University of Minnesota Awards

John Watkins, 2010

Elaine Auyoung, 2018-2020
Ray Gonzalez, 1999-2001
John Watkins, 1995-1997
Andrew Elfenbein, 1993-1995
Ellen Messer-Davidow, 1989-1991

Julie Schumacher, 2019
Katherine Scheil, 2017
Josephine Lee, 2008

Eric Daigre, 2019
Dan Philippon, 2017
Julie Schumacher, 2009
John Watkins, 2004
Andrew Elfenbein, 2002
Josephine Lee, 2002

Michael Hancher, 2014

Dan Philippon, 2022

Josephine Lee, 2021

Rebecca Krug, 2006

John Watkins, 2005

Nabil Matar, 2017-2020
Timothy Brennan, 2014-2020

Amit Yahav, 2019-2020
Kim Todd, 2018-2019

Julie Schumacher, 2016-2019
Katherine Scheil, 2014-2017
Nabil Matar, 2011-2014
Ray Gonzalez, 2006-2009
Ellen Messer-Davidow, 2005-2008
John Watkins, 2004-2007
Timothy Brennan, 2003-2006
Andrew Elfenbein, 2000-2003
Michael Hancher, 1990-1993

Ellen Messer-Davidow, 2009

Nathaniel Mills, 2019-2020
Katherine Scheil, 2019-2020
Lois Cucullu, 2018-2019
Jani Scandura, 2018-2019
Nabil Matar, 2014
Andrew Elfenbein, 2013-2015, 2005
Ellen Messer-Davidow, 2011-2013, 2009-2011
Timothy Brennan, 2010, 2006-2007
Katherine Scheil, 2009-2010, 2007-2008
Lois Cucullu, 2008-2009
Andrew Scheil, 2007-2008
Jani Scandura, 2006-2008
Lianna Farber, 2005-2007

Lois Cucullu, V. V. Ganeshananthan, 2018-2019
Katherine Scheil, 2017-2018
Elaine Auyoung, Nabil Matar, Nathaniel Mills, Jani Scandura, 2016-2017
Michael Hancher, Scandura, 2015-2016
Peter Campion, 2014-2015
Dan Philippon, Scandura, K. Scheil, 2013-2014
Timothy Brennan, Cucullu, Matar, Scandura, K. Scheil, 2012-2013
Brennan, Scandura, 2011-2012
Brennan, Ray Gonzalez, Hancher, Scandura, Scheil, and Julie Schumacher, 2010-2011
Brennan, Cucullu, Siobhan Craig, Gonzalez, Ellen Messer-Davidow, K. Scheil, 2009-2010

Elaine Auyoung, spring 2023

V. V. Ganeshananthan, 2019-2020

Kathryn Nuernberger, 2019-2020

Siobhan Craig, 2018-2019

Katherine Scheil, 2017-2018

Amit Yahav, fall 2015

Elaine Auyoung, fall 2014

Jani Scandura, 2008-2009

Ellen Messer-Davidow, fall 2007

Siobhan Craig, 2006

Julie Schumacher, 2008

Elaine Auyoung, 2021-2022
Rebecca Krug, 2021-2022
Nathaniel Mills, 2020-2021
Amit Yahav, 2019-2020
Kim Todd, 2018-2021
Andrew Scheil, 2015-2018

Chris Kamerbeek [lecturer], 2019, 2015
Elaine Auyoung, 2018
Eric Daigre [lecturer], 2017
Andrew Elfenbein, 2016, 2012, 2000
Josephine Lee, 2014
Rebecca Krug, 2012
Siobhan Craig, 2008
Brian Goldberg, 2006
John Watkins, 1996

Julie Schumacher, 2021

V. V. Ganeshananthan, 2022-2025

Douglas Kearney, 2021-2024

Recent External Awards

Douglas Kearney, Minnesota Book Award in Poetry for Sho, 2022

Ray Gonzalez, Minnesota Book Award in Poetry for Beautiful Wall, 2016

Julie Schumacher, Thurber Prize for American Humor for Dear Committee Members, 2015; Midwest Booksellers Choice for Fiction for Dear Committee Members, 2015; Minnesota Book Award in Young Adult Literature for The Book of 100 Truths, 2007

Andrew Elfenbein, Choice Outstanding Academic Book for Romanticism and the Rise of English, 2009

Andrew Scheil, John Nicholas Brown Prize of the Medieval Academy of America, for The Footsteps of Israel: Understanding Jews in Anglo-Saxon England, 2008; book also received biennial Best First Book Prize (2005) of the International Society of Anglo-Saxonists (ISAS)

