You are here

Accolades Spring 2018

News about the publications, creative activities, and recognition given to our faculty, staff, and graduate students
January 5, 2018
To add your news to Accolades, contact


January 2018


Technology architect Colin McFadden and digital preservation specialist Samantha Porter have won the Minneapolis Institute of Art’s 3M Art and Technology Award. They will receive $50,000 toward the development of “Riddle Mia This,” a mobile app that aims to deepen visitor engagement with MIA.

Professor Ana Forcinito (Spanish & Portuguese Studies) has been been awarded the 2018 Literary Prize by Casa de las Americas for her book on Latin American Women's Cinema, Óyeme con los ojos: Cine, mujeres, visiones y voces [Listen to me with your eyes: women, vision and voice]. The Casa de las Americas awards a literary prize every year to a work by a Spanish or Portuguese-speaker author from Latin America or the Iberian Peninsula. The “Premio Literario Casa de las Américas” is one of Latin America’s oldest and most prestigious literary prizes.

Grants & Fellowships

Shaden M. Tageldin, Associate Professor in the Department of Cultural Studies and Comparative Literature and Director of the African Studies Initiative, has been awarded a National Endowment for the Humanities Fellowship for 2019 as she writes a new book, provisionally titled Toward a Transcontinental Theory of Modern Comparative Literature. NEHF fellowships are among the most prestigious and competitive in the country, with an average funding ratio of 7 percent in the last five years. 
Graduate student Joseph Whitson (American Studies) has been awarded an Interdisciplinary Doctoral Fellowship for the 2018 – 2019 academic year.
The Interdisciplinary Collaborative Workshop (ICW) Program is intended to spur new collaborations among scholars in CLA and beyond. It provides support to bring together faculty, staff, postdoctoral researchers, and graduate students from a variety of fields to intensively study a topic. ICWs are meant to convene scholars from within the college and beyond, and as such, proposed forms of workshops may include (but are not limited to) reading groups, seminars, symposia, conferences, or virtual centers. Congratulations to the following Interdisciplinary Collaborative Workshop Award CLA recipients:
Full Grant Awards:
Migration and Migrants in Terrifying Times
Assistant Professor Jack DeWaard (Sociology)
Professor Erika Lee ( History, Asian American Studies)
Associate Professor Cawo Abdi (Sociology, Institute for Global Studies)
Professor Bruce Braun (Geography, Environment & Society)
Associate Professor Bianet Castellanos (American Studies)
Associate Professor Giovanna Dell'Orto (Hubbard School of Journalism and Mass Communication)
Professor Douglas Hartmann (Sociology)
Professor Karen Ho (Anthropology & Race, Indigeneity, Gender and Sexuality Studies)
Memory, Trauma, and Human Rights at the Crossroads of Art and Science
Associate Professor Ofelia Ferrán (Spanish and Portuguese Studies and Gender, Women, and Sexuality Studies)
Associate Professor Alejandro Baer (Sociology)
Professor Ana Forcinito (Spanish and Portuguese Studies and Institute for Global Studies)
Professor Jan Estep (Art)
Professor Ana Paula Ferreira (Spanish and Portuguese Studies) 
Professor Patrick McNamara (History)
Associate Professor Leslie Morris (German, Scandinavian and Dutch)
Professor Bill Viestenz (Spanish and Portuguese Studies)
Professor Stephen Engel (Psychology)
Professor Mary Jo Maynes (History)
Mini Grant Awards
Effects of Parental Incarceration on Family and Child Wellbeing: Informing Best Practices Through an Investigation of Caregiver Experiences
Associate Professor Joshua Page (Sociology)
PhD Candidate Caitlin Curry (Sociology)
Blackness and Disability Studies: Interrogating Anti-Black Racism and Disablement
Assistant Professor Aren Aizura (Gender, Women & Sexuality Studies)
Professor Jigna Desai (Gender, Women & Sexuality Studies)
Professor Jennifer Pierce (American Studies)
Associate Professor Patrick McNamera (History)
PhD Candidate Angela Carter (Gender, Women & Sexuality Studies)
Narrative/Medicine: Personal Narrative Analysis across the Liberal Arts and Medical Practice
Professor Mary Jo Maynes (History)
Associate Professor Leslie Morris (German, Scandinavian & Dutch)
Associate Professor Alejandro Baer (Sociology)
Professor Andrew Elfenbein (English)
Professor Jan Estep (Art)
Associate Professor Ofelia Ferrán (Spanish and Portuguese Studies and Gender, Women, and Sexuality Studies)
Professor Shirley Garner (English)
Professor Jennifer Pierce (American Studies)
Professor Madelon Sprengnether (English)
Associate Professor Karen-Sue Taussig (Anthropology)


Publications & Creative Activities

Professor Stephen Engel (Psychology) was recently involved in a research project that was the lead article in the journal Psychological Science. The project involved using virtual reality to improve the effects of strabismus, more commonly known as “lazy eye.”

Graduate Student Matthew Tchepikova-Treon (American Studies) wrote,“What Kind of Bad?: Curtis Mayfield and The Deuce” an article that will be published in the upcoming volume of Jump Cut media journal.

Associate Professor Bianet Castellanos (American Studies) edited a special forum “Settler Colonialism in Latin American,” in the recent issue of American Quarterly. She was also inducted as a member of Mexico’s National System of Researchers (SNI) in January 2018.

Anna Hashizume (MM, 2017, voice, student of Wendy Zaro-Mullins and David Walsh) has been engaged for the winter 2018 Gate City Young Artist program of Fargo Moorhead Opera. 

U of M School of Music alumnus José A. Zayas Cabánas presented a saxophone concert at Lloyd Ultan Recital Hall on January 25. He has presented performances and taught master classes throughout Europe, the Caribbean and North America. 

Joan Wallace (DMA, piano, student of Paul Shaw) was selected to present at this year's MTNA Collegiate Pedagogy Symposium at University of Texas-Austin Butler School of Music. 

Wesley Frye (MM, voice, student of John De Haan) and Mario Ángel Pérez (MM, voice, student of Adriana Zabala) performed in Cedar Rapids Opera Theatre's production of Puccini's Turandot. Perez and Frye were selected as Young Artists where they covered the roles of Emperor Altoum and Pang respectively.