You are here

Faculty

Director

Name Contact Specialties
Jeanne Kilde
Director
Director of Undergraduate Studies
150C Nicholson Hall
612-625-6393
jkilde@umn.edu
Theory and method in religious studies, religion in America, religious space and architecture

Director of Graduate Studies

Name Contact Specialties
Ann Waltner
Director of Graduate Studies
Institute for Advanced Study
Department of History
912 Heller Hall
612-624-3810
waltn001@umn.edu
Law, world history, gender, traditional Chinese social history

Core Faculty & Staff

Name Contact Specialties
Patricia Ahearne-Kroll
Department of Classical & Near Eastern Studies
245 Nicholson Hall
612-301-1300
pahearne@umn.edu
Second temple Judaism, Religion in Ptolemaic Egypt, Jewish apocrypha and pseude
Stephen Ahearne-Kroll
Department of Classical & Near Eastern Studies
Sundet Chair in New Testament and Christian Studies
245 Nicholson Hall
612-301-1480
sahearne@umn.edu
New Testament, Hellenistic religions, Second Temple Judaism, gender, family
Bernard Bachrach
Department of History
114 Heller Hall
612-624-3301
bachr001@umn.edu
Medieval Jewish-Christian relations, history of the Crusades
William Beeman
Department of Anthropology
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
wbeeman@umn.edu
Islam, Middle Eastern religion and anthropology
Matthew Canepa
Department of Art History
346 Heller Hall
612-625-8336
mpcanepa@umn.edu
Art, architecture, urbanism and ritual power in western Asia and the eastern Mediterranean with a particular focus on ancient Iran, the Hellenistic East, and the late Roman empires
Giancarlo Casale
Department of History
1237 Heller Hall
612-626-4265
casale@umn.edu
Ottoman Empire, intellectual life in the Ottoman Empire and Renaissance Italy during the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries
Penny Edgell
Department of Sociology
1039 Social Sciences Building
612-624-9828
edgell@umn.edu
Culture, gender, religion
Kirsten Fischer
Department of History
1049 Heller Hall
612-626-4456
kfischer@umn.edu
American religious history, 
Katherine Gerbner
Department of History
1110 Heller Hall
612-624-3507
kgerbner@umn.edu
Religious dimensions of race, authority, and freedom in the early modern Atlantic world
Peter Harle
CLA Advising
338 Heller Hall
612-625-2379
harle005@umn.edu
 
Ruth Karras
Department of History
1110 Heller Hall
612-625-8578
rmk@umn.edu
Medieval European history, the Medieval church, history of marriage
Bernard Levinson
Department of Classical & Near Eastern Studies
245 Nicholson Hall
612-625-4323
levinson@umn.edu
Hebrew Bible, Jewish studies, history of interpretation, literary approaches to biblical studies, divine revelation
Hanne Loeland-Levinson
Department of Classical & Near Eastern Studies
150E Nicholson Hall
612-624-8341
loela001@umn.edu
Gender studies, metaphor theory, prophetic literature, and biblical narratives
Howard Louthan
Department of History
1116 Heller Hall
612-624-7834
hlouthan@umn.edu
Early modern Europe; Central Europe; cultural, intellectual, and religious history
Nabil Matar
Department of English
330C Lind Hall
612-626-8320
matar010@umn.edu
Early modern Euro-Islamic contacts, 17th century British religious literature
Riv-Ellen Prell
Department of American Studies
107 Scott Hall
612-625-0112
prell001@umn.edu
Anthropology of America, cultural studies of American Jews and Judaism
Paul Rouzer
Department of Asian Languages and Literatures
230D Folwell Hall
612-624-1486
prouzer@umn.edu
Buddhism and its relation to pre-modern and modern literature
Melissa Sellew
Director of Graduate Studies
245 Nicholson Hall
612-625-2026
sellew@umn.edu
Greek and Roman religion, New Testament studies, early Christianity
J.B. Shank
Department of History
922 Heller Hall
612-624-7323
jbshank@umn.edu
History of Western philosophy, science, and religion
Ajay Skaria
Department of History
924 Heller Hall
612-624-7565
skari002@umn.edu
South Asia, environmental history
Theofanis Stavrou
Department of History
1224 Heller Hall
612-624-5734
stavr001@umn.edu
Religious history of Russia in the twentieth century
Andrea Sterk
Department of History
1237 Heller Hall
612-626-4265
sterk@umn.edu
Ancient and medieval Christianity, late antiquity, Byzantium history

