You are here

Faculty

The faculty and staff in the History Department at the University of Minnesota are deeply committed to instilling in students an appreciation for and understanding of the past. The approximately forty full-time faculty have varied academic backgrounds and possess diverse and interdisciplinary research interests.
The department also draws upon visiting lecturers and scholars who bring their expertise in many areas of study. Our graduate students come from all over the world and occupy a unique position as both students and graduate assistants/instructors who bring their diverse research interests to their teaching. Furthermore, the staff members in the department offer many years of experience at the University of Minnesota, provide professional support to faculty and students and keep the department running smoothly. Together faculty, graduate students, and staff are dedicated to providing students with the support they need to learn and excel in today’s complex world.

Full-Time Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Juhana Anesluoma
Visiting Professor
1037 Heller Hall
612-625-6190
jauneslu@umn.edu
20th century Europe, Cold War, Scandinavia, Finland
Bernard S. Bachrach
Professor
1114 Heller Hall
612-624-3301
bachr001@umn.edu
Renaissance and medieval eras, medieval military
Iraj Bashiri
Professor
1043 Heller Hall
612-624-3314
bashi001@umn.edu
Islamic world and literature
Susanna Blumenthal
Associate Professor
436 Mondale Hall
612-626-5694
blume047@umn.edu
American cultural and intellectual history, Anglo-American legal history, history of human sciences
Giancarlo Casale
Associate Professor
1237 Heller Hall
612-626-4265
casale@umn.edu
Islamic world, Ottoman Empire, pre-modern and early modern world history
Sarah Chambers
Professor
Director of Graduate Studies
1218 Heller Hall
612-625-6376
chambers@umn.edu
Colonial Latin America; gender, cultural, and legal history
David Chang
Associate Professor
1143 Heller Hall
612-624-9045
dchang@umn.edu
Race and nationalism, American Indian, native Hawaiian, 19th and 20th century United States
Anna Clark
Professor
1051 Heller Hall
612-624-8015
clark106@umn.edu
British, Irish, European, women, gender, sexuality
Gary Cohen
Professor
918 Heller Hall
612-624-5712
gcohen@umn.edu
Austria and Germany, Central and Eastern Europe, modern European social and political history
Margaret Carlyle
Contract Assistant Professor
916 Heller Hall
612-624-7301
mcarlyle@umn.edu
Early Modern Europe, France, women, science and medicine
Tracey Deutsch
Associate Professor
1045 Heller Hall
612-624-8547
tdeutsch@umn.edu
United States, women's history, business
Gail Dubrow
Professor
1016 Heller Hall
612-625-6191
dubrow@umn.edu
United States, urban, women's, Asian-American, public history
Kirsten Fischer
Associate Professor
1049 Heller Hall
612-626-4456
kfischer@umn.edu
Colonial and revolutionary America, United States, social and intellectual
Andrew Gallia
Associate Professor
Associate Chair
1041 Heller Hall
612-626-4268
abgallia@umn.edu
Ancient history
Katharine Gerbner
Assistant Professor
1239 Heller Hall
612-624-3507
kgerbner@umn.edu
Atlantic world, early America, comparative early modern, Caribbean, religion, race
J. David Hacker
Associate Professor
1235 Heller Hall
612-624-9043
hacke010@umn.edu
Demographic history, quantitative history, American Civil War
Carol Hakim
Associate Professor
1216 Heller Hall
612-624-9043
hakimc@umn.edu
Modern Middle East
Allen F. Isaacman
Regents Professor
910 Heller Hall
612-624-0383
isaac001@umn.edu
Central and Southern Africa
Christopher M. Isett
Associate Professor
920 Heller Hall
612-624-1505
isett003@umn.edu
Post-war East Asian political economies, global and post-war capitalism, East Asia's Cold War, comparative economic history, agrarian, 18th–20th century China
Ruth Mazo Karras
Professor
1222 Heller Hall
612-625-8578
rmk@umn.edu
Medieval Europe, women and gender history
Erika Lee
