Two CAS Graduate Students Present Their Research at Berkeley

Hannah Myott
University of Vienna Ph.D. Candidate, Hannah Myott, presenting her research at the 15th Annual Convention of the Centers for Austrian and Central European Studies in Berkeley, CA.

From May 24th-27th, the Austrian Studies Program and Institute for European Studies at the University of California, Berkeley hosted the 15th Annual Convention of the Centers for Austrian and Central European Studies. The Convention brought together advanced graduate students from the eight universities with Austrian Centers to present dissertations and research activities.

The Convention began with a welcome by UC Berkeley Austrian Studies Program Director Jeroen Dewulf, Austrian Consul-General Isabella Tomás, Ulrike Csura and Felix Wilcek, BMBWF, Sigrid Koller and Lydia Skarits, OEAD. The conference then proceeded with dissertation presentations by the Austrians Centers’ doctoral students. 

The University of Minnesota’s Center for Austrian Studies included two students. Hannah Myott, a Ph.D. student from the University of Vienna, who recently completed an exchange semester with CAS, presented her dissertation “Helpful or Harmful? Examining ‘integration’ policy in Austria.” Elijah Wallace, a Ph.D. candidate in the University of Minnesota History Department, presented his dissertation, “‘A Womb of Nations:’ The Upper Danube during the 5th and 6th Centuries.”

Other participating universities included: the University of Vienna, the University of New Orleans, the University of Alberta, Palacký University Olomouc, the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Leiden University, and the University of California, Berkeley.

Students from other Austrian Studies Centers included: Christian Lendl, Martina Mirkovic, Katja Maierhofer, Vito Balorda, Monika Horvath, Markéta Buršová, Michael Urban, Noga Sagi, Daniel Aschheim, Viktória Muka, Steven Jonathan Verburg, Anne Maria Adriana Romijnders, Harry Mizumoto, and AJ Solovy.

Faculty participants included: Prof. Marija Wakounig, Prof. Arnold Suppan,  Prof. Günter Bischof, Prof. Alexander Carpenter, Prof. Franz Szabo, Prof. Joseph Patrouch, Prof. Gary Cohen, Prof. Jan Ciosk, Prof. Noam Haim Shoval and Prof. Elisheva Moatti, Prof. Georg Kastner, Prof. Dieter Anton Binder,  Prof. Sarah Cramsey, and Jeroen Dewulf. 


Share on: