Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship (DDF)

UMN Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship

The Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship (DDF) supports PhD candidates for an entire year to finalize their work and complete the writing of their dissertations. The DDF program is funded and managed by the Graduate School.
The award includes a stipend of $25,000 for the academic year, tuition for up to 14 thesis credits each semester, and subsidized health insurance through the Graduate Assistant Health Plan.

Aleisha Barton, Art History
Alexander Magnolia, History
Chuanhui Meng, Asian Literatures, Cultures, and Media
Dana Urbanski, Speech-Language-Hearing Sciences
Emily Briggs, Anthropology
Jacqueline James, Rhetoric and Scientific and Technical Communication
James Ramsburg, Hispanic and Luso Literatures, Cultures and Ling
Jillian LaBranche, Sociology
Judith "Annie" Melton, Anthropology
Katerina Gribbin, Economics
Kyle Baasch, Comparative Studies In Discourse and Society
Liz Calhoun, Geography
Sara Pillatzki-Warzeha, Theatre Arts
Sara Seweid-DeAngelis, Feminist Studies
Sarah Volz, Psychology
Sultan Toprak Oker, History
Tankut Atuk, Feminist Studies
Thomas Hasenzagl, Economics
Xinyue (Shirelle) Liu, Psychology
Yi Ni Toh, Psychology
Zi Gao, Psychology

Aimzhan Iztayeva, Sociology
Arif Hayat Nairang, Anthropology
Benjamin Hansen, History
Caity Curry, Sociology
Celina Furman, Psychology
Drishadwati Bargi, Comparative Literature / Comparative Studies In Discourse and Society
Erin Standen, Psychology
Ibrahim Oker, Political Science
Isaac Asante-Wusu, Geography
Maral Abdollahi, Mass Communication
Michael Valdez, Theatre Arts
Nina Medvedeva, Feminist Studies
Ruth Burrows, Geography
Ryan Webler, Psychology
Seo Nyeong Jo, Political Science
Seon-Kyeong Jang, Psychology
Sophie Minor, Anthropology

Abraham Seda, History
Allison Steinke, Mass Communication
Amber Hamilton, Sociology
Angelica Maier, Art History
Caroline Doenmez, Anthropology
Chelsea Cervantes de Blois, Geography
Cristian Aguilera Arellano, Economics
Elizabeth Howard, English
Elizabeth Hazel Rickard, Theatre Arts
Gian Pujakusuma, Music
Hon Ki Cheung, Music
Jacqueline Patz-DiPiero, English
Jason Noer, Theatre Arts
Jose Manuel Santillana, Feminist Studies
Katherine Pierpont, History
Mara McPartland, Geography
Natalie Dollison, Theatre Arts
Sang Min Lee, Economics
Sijin (Cathy) Chen, Psychology
Tessa Cicak, Anthropology

Agnès Schaffauser, French
Bomi Jeon, English
Brittany Krzyzanowski, Geography
Caitlin Taborda-Whitt, Sociology
Devika Narayan, Sociology
Emily Willoughby, Psychology
Hannah Berg, Psychology
Hannah McVeigh, Political Science
Joseph Sannicandro, Comparative Studies In Discourse and Society
Joshua Reno, Classical and Near Eastern Studies
Kathryn Huether, Historical Musicology/Ethnomusicology 
Keavy McFadden, Geography
Kristi Oeding, Speech-Language-Hearing Sciences
Maria Heath, Linguistics
Maria Jose Carreras Valle, Economics
Matthew Tchepikova-Treon, American Studies
McKinley Green, Rhetoric and Scientific and Technical Comm
Nisarg Desai, Anthropology
Nithya Rajan, Feminist Studies
Runchao Liu, Communication Studies
Ryan O’Dell, Music Theory
Sarah Garcia, Sociology
SeungGyeong Ji, Feminist Studies
Siyu Li, Political Science

Amy Neff, Economics
Chloe Huelsnitz, Psychology
Christine Bachman-Sanders, American Studies
Christopher Hunt, Psychology
Conor Ryan, Economics
Dana DeVlieger, Music
Eric Goldfischer, Geography
Jenna Dreier, English
José Kaire De Francisco, Political Science
Keven Joyal-Desmarais, Psychology
Maria Méndez, Political Science
Mario Cossio Olavide, Hispanic and Luso Literatures, Cultures and Ling
Meyer Weinshel, Germanic Studies
Mikkel Vad, Comparative Studies In Discourse and Society
Mitchell Kinney, Statistics
Naimah Petigny, Feminist Studies
Patrick Wilz, History
Stephen Wulff, Sociology
Tatyana Matveeva, Psychology
Thomas Vargas Castro, Political Science
Udya Kuwar Thapa, Geography
Vitoria Rabello de Castro, Economics


CLA Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship

The College of Liberal Arts Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship Award is awarded to a select number of students who applied to, but did not receive, the UMN Graduate School DDF Award and who are enrolled in a graduate program of the College of Liberal Arts. The purpose of the award aligns with the Graduate School DDF terms and conditions.  The purpose of the fellowship is to support outstanding Ph.D. candidates. Fellows are expected to devote full time to the research and writing of the dissertation, as proposed, to assure timely completion of their degree. 

The Fellowship carries a one-semester stipend of $12,500 plus tuition for up to 14 thesis credits and /or required dissertation-related seminars only. The award is to be used the following academic year following the spring CLA DDF competition. 


Ibrahim Hirsi, History

John Kendall, Geography, Environment & Society

Kirsten Smith, French & Italian

Kylie Shahar, Philosophy

Liu Peng, Political Science

Nikoleta Sremac, Sociology

Yoonsoo Kim, Political Science

Zosha Winegar-Schultz, Cultural Studies & Comparative Literature

Aleisha Barton, Art History

Ashley Sorensen, Political Science

Evan Montpellier, Geography

Kevin Ziyu Liu, Communication Studies

Leyna Papach, Music

Oh-Ran Kwon, Statistics

Olga Tchepikova-Treon, Comparative Literature / Comparative Studies In Discourse and Society

Sultan Toprak Oker, History

Aimzhan Iztayeva, Sociology

Christopher Levesque, Sociology

Nina Medvedeva, Gender, Women & Sexuality Studies

Ibrahim Oker, Political Science

Magaly Ortiz, Spanish & Portuguese Studies

Patrick Snyder, Political Science

Adrian Chavana, History
Andrew Schumacher Bethke, History
Celia Bravo Diaz, Spanish & Portuguese Studies
Chieh Kao, Speech-Language-Hearing Sciences
Christian Bell, Theatre Arts & Dance
Deniz Coral, Anthropology
Garrett Johnson, Political Science
Jose Antonio Aguirre Pombo, Spanish & Portuguese Studies
Kent Weber, History
Paula Armendariz Miranda, Political Science
Vanessa Cambier, Cultural Studies & Comparative Literature
Victoria Piehowski, Sociology
Wei Ye, Anthropology

Douglas Addleman, Psychology
Genevieve Young, French
Jacqueline Daigneault, Geography, Environment and Society
Jacqui Frost, Sociology
Jan Volek, History
Joshua Reno, Classical and Near Eastern Studies
Theresa Downing, Art History