Harold Anderson Scholarship

Applications for the 2023–2024 Harold Anderson Scholarship in Religious Studies are due April 1, 2024. The competition is open to current sophomores and juniors majoring in religious studies. The Harold C. Anderson scholarship is funded by friends who wish to commemorate Dr. Anderson's generosity and support of students of the University of Minnesota as well as his interest in religious studies. This year we plan to make one or more awards of $1,000 each.

Students who wish to apply should submit:

  1. A one-page statement of personal and academic goals in religious studies
  2. A one-page statement of education-related financial need
  3. A transcript (which may be unofficial)
  4. A letter (email) of recommendation from a faculty instructor.
  5. Questions and all materials can be directed to the Director of Undergraduate Studies, Jeanne Kilde.

FLAS Fellowship

Through grants from the United States Department of Education (US/ED), CSA is offering four Summer FLAS fellowships and nine Academic Year FLAS fellowships to promote the study of modern foreign languages and less-commonly-taught languages within undergraduate and graduate programs and professional schools.

For more information, see the Institute for Global Studies.

Katherine E. Sullivan Scholarship for Study Abroad

Administered by the University Honors Program and the Office of International Programs, the Katherine E. Sullivan Scholarship for Study Abroad provides an opportunity for seniors at any campus of the University of Minnesota to enrich their academic experience with a fifth year of undergraduate study in another country. 

Selmer Birkelo & Other Collegiate Scholarships

Religious studies majors have been competitive for several other CLA scholarships, including the Birkelo. Learn more about CLA's scholarships for continuing students.