You are here


Regina Kunzel, Kevin Murphy: Lambda Literary Foundation 2009 Award Finalists

The Lambda Literary Foundation has just announced the finalists for its 2009 awards. Lambda Literary Awards "seek to recognize excellence in the field of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender literature. Each year, over 80 judges -- writers, booksellers, librarians, journalists -- assess the entries in more than 20 categories."

Carla Rahn Phillips Knighted by Spain

University of Minnesota professor Carla Rahn Phillips and Learning Abroad Center director Holly Zimmerman-LeVoir will be knighted into Spain's Order of Isabella the Catholic in a special ceremony Monday, Nov. 24. The honor, which comes from Spain's King Don Juan Carlos I, will be bestowed upon the pair in a special ceremony by Spanish ambassador Jorge Dezcaller at his official residence in Washington, D.C. Continue Reading at UMNews

MPR Archive: The Presidential Glass Ceiling is Broken: The Path from Victoria to...

Professor Emerita Sara Evans presented "The Presidential Glass Ceiling is Broken: The Path from Victoria to Hillary? the Fall 2008 Ada Comstock Distinguished Women Scholars Lecture on Tuesday, November 18, 2008. An archive of the MPR broadcast can be found at

Sara Evans

Sara Evans has been named the Ada Comstock Distinguished Women Scholar for fall 2008. Congratulations to Sara on a very well-deserved award! Continue Reading

Kay Reyerson

Kay Reyerson has been elected a Fellow of the Medieval Academy of America, a wonderful testament to her accomplishments. The Medieval Academy was founded in 1925 and is the largest and most prestigous association committed to the study of the medieval world. Continue reading

Giancarlo Casale

Congratulations to Assiatant Professor Giancarlo Casale, who has been awarded a Senior Residential Fellowship at Koc University's Research Center for Anatolian Civilizations (RCAC), for Spring 2009.

Rudy Vecoli

Congratulations to Emeritus Professor Rudolph Vecoli who recently received the Lifetime Achievement Award of the Immigration and Ethnic History Society. The award is presented on rare occasions to scholars who have made distinguished contributions to the field of immigration and ethnic history. Rudy is only the third recipient of this award.

(9902) Term Faculty Job Req #154239

The Department of History in the College of Liberal Arts at the University of Minnesota occasionally needs term (non-tenure-track) faculty to fill in for regular faculty who may be on leave. Term faculty include visiting, contract, adjunct or temporary appointments. Positions will be appointed for the 2008/09 academic year: fall semester 2008 (8/25/08-1/7/09) or spring semester (1/8/09-5/24/09) or summer 2009 (May - August).

(9903) Instructional Job Req # 154244

The Department of History in the College of Liberal Arts at the University of Minnesota occasionally needs teaching specialists or lecturers to teach courses that cannot be staffed by regular faculty or graduate students. Openings of this kind sometime occur for teaching evening and summer session, as well as day courses. The courses are primarily introductory or survey courses. Potential openings for the 2008-09 academic year may include African history, early American history, Europe/Germany,

Stephen Feinstein 1943-2008

The University of Minnesota lost a popular teacher and influential scholar when Stephen Feinstein, the director of the U's Center for Holocaust and Genocide Studies (CHGS) and adjunct professor of history, died on Tuesday, March 4. Feinstein was speaking at the Jewish Film Festival when he suffered an aortic aneurysm that resulted in cardiac arrest. He was 64. Continue Reading

Saje Mathieu

Assistant Professor Saje Mathieu has been awarded the 2008 President's Faculty Multicultural Research Award (PFMRA). PFMRA is designed to encourage and support research on issues related to people of color, particularly in a North American context. For more information see PFMRA.

Ruth Karras

It is with great pleasure to report that Professor Ruth Karras has been selected as the recipient of the Distinguished Women Scholars Award in Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities for 2008. This award will be presented at the OUW spring celebration.

Kirsten Fischer

Congratulations to Associate Professor Kirsten Fischer who will be the Deutsche Bank Junior Scholar-in-Residence at the Center for American Studies at the University of Heidelberg, Germany, in 2008-2009. Kirsten will teach a graduate level course on religion in early America and will work on her book "Reason and Wonder: Rational Religion in the Early American Republic."