Professor
Rudolph J. Vecoli Chair in Immigration History
Director of Immigration History Research Center
Elmer L. Andersen Library, Suite 311
612-625-5573
612-624-9569
erikalee@umn.edu
20th century United States, Asian-American, immigration, American West
Mai Na Lee
Associate Professor
937 Heller Hall
612-625-6124
mainalee@umn.edu
Southeast Asia
Malinda Lindquist
Associate Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies
1139 Heller Hall
612-626-4263
lindqust@umn.edu
African-American, United States
Patricia Lorcin
Professor
1020 Heller Hall
612-626-4269
plorcin@umn.edu
Modern France, western imperialism, colonial and postcolonial, Mediterranean
Howard Louthan
Professor
1116 Heller Hall
612-624-7834
hlouthan@umn.edu
Early modern Europe; Central Europe; cultural, intellectual, and religious History
Michael Lower
Associate Professor
1220 Heller Hall
612-626-1796
mlower@umn.edu
Crusades, Medieval Mediterranean, Christian-Muslim relations
Saje Mathieu
Associate Professor
1233 Heller Hall
612-625-7769
smathieu@umn.edu
African-American, American social and political history, comparative immigration
Elaine Tyler May
Regents Professor
207 Scott Hall
612-626-7847
1110 Heller Hall
612-624-2800
mayxx002@umn.edu
United States, American studies, American women
Mary Jo Maynes
Professor
1010 Heller Hall
612-624-9330
mayne001@umn.edu
Modern Germany, European social, women
Patrick McNamara
Associate Professor
1212 Heller Hall
612-624-6531
pjm@umn.edu
Latin America, Mexico
Hiromi Mizuno
Associate Professor
941 Heller Hall
612-626-7597
mizuno@umn.edu
Modern Japan, gender and sexuality, cultural studies of science and technology
Kevin Murphy
Associate Professor
1047 Heller Hall
612-624-9021
kpmurphy@umn.edu
Urban, gender and sexuality, political and cultural
Lisa Norling
Associate Professor
1231 Heller Hall
612-624-4501
norli001@umn.edu
American Revolution, 18th and 19th century America, women and gender, maritime
Jean O'Brien
Professor
1014 Heller Hall
612-624-5794
obrie002@umn.edu
Colonial American, Native American
Helena Pohlandt-McCormick
Associate Professor
935 Heller Hall
612-624-8079
pohla001@umn.edu
Africa, South Africa, social and cultural history, comparative women's history
Kathryn L Reyerson
Professor
1120 Heller Hall
612-624-8569
reyer001@umn.edu
Medieval Europe, Mediterranean Europe, Medieval France, social and economic history, legal history
Steven Ruggles
Distinguished McKnight Professor
Regents Professor
945 Heller Hall
612-624-4081
ruggl001@umn.edu
American demographic and social history
Daniel Schroeter
Professor
Amos S. Deinard Memorial Chair in Jewish History
1018 Heller Hall
612-624-9526
schro800@umn.edu
Jewish, North African, Mediterranean
JB Shank
Associate Professor
922 Heller Hall
612-624-7323
jbshank@umn.edu
Early modern Europe, France, European intellectual, history of science
Ajay Skaria
Professor
924 Heller Hall
612-624-7565
skari002@umn.edu
South Asia, environmental history
Theofanis G. Stavrou
Professor
1224 Heller Hall
612-624-5734
stavr001@umn.edu
Russia, modern Greek studies, Eastern Orthodoxy
Andrea Sterk
Associate Professor
1237 Heller Hall
612-626-4265
sterk@umn.edu
Ancient and medieval Christianity, late antiquity, Byzantium history
Igor Tchoukarine
Post Doctoral Associate
943 Heller Hall
612-626-7598
itchouka@umn.edu
20th century Europe, Eastern and Southeastern Europe, history of tourism
Ann Waltner
Professor
912 Heller Hall
612-624-3810
waltn001@umn.edu
Traditional China
Liping Wang
Associate Professor
939 Heller Hall
612-624-4834
lipin003@umn.edu
Modern Chinese social and cultural
Barbara Y. Welke
Distinguished McKnight Professor of History & Law
1039 Heller Hall
612-624-7017
welke004@umn.edu
American legal and constitutional, American women's, and modern American history
Thomas Wolfe
Associate Professor
914 Heller Hall
612-624-1886
wolfe023@umn.edu
European Union, Soviet Union, history of media and communications, pragmatism

