You are here

Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Adam Bledsoe
Assistant Professor
 
468 Social Science Building
612-625-2586
bleds008@umn.edu
Black geographies, African diaspora, political geography, critical theory, political movements
Bruce P. Braun
Professor
 
452 Social Sciences Building
612-625-6349
braun038@umn.edu
Society-environmental relations, political ecology, social and cultural theory, settler colonialism, extractivism
Madelaine Cahuas
Assistant Professor
 
481 Social Sciences Building
612-625-5578
mcahuas@umn.edu
Latinx geographies, migrant identities and citizenship, women of color feminisms, decolonial theory, urban politics, social movements
Peter Calow
Professor
Science, Technology and Environmental
Policy Area
163 Humphrey School
612-625-6644
pcalow@umn.edu
Science in public policy, chemical risk in the environment
Kate Derickson
Associate Professor
On Sabbatical AY 19-20
435 Social Sciences Building
612-301-6982
kdericks@umn.edu
Urban political economy, race and racialization, feminist and critical epistemology, engaged scholarship, land use and environmental politics, social and political theory
Vinay Gidwani
Professor
515 Social Sciences Building
612-625-1397
gidwa002@umn.edu
Labor geographies, theories of agrarian and ecological change, spatiality of class and identity politics, subalternity, political economies of "development" and "globalization", Marxism and post-Marxism, social theory, India
Kathryn Grace
Associate Professor
558 Social Sciences Building
612-625-4026
klgrace@umn.edu
Spatial analysis and statistics, health, demography, food insecurity, population-environment interactions
Dan Griffin
Assistant Professor
533 Social Sciences Building
612-625-2562
griffin9@umn.edu
Dendrochronology, paleoclimate from tree rings, climate variability, climate change, drought, environmental dynamics, water and natural resources management, natural areas conservation
George Henderson
Chair
548 Social Sciences Building
612-625-4085
hende057@umn.edu
Marxism, post-capitalist politics, value theory of labor, Marxist cultural critique
Kurt Kipfmueller
Associate Professor

 

568 Social Sciences Building
612-625-9668
kurt@umn.edu
Climate-tree growth relationships, forest fire-climate interactions, denrochronology
Katherine Klink
Associate Professor
573 Social Sciences Building
612-625-3452
klink@umn.edu
Climate and climate change, environmental science, urban climate, climatology of renewable energy
Mark B. Lindberg
Adjunct Associate Professor
Senior Cartographer
Director of Cartography Lab
404A Blegen
612-625-0892
mbl@umn.edu
Geographic Information Systems, digital cartographic production, map design, quantitative methods
Steven M. Manson
Professor
Scholar of the College
Associate Dean, Research & Graduate Programs, CLA
560 Social Sciences Building
612-625-4577
manson@umn.edu
Environmental research, social science, and georgraphic information science to understand complex human-environment systems
Robert B. McMaster
Professor
Vice Provost and Dean of Undergraduate Education
585 Social Sciences Building
612-625-9883
mcmaster@umn.edu
Geographic Information Systems, digital cartography, cartographic design, spatial analysis, environmental risk assessment
Arun Saldanha
Professor
432 Social Sciences Building
612-625-9660
saldanha@umn.edu
Race, colonialism, tourism, ethnography, feminist theory, Marxism, continental philosophy
Abdi I. Samatar
Professor
 
374 Social Sciences Building
612-626-1877
samat001@umn.edu
Development geography, political economy and agrarian change, development theory and the State, Africa
Eric Shook
Associate Professor
473 Social Sciences Building
612-625-5970
eshook@umn.edu
CyberGIS, use of large spatial data sets and high performance computing to engage in innovative spatial analysis and visualization approaches
Ying Song
Assistant Professor
427 Social Sciences Building
612-625-1112
yingsong@umn.edu
GIScience, space-time modeling and simulation, sustainable transportation, accessibility, behavior analysis
Roderick H. Squires
Associate Professor
546 Social Sciences Building
612-625-0179
squires@umn.edu
Environmental quality, public land policy, real estate, evolution of landscapes, political ecology of Minnesota
Scott St. George
Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Studies
537 Social Sciences Building
612-625-0805
stgeorge@umn.edu
Paleoclimatology, climate dynamics, natural hazards, climate's impact on renewable energy

Affiliate Faculty, Postdoctoral Associates and Visiting Scholars

Name Contact Specialty
     
Susan L. Craddock
Professor
Gender, Women & Sexuality Studies
425 Ford Hall
612-624-6006
craddock@umn.edu
AIDS, disease, health, social justice
William Craig 330 Hubert H. Humphrey School of Public Affairs
612-625-3321
wcraig@umn.edu
GIS, land use and population
Kirsten Delegard
Fellow & Director Mapping Prejudice Project
368 Social Science Bldg.
612-625-0229
deleg008@umn.edu

Urban history; community-engaged scholarship; digital humanities and public history; race and racialization; history of Minneapolis; race and racialization. 

Michael Goldman
Associate Professor
Sociology
1070 Social Science Bldg.
612-625-0051
mgoldman@umn.edu
Transnational, Political Economic, and Urban Sociology; Transnational Institutions of Finance, Development, and Expertise. 
Nick Jordan
Professor
CFANS Agronomy/Plant Genetics
411 Borlaug Hall
612-625-3754
jorda020@umn.edu
Agroecology; social and biophysical determinants of agricultural land-use; collaborative management of agricultural landscapes
Miranda Joseph
Professor
Gender, Woman and Sexuality Studies
419 Ford Hall
612-625-5047
josephm@umn.edu
feminist, Marxist, poststructuralist, and queer theory, cultural studies methods, and LGBT Studies
William G. Moseley
Professor
Department of Geography, Macalaster College
moseley@macalester.edu
wgmosele@umn.edu
Political ecology, tropical agriculture, environment and development policy, and livelihood security.
Lorena Muñoz
Assistant Professor
Gender, Women & Sexuality Studies
432 Ford Hall
612-625-2028
lmunoz@umn.edu
Intersections of place, space, gender, sexuality, health and race; Latinx in the global south, particularly (in)formal economy, labor, health and productive/transformative agency
Richa Nagar
Professor
Gender, Women & Sexuality Studies
443 Ford Hall
612-624-2192
nagar@umn.edu
Collaborative praxis; politics of development; transnational feminisms
Sage Ponder
Post-Doctoral Fellow
414 Social Science
cponder@umn.edu
urban political economy, geographies of racialization, urban social reproduction, municipal debt, infrastructure, just socio-ecological transition

Emeriti Faculty

Name Contact
John S. Adams
Professor Emeritus
adams004@umn.edu
Dwight A. Brown
Professor Emeritus
dbrown@umn.edu
Philip J. Gersmehl
Professor Emeritus
gersmehl@umn.edu
John Fraser Hart
Professor Emeritus
frase002@umn.edu
Helga Leitner
Professor Emerita
eqj6139@umn.edu
Philip W. Porter
Professor Emeritus
porter@umn.edu
Earl P. Scott
Professor Emeritus
scott003@umn.edu
Eric Sheppard
Professor Emeritus
shepp001@umn.edu
Richard H. Skaggs
Professor Emeritus
skaggs@umn.edu
Connie Weil
Professor Emeritus
weil@umn.edu