You are here

College Leadership

As the largest college at the University of Minnesota, “dedicated to education in the liberal tradition that fosters enriched, productive, and satisfying lives,” CLA leadership takes seriously its responsibility to advance the liberal education of students across the university. CLA’s mission is to guarantee that students are exposed to and become proficient with broad, pluralistic, and complex forms of knowledge. It prepares students to think and act creatively, compassionately, and ethically in their private and public lives and to respond to the needs of others in local and global contexts. College leadership believes that a liberal arts education should promote active, experiential learning; foster students’ intellectual passion and curiosity; and prepare students for their lives after graduation and to take their place as global citizens.

  Name Contact
John Coleman John Coleman
Dean
215 Johnston Hall
612-624-2535
coleman@umn.edu
Jane Blocker Jane Blocker
Associate Dean for Arts & Humanities
212 Johnston Hall
612-625-1549
block023@umn.edu
Howard Lavine Howard Lavine
Associate Dean for Social Sciences
212 Johnston Hall
lavine@umn.edu
612-624-9839
Ascan Koerner Ascan Koerner
Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education
115 Johnston Hall
612-624-8675
koern011@umn.edu
Steve Manson Steven Manson
Associate Dean for Research & Graduate Education
113 Johnston Hall
612-625-4577
manson@umn.edu
  Janet Bouyer
Director of Human Resources
212 Johnston Hall
612-625-8358
jtbouyer@umn.edu
Louis Clark Louis Clark
Chief Advancement Officer
220 Johnston Hall
612-624-1397
clarkl@umn.edu
Brent Gustafson Brent Gustafson
Chief Financial Officer
208 Johnston Hall
612-624-2339
bgustafs@umn.edu
Jamey Hansen Jamey Hansen
Chief Information Officer
110 Anderson Hall
612-626-3666
hansenj@umn.edu
Katie Lewis Kathryn Louis
Chief of Staff
215 Johnston Hall
612-626-4190
loui0032@umn.edu