daughter, 2008
Ray Gonzalez, Latino Heritage Award for Best Book of Poetry for The Religion of Hands, 2006

Dan Philippon, Fulbright Core Research/Teaching Award, University of Turin and University of Gastronomic Sciences, Italy, 2012

Ray Gonzalez, Lifetime Achievement Award in Latino Literature from Con Tinta, 2015

Peter Campion, 2011-2012

Patricia Hampl, Yaddo Foundation, 2014; Bogliasco Foundation Fellowship, 2009
Dan Philippon, Senior Fellow, Rachel Carson Center for Environment and Society, Munich, Germany, 2011-2012
Julie Schumacher, Bellagio Fellowship, 2011
Peter Campion, Joseph Brodsky Rome Prize in Literature (Prix de Rome), American Academy in Rome, 2009-2010

Patricia Hampl, Honorary Doctor of Letters (honoris causa), St. Bonaventure University, NY, 2013; Denise Levertov Award, Image magazine, 2012; elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences, 2007
Charles Baxter, 25th Anniversary Rea Award for the Short Story, 2011; American Academy of Arts and Letters Award of Merit for Short Story, 2007
Peter Campion, Editors Award for Reviewing, Poetry magazine, 2011; Larry Levis Reading Prize, Virginia Commonwealth University, 2010; Pushcart Prize, 2008