Ray Gonzalez, Latino Heritage Award for Best Book of Poetry for The Religion of Hands, 2006

Dan Philippon, Fulbright Core Research/Teaching Award, University of Turin and University of Gastronomic Sciences, Italy, 2012

Ray Gonzalez, Witter Bynner Prize for Poetic Achievement from the Library of Congress, 2017; Lifetime Achievement Award in Latino Literature from Con Tinta, 2015
Nabil Matar, Advancement of Sciences Award in Comparative Literature and Literary Translation from the Kuwait Foundation, 2017
Josephine Lee, Lifetime Achievement Award from the Association for Asian American Studies, 2016
Timothy Brennan, Lifetime Achievement Award from South Asian Literatures Association for Contributions to South Asian Studies, 2014

John Watkins, 2015-2016
Peter Campion, 2011-2012

Josephine Lee, Dan Philippon, and Jani Scandura, Global Midwest proposals via Institute for Advanced Study, 2014
Andrew Scheil, Mellon Foundation Grant: One of three principal investigators on a three-year grant to establish a “Consortium for the Study of the Premodern World” at the University of Minnesota, 2013; extended 2016 and 2019

Josephine Lee, 2019-2020

Nabil Matar, principal investigator, “Shared Cultural Spaces: Islam and the West in the Arts and Sciences,” National Endowment of the Humanities Conference, 2011

Andrew Scheil, 2007-2008

Lois Cucullu, Summer 2007, 2005-2006

Timothy Brennan, Summer 2006

Rachel Trocchio, Summer 2021

Douglas Kearney, McKnight Artist Fellowship in Poetry, 2022

Timothy Brennan, Camargo Foundation Residence, 2017; Mercator Professorship, Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, 2011

V. V. Ganeshananthan, American Academy Berlin Prize Residency, 2017; Human Rights Initiative Fund Faculty Research Award, 2017; Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study Fellowship, 2014-2015; National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship 2014-2015; Yaddo Foundation Fellowship, 2012; MacDowell Colony Fellowship, 2012

Kim Todd, Anderson Center Residency, 2016; Mesa Refuge Residency, 2012

Julie Schumacher, PEN/Hemingway Fellowship, 2015; Rockefeller Foundation Bellagio Center Residency, 2011

John Watkins, American Council of Learned Societies Fellowship, 2014-2015; Visiting Research Scholar Keble College, Oxford 2014-2015; American Philosophical Society Sabbatical Fellowship, 2007

Andrew Elfenbein, American Council of Learned Societies Fellowship, 2013-2014; American Philosophical Society Sabbatical Fellowship, 2005-06; Howard Foundation Fellowship, 2005-06

Dan Philippon, Senior Fellow, Rachel Carson Center for Environment and Society, Munich, Germany, 2011-12

Katherine Scheil, Canadian Federation for the Humanities and Social Sciences Fellowship, 2011; Bibliographic Society of America Fellowship, 2007-2008; Folger Shakespeare Library Grant, 2007

Amit Yahav, Lewis Walpole Library Visiting Research Fellowshp, Yale University, 2010

Peter Campion, Joseph Brodsky Rome Prize in Literature (Prix de Rome), American Academy in Rome, 2009-2010

Andrew Scheil, Friedrich Solmsen Fellowship, Institute for Research in the Humanities, University of Wisconsin, 2008-2009

Liana Farber, Charles A. Ryskamp Research Fellowship, ACLS, 2008; Friedrich Solmsen Fellowship, Institute for Research in the Humanities, University of Wisconsin, 2007

Nabil Matar, École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales, Research Professor, Paris, June, 2008; British Academy Visiting Professorship, London, February 2006

Jani Scandura, American Philosophical Society Sabbatical Fellowship, 2005-2006; Center for Research in the Arts, Social Sciences and Humanities, University of Cambridge, 2006

Douglas Kearney, Campbell Opera Librettist Prize, 2021; Best New Opera from the Music Critics Association Of North America, 2021, for Sweet Land (co-librettist); Cy Twombly Poetry Award, Foundation for Contemporary Arts, 2019

Nabil Matar, “Building Bridges Award,” Association of Muslim Social Scientists and Alwalid bin Talal Centre for Islamic Studies, University of Cambridge, 2012

Peter Campion, Editors Award for Reviewing, Poetry magazine, 2011; Larry Levis Reading Prize, Virginia Commonwealth University, 2010; Pushcart Prize, 2008

Josephine Lee, Council on Asian Pacific Minnesotans Leadership Award, 2006