National Dean Search

Flowers and tall grasses in front of Johnston Hall

The University of Minnesota is conducting a national search for the next dean of the College of Liberal Arts. A search committee has been named by the executive vice president and provost. The University has engaged Russell Reynolds Associates, a national search firm, to assist the search committee in the recruitment and screening of candidates.

Finalist Public Interviews

Tuesday, April 30 Wednesday, May 1 Thursday, May 2 Thursday, May 9


Celia Marshik's CV (PDF)


GerShun Avilez's CV (PDF)


Ann Waltner's CV (PDF)


Jacob Pinholster's CV (PDF)

2-3:00 PM Forum
3-3:30 PM Reception

10 Church Street - 100 (Auditorium) 

2-3:00 PM Forum
3-3:30 PM Reception

10 Church Street - 100 (Auditorium) 

2-3:00 PM Forum
3-3:30 PM Reception

10 Church Street - 100 (Auditorium) 

1:30-2:30 PM Forum
2:30-3:00 PM Reception

University Hall, McNamara Alumni Center

  • Michael Rodriguez, Dean, College of Education and Human Development—search committee chair
  • Christine Baeumler, Professor and Chair, Department of Art
  • Brenda Child, Northrop Professor, Departments of American Studies and American Indian Studies
  • Jordan Dotson, Undergraduate Student, Class of 2024, Sociology of Law, Criminology, & Justice; CLA Student Board member
  • Michael Gallope, Associate Professor and Chair, Department of Cultural Studies and Comparative Literature
  • Gayle Golden, Charnley Professor and Senior Lecturer, School of Journalism and Mass Communications
  • Ronald Greene, Chair, CLA Assembly; Professor, Communication Studies
  • Nicola Imbracsio, Assistant Dean of Curriculum
  • Kara Kersteter, Chief of Staff, Department of Economics
  • Carmen Kurdziel, Associate Director for Student Support and Transitions
  • Robert McMaster, Vice Provost and Dean of Undergraduate Education; Professor of Geography
  • Mandy Menke, Associate Professor of Hispanic Linguistics, Department of Spanish and Portuguese Studies
  • Herman Milligan, Alum; Acting Executive Director/Board Chair, The Givens Foundation for African American Literature
  • Kathryn Pearson, Associate Professor, University Distinguished Teaching Professor, Political Science
  • Elizabeth Quillen, Graduate Student, History
  • Alex Rothman, Distinguished University Teaching Professor, Department of Psychology
  • Jasmine Kar Tang, Co-Director, Center for Writing and Minnesota Writing Project
  • Dec. 6, 10:00-10:45 a.m. 
    CLA Academic Department Staff
  • Dec. 6, 3:00 – 3:45 p.m.
    CLA Central Administration Staff
  • Dec. 7, 10:45-11:30 a.m.
    CLA Open Session (any CLA faculty, staff, student, external stakeholder)
  • Dec. 7, 3:00-3:45 p.m.
    CLA Tenured and Tenure-track Faculty – Social Science Corridor
  • Dec. 8, 3:45 - 4:30 p.m.
    CLA Tenured and Tenure-track Faculty – Arts and Humanities Corridor
  • Dec. 12: 3:45-4:30 p.m. 
    CLA Students (Undergrads, Grads)

Information about how to attend a listening session was sent via email. Can’t attend a virtual listening session? Email your your questions, comments, or suggestions about the position profile to

Comments or Questions? Contact