Awards & Prizes

University of Minnesota Awards

Department of History—Graduate Student Teaching Award

  • 2018 Instructor Award: Emma Snowden
  • 2018 Teaching Assistant Award: Alexander Steele

Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship


  • Adey Almohesen 
  • Loren Cowdery
  • Jessica Farrell
  • Allison Schwartz

Interdisciplinary Doctoral Fellowship


  • Ketaki Jaywant 

CSPW Dissertation Development Fellowship

Spring 2018

  • Noam Sienna

William Stout and Thomas Wallace Fellowship


  • Michael Kadow

Graduate Research Partnership Program (GRPP)

Summer 2018:

  • Eric Becklin
  • Michael Kadow
  • Katherine Pierpont
  • Sultan Toprak
  • Katherine Tuley
  • Heider Tun
  • Ana Vergara

Diversity of Views and Experiences (DOVE) Fellowship


  • Elizabeth Caldaza

Interdisciplinary Center for the Study of Global Change (ICGC) Fellowship


  • Catherine Ulep

Thesis Travel Research Grant

Summer 2018

  • Fikri Cicek
  • Jazmine Contreras
  • Janeke Thumbran

Hella Mears (Center for German and European Studies)

Summer 2018

  • Jan Volek

Erickson Graduate Fellowship in Law and History

  • Alison Schwartz

External Awards

  • Adey Almohsen, Research Fellowship in Palestinian Studies 2017–8 from Palestinian American
  • Jazmine Contreras, Mandel Center for Advanced Holocaust Studies Fellowship
  • Melissa Hamption, 2018-2019 Goizueta Graduate Research Fellowship at the University of Miami Cuban Heritage Collection
  • Loren Cowdery, Leon Levy Foundation Grant for attending the Society for Classical Studies’ “The Use of Art and Material Culture in Scholarship and Teaching.” University of Illinois

Awards & Prizes

  • Adey Almohsen, Partnership for Affordable Content Grant, University Elizabeth Badger, Henry DuPont Exploratory Grant, Hagley Museum
  • John Manke, McNally Research Travel Grant
  • Scott McDowell, William Nelson Cromwell Foundation Early Career Scholar Fellowship, American Society for Legal History
  • Scott McDowell, Botstiber Institute for Austrian-American Studies (BIASS) Research Grant
  • Ai Miller, 2017 Travel Research in Equity Collections (TREC) Fellow, Smithsonian’s National Museum of American History
  • Alison Schwartz, Mary Lily Research Grant at Duke University’s Sallie Bingham Center for Women’s History and Culture
  • Alison Schwartz, Schlesinger Library’s Dissertation Grant
  • Nick Williams, Social Science Research Council Dissertation Proposal Development Grant
  • Tianxiao Zhu, Gerald R. Ford Presidential Foundation Research Travel Grant, Gerald Ford Presidential Library


  • Evan Taparata, Andrea Mitchell Center for the Study of Democracy/Jack Miller Center Postdoctoral Fellowship at the University of Pennsylvania