Alumna Vera Bulaevskaya Wins Mitchell Prize

Portrait of Vera Bulaevskaya

We extend our congratulations to alumna Vera Bulaevskaya, who has received an esteemed Mitchell Prize award for co-authoring the paper “Inferring Atmospheric Release Characteristics in a Large Computer Experiment Using Bayesian Adaptive Splines” published in the Journal of the American Statistical Association (doi:10.1080/01621459.2018.1562933). Her co-authors for this paper are Devin Francom, Bruno Sanso, Donald Lucas and Matthew Simpson.

The Mitchell Prize recognizes “an outstanding paper that describes how a Bayesian analysis has solved an important applied problem.” The award is jointly sponsored by the Section on Bayesian Statistical Science (SBSS) of the ASA, the International Society for Bayesian Analysis (ISBA), and the Mitchell Prize Founders’ Committee. For full details, visit

Bulaevskaya graduated from the School of Statistics with a PhD in 2002, and studied under advisor Gary Oehlert. Congratulations, Vera!

Share on: