You are here


University of Minnesota Awards

Arthur “Red” Motley Exemplary Teach Award Recipients
  • Saje Mathieu, 2011-2012
  • Erika Lee, 2010-2011
  • Patrick McNamara, 2008-2009
CLA’s Dean Medalists
  • Ruth Karras, 2010
Distinguished McKnight University Professorships
  • Barbara Welke, 2013
Distinguished Women Scholars
  • Ruth Karras, 2008
Endowed Chairs
  • Anna Clark--Samuel Russell Chair in the Humanities, 2005 - 2011
Grant-in-Aid of Research, Artistry and Scholarship
  • Michael Lower, 2014-2015
  • David Chang, 2012-2014
Institute of Advanced Studies Fellowship
  • Katharine Gerbner, Fall 2014
  • David Chang, Fall 2012
  • Erika Lee, Fall 2010
  • Giancarlo Casale, Fall 2008
McKnight Land Grant Professorship
  • Giancarlo Casale, 2009-2011
McKnight Research Award
  • Kirsten Fischer, 2007-2010
Morse-Alumni Awards for Outstanding Contributions to Undergraduate Education
  • Kirsten Fischer, 2010-2011
Postbaccalaureate, Graduate, and Professional Education Award
  • Kevin Murphy, 2012-2013
  • Ruth Karras, 2009-2010
Provost’s Imagine Fund for Arts and Humanities
  • Jean M. O’Brien, 2014
  • Michael Lower, 2009-2010
  • Michael Lower, 2009
Regents Professorships
  • Steve Ruggles, 2008
Sara Evans Faculty Woman/Scholar Award
  • Jean M. O’Brien, 2014
  • Erika Lee, 2012
Scholar of the College
  • Barbara Welke, 2011-2014

External Faculty Awards

Article Awards
  • J. David Hacker, John T. Hubbell Prize for the best article published in Civil War History, 2011
Book Awards
  • Allen and Barbara Isaacman, Martin A. Klein Prize, American Historical Association, 2014
  • Allen and Barbara Isaacman, Melville Herskovits Award, African Studies Association, 2014
  • Kevin Murphy, LGBT Studies Category, 2009 (Political Manhood)
  • Jeani O’Brien, Best Subsequent Book in Native American and Indigenous Studies, Native American and Indigneous Studies Association, 2012 (Firsting and Lasting)
  • Ruth Karras, Joan Kelly Prize for Best Book in Women’s History, American Historical Association, 2012
  • Tracey Deutsch, Best Book in Food Studies, American Society for Food Studies, 2011
  • Erika Lee, Best Book in Western History, Caughey Western History Association, 2010 (Angel Island)
  • Erika Lee, Adult Non-Fiction Award, American Librarians Association, Asian Pacific American Caucus, 2010 (Angel Island)
  • Erika Lee, “Best Book of 2010,” San Francisco Chronicle, 2010 (Angel Island)
  • Erika Lee, Honorable Mention--History Book Award, Association of Asian American Studies, 2010 (Angel Island)
  • Erika Lee, Choice Outstanding Academic Title for Angel Island, 2010
  • Kevin Murphy, Lambda Literary Award Finalist, 2009
Conference Awards
  • Evan Roberts, Australian Economic History Review paper prize, Australia-Pacific Economic & Business History Conference, 2010
Fulbright Scholar Award
  • Christopher Isett, August, 2011-June 2012
  • Kirsten Fischer, Heidelberg Center for American Studies, University of Heidelberg, Germany, 2011-2012
  • Sarah Chambers, Spain, January-June, 2011
John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowship
  • Elaine Tyler May, 2015-2016
Lifetime Achievement Awards
  • Jean M. O’Brien, American Indian History Lifetime Achievement Award, Western History Association, 2014
Mellon Foundation
  • Michael Lower, New Directions Fellowship Supplemental Award, 2012
  • Michael Lower, New Directions Fellowship, 2010-2011
National Endowment for the Humanities Fellowship
  • 2014, David Chang
  • 2013-2014, Elaine Tyler May
  • 2012-2013, Sarah Chambers
Research Fellowships
  • Daniel J. Schroeter, Ina Levine Invitational Scholar Fellowship at the Center for Advanced Holocaust Studies, United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, Washington, DC. 2014-2015
  • Christopher Isett, Erasmus Mundus Fellowship of the EU, London School of Economics, Department of Economic History, March 18-29, 2013
  • Christopher Isett, Chiang Ching-Kue Foundation for International Scholarly Exchange Grant for Professors, September 2010-August 2013
  • Ruth Karras, Katz Center for Advanced Judaic Studies, University of Pennsylvania, 2012-2013
  • Ruth Karras, American Council of Learned Societies, 2010-2011
  • Giancarlo Casale, Koc Senior Research Fellow in Anatolian Civilizations, Spring 2009
Service Awards
  • Kathryn Reyerson, Kindrick CARA Award, Medieval Academy of America, 2013
Visiting Scholars
  • Christopher Isett, Visiting Scholar, Academia Sinica, Taiwan, August 15, 2011-June 15, 2012
  • Kirsten Fischer, Deutsche Bank Junior Scholar-in-Residence Fellowship, Center for American Studies, University of Heidelberg, Germany, 2008-2009
Other Awards
  • J. David Hacker, Principal Investigator, NICHD Career Development Award, “The Decline of Fertility in the United States, 1790-2000”, 2006-2011
  • Steve Ruggles, Warren E. Miller Award, Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research, 2009
  • Steve Ruggles, Platinum Medallion, Delta Airlines, 2009