Affiliated Faculty & Staff

Name Contact Specialties
Hakim Abderrezak
Department of French & Italian
303C Folwell Hall
612-624-1074
abder002@umn.edu
French and Francophone language, literature, and culture, French immigration policies, Maghrebi cinema, north African and Caribbean literature
Cawo Abdi
Department of Sociology
1146 Social Sciences Building
612-624-3714
cabdi@umn.edu
Migration, transnationalism, Islam, race, class, gender, globalization
Catherine Asher
Department of Art History
370 Heller Hall
612-626-8339
asher001@umn.edu
Cultural production of south Asia and the Islamic world
Dean Billmeyer
School of Music
100 Ferguson Hall
612-624-3307
dwb@umn.edu
Organ, analysis and techniques of sacred music
Jeffrey Broadbent
Department of Sociology
1026 Social Sciences Building
612-624-1828
broad001@umn.edu
Religious cultural influence and social action in east Asian society
David Chang
Department of History
1143 Heller Hall
612-624-9045
dchang@umn.edu
Race and ethnicity in Hawai'i and the United States, religion in the politics of agrarian socialism
Susan Gangl
Wilson Library
170 Wilson Library
6112-626-2281
s-gang@umn.edu
Librarian for Jewish studies, philosophy, and religious studies
Michael Gaudio
Department of Art History
364 Heller Hall
612-624-0847
gaudio@umn.edu
Visual culture of early modern Europe, Protestant Reformation
Michelle Hamilton
Department of Spanish & Portuguese
209 Folwell Hall
612-625-6661
hamilton@umn.edu
Jews, Muslims, and Christians in medieval Iberia; Maimonides; Ibn Rushd; Christian mystics; Moriscos; mysticism
Katherine Hayes
Department of Anthropology
386 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
612-626-7482
kathayes@umn.edu
Historical archaeology and material culture, early colonial entanglements of European settlers, Native Americans and enslaved Africans in North America
Alan Love
Department of Philosophy
735 Heller Hall
612-625-4510
aclove@umn.edu
Philosophy of biology, philosophy of science, science and religion
Peter Mercer-Taylor
School of Music
100 Ferguson Hall
612-624-0385
merce011@umn.edu
Music history 1750–1900, American hymnology
Susan Noakes
Department of French & Italian
305D Folwell Hall
612-624-0076
noake001@umn.edu
Women's studies, the Global Middle Ages
Steven Ostrow
Department of Art History
338A Heller Hall
612-624-4500
ostro133@umn.edu
Early modern Italian visual culture, post-Tridentine period and seventeenth-century sculpture and art theory
Thomas Pepper
Department of Cultural Studies & Comparative Literature
220 Nicholson Hall
612-624-8099
tapepper@umn.edu
Philosophy of religion of modernity (Kierkegaard), theory of the text and interpretation
Matt Rahaim
School of Music
170 Ferguson Hall
612-624-2393
mrahaim@umn.edu
South Asia, vocal and bodily practices, ethical self-cultivation, phenomenology, performance, ethnography, sonic ecology
Derk Renwick
Program in Religious Studies
212 Johnston Hall
612-624-5233
renwick@umn.edu
Philosophy of aesthetics: the sublime, biblical studies, critical pedagogy
Ozayr Saloojee
School of Architecture
101 Rapson Hall
612-625-0690
saloojee@umn.edu
Questions of tradition and modernity in Islamic architecture, spatial concepts in the Abrahamic faiths, contested terrains/landscapes
Andrew Scheil
Department of English
310E Lind Hall
612-625-9518
ascheil@umn.edu
Late antique and early medieval theology, exegesis, and literature; anti-Semitism; religion and literature (especially poetry)
Daniel Schroeter
Department of History
1018 Heller Hall
612-624-2800
schro800@umn.edu
Jewish studies, Middle East, north Africa
Hoon Song
Department of Anthropology
395 Hubert H. Humphrey Center
612-624-8980
songx080@umn.edu
Theories of religion, witchcraft, divination, sorcery, shamanism
Shaden Tageldin
Department of Cultural Studies & Comparative Literature
218 Nicholson Hall
612-625-8445
tageldin@umn.edu
19th- and 20th-century literatures in English, Arabic, French, empire and postcolonial studies, critical translation theory, political of language, literary form, genre, histories and ideologies of comparative literature, aesthetics and biologics of race, nation, culture, literatures of migration and diaspora
John Watkins
Department of English
312 Lind Hall
612-624-8879
watki005@umn.edu
Reformation cultural history, apocalypticism in modern American culture

Faculty Emeriti

Name Contact Specialties
Jasper Hopkins
Department of Philosophy
hopkins@umn.edu History of medieval and of Renaissance philosophy, philosophy of religion