Affiliate Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Keletso Atkins
Associate Professor
852 Social Sciences Building
612-624-9847
atkin013@umn.edu
Afro-American & African Studies
Jon Butler
Adjunct Research Professor
butle115@umn.edu  
Brenda Child
Associate Professor
104 Scott Hall
612-624-4190
child011@umn.edu
American studies
Victoria Coifman
Assistant Professor
825 Social Sciences Building
612-624-5709
coifm001@umn.edu
Comparative tropical
Sally Kohlstedt
Professor
123 Pillsbury Hall
612-624-9368
sgk@umn.edu
Science, nature study movement
Nabil Matar
Professor
330C Lind Hall
612-626-8320
matar010@umn.edu
Modern Arabic literature; Arab-Islamic civilization
Keith A. Mayes
Assistant Professor
827 Social Sciences Building
612-624-5202
mayes@umn.edu
African American
Stuart McLean
Professor
523 Social Sciences Building
612-624-3507
mclea070@umn.edu
Latin America, demography
Karen Painter
Associate Professor
132 Ferguson Hall
612-624-7512
kpainter@umn.edu
Germany Musicology
Paul Stone
Assistant Professor
152 Hubert H. Humphrey School of Public Affairs
612-626-0728
stone069@umn.edu
United States trans-Mississippi Western & North American frontier; American church & religious; 20th century Southwestern
Eva von Dassow
Associate Professor
245 Nicholson Hall
612-626-4787
vonda001@umn.edu
Near East
John Watkins
Professor
312 Lind Hall
612-624-8879
watki005@umn.edu
Sovereignty and queenship, medieval and early modern diplomacy, premodern political culture, classical and medieval origins of the Renaissance

Emeriti Faculty

Name Contact Specialty
Hyman Berman
Professor Emeritus
berma001@umn.edu Labor, 20th-century US
Clarke Chambers
Professor Emeritus
  US, Social
John K. Evans
Professor Emeritus
evans002@umn.edu Ancient, Rome
Sara M. Evans
Regents
Professor Emerita
s-evan@umn.edu 20th-century US Social, American Women
Edward L. Farmer
Professor Emeritus
efarmer@umn.edu Modern China, Comparative Early Modern, World
David Good
Professor Emeritus
goodx001@umn.edu European economic, Austria
George D. Green
Professor Emeritus
green007@umn.edu American Economic & Business
John Howe
Professor Emeritus
howex002@umn.edu Political, 18th- & 19th-century American
Thomas Kelly
Professor Emeritus
kelly004@umn.edu Ancient, Greece
David O. Kieft
Associate Professor Emeritus
kieft001@umn.edu European diplomatic
David Kopf
Professor Emeritus
kopfx001@umn.edu India, comparative world
Byron K. Marshall
Professor Emeritus
marsh004@umn.edu Japan
Lary May
Professor Emeritus
mayxx001@umn.edu American Studies, US
Russell R. Menard
Professor
menar001@umn.edu Colonial America
Michael F. Metcalf
Professor Emeritus
  Scandinavia
John Kim Munholland
Professor Emeritus
munho001@umn.edu Contemporary Europe, 20th-century France
Carla Rahn Phillips
Professor Emerita
phill002@umn.edu Early Modern Europe, Social & Economic, Spain
William D Phillips
Professor Emeritus
phill004@umn.edu Medieval & Early Modern Europe, Mediterranean, Spain
Richard L. Rudolph
Professor Emeritus
rrudolph@umn.edu Modern European social & economic, eastern Europe
Romeyn Taylor
Professor Emeritus
taylo0017@aol.com Asia, China
John A. Thayer
Professor Emeritus
thaye001@umn.edu European intellectual, Italy
James Tracy
Professor Emeritus
tracy001@umn.edu Renaissance & Reformation, 16th-century Europe
William Wright
Professor Emeritus
wrigh001@umn.edu Austria