Sara Parhizgari selected as recipient for 2020-2021 Josephine de Karman Fellowship

Sara Parhizgari, Philosophy graduate student and MCPS graduate student fellow, has been selected as a recipient for a 2020-2021 Josephine de Karman Fellowship.
photo of Sara Parhizgari

Congratulations, Sara, on being selected as a recipient for this extremely competitive fellowship. 


Sara is currently completing her dissertation on The Irrefutable Object and the Syntactic Priority Thesis.

Background of Fellowship:

The Josephine De Karman Fellowship Trust was established in 1954 by the late Dr. Theodore Von Karman, world renowned aeronautics expert and teacher and first director of the Guggenheim Aeronautical Laboratory at the California Institute of Technology, in memory of his sister, Josephine, who passed away in 1951. 

The purpose of this Fellowship program is to recognize and assist students whose scholastic achievements reflect Professor Von Karman’s high standards.

Approximately eight (8) dissertation fellowships, in the amount of $25,000 each, will be awarded for the regular academic year (fall and spring semesters or the equivalent where the quarterly system prevails), paid through the fellowship office of the university in which the recipient is enrolled for study in the United States. Study must be carried out only in the United States and all funds must be expended only within this country.

The fellowship is for one academic year and may not be renewed or postponed. DeKarman fellowships are open to PhD students in any discipline, including international students, who are currently enrolled in a university located within the United States. Special consideration is given to applicants in the humanities.  Competition for the DeKarman Fellowship is extreme.  For the 2019-2020 cycle, the committee reviewed over 400 applications and awarded seven (7) fellowships.  Although the competition is open to graduate students from any U.S. University, the vast majority of the awards go to students at top-tier schools.

Three cheers for Sara, and her co-advisors, Roy T. Cook and Geoffrey Hellman, on landing this prestigious fellowship.  We're pleased that this will allow you time for dissertation writing free from teaching responsibilities.

